We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and beautiful scenery!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achnasheen
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, friendly and beautiful scenery!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days at the start of the season, and just loved every minute of it. The hotel was beautifully kept, clean in every corner of every room and wonderfully cosy. The staff were so attentive and friendly, but never made us feel like they were hovering. There was a fire lit everyday despite it being ourselves and only two other guests staying. The food was fantastic on both nights, champagne in our room was delicious, and the tasty cooked breakfast left us full to the brim!! All the staff were fantastic, the manager even took us into the function room at the back (which wasn't being used) to see some deer in the gardens at dusk, then had a lovely chat with us at the bar. Little things like that make you feel very welcome!!

Our room was quite cold in the evening (being February in Scotland you can't expect it not to be cold!) so all we did was call the manager and straight away they provided us with a small heater, which sorted it no problem! The bathroom was very modern and impeccably clean, and the bath had a funky colour changing light which gave a relaxing feel to our room. We will never forget this holiday as my boyfriend proposed here, and the hotel was just superb in every way! Will be coming back for another visit very soon!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smg8424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    68
    14
    9
    21
See reviews for
25
96
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent two days in this immaculately conserved hunting lodge. The hotel was warm and comfortable and we were well received. To save re-writing. Our comments are along similar lines to that of Donald M Mackenzie's report of 9th February. I think we had the same room with the same "Trinkets" still in place along with the same "Shell Towels". All in all a pleasant stay just the same.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We have just spent two lovely relaxing nights at Ledgowan Lodge and are so happy we found this place. It was the remoteness of the place that attracted us though its easy to get to by road or rail. Skye is less than an hour's drive away and you are spoilt for choice when it comes to which mountains to climb! The Lodge is a beautiful old building and the decor is in keeping with the era it was built in. Lovely big leather sofas in front of the open fire, very welcoming. The cooked breakfast is huge and kept us going nearly all day, it is served in the sumptuous dining room, such a lovely start to the day. We had dinner both nights in the bar, again very big portions and a great wine list to choose from, all at a very good price. The staff are very welcoming and helpful. We will definitely be coming back to Ledgowan Lodge.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AliCat062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I travelled to Achasheen by rail on the very scenic Kyle of Lochalsh line from Inverness, had a lovely evening meal in the bar of the Ledgowan Lodge hotel, stayed 1 night in the bunkhouse, warm, cosy and comfortable, ate a large and very tasty breakfast in the main hotel, climbed a very snowy Fionn Bhenn in under 5 hours from the front door of the hotel, walked back to the hotel for lunch and a well-earned pint and caught the afternoon train back to Inverness - what a great 24hrs!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms in the bunkhouse are just twin-bunks, so you won't end up in a big dorm fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris_the_Bold99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I booked my husband this as a Christmas present, as he wanted to do some shooting and dear stalking.This beautiful old hunting lodge has lots of great atmosphere as soon as you open the front door.With hunting trophies ,stags heads,and a big open fire which I loved. We had a very large room at the front of the hotel.The views of the hills is breathtaking,in our room on arrival was a large bottle of champagne and two glasses that was me sorted.My husband did two days dear stalking which he loved,which thank you to Richard as the weather on the first day was very bad but he still took him out. If you are wanting a relaxing,peaceful getaway then this is the place to stay. We had a fantastic time and the service and the food exceeded our expectations in every way (And we'll definitely will be back ) Thank you to all

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 166Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My wife booked a weekend here as we wanted to visit friends nearby. We’ve passed the hotel on many occasions over the years but never stopped.

We arrived at 4.30pm on a Friday afternoon, checked in and were shown to our room overlooking the front of the hotel. We had paid to upgrade to the larger, more spacious room with lovely furniture, in keeping with the Edwardian building and abundant stags’ heads.

Slight concern at no towels in the room. This is sorted very quickly and with apologies. Four pale blue towels which have seen better days and intriguingly all have the label “Manufactured for SHELL”. Mmmmm....also no bath mat supplied, but a fine collection of nuts and bolts, keys and assorted rubbish in the dresser drawers...

Downstairs for our Afternoon Tea, consisting of a very good fruit scone, served with a tiny blob of jam and some kind of sweetened artificial tasting 'cream'. Nice to sit in front of the open fire though. The hotel lobby is impressive with a wood burning stove set inside a wonderful stone fireplace….does beg the question as to why bother with the stove and not just use the fireplace? Comfortable chairs and sofas contribute to the classic ambience - which was spoiled by the rather incongruous collection of what can only be described as 'charity shop' items for sale in the beautiful wooden cabinets ; dinky toys, brooches, picture frames, rings, watches, chipped china, Monarch of the Glen cushion covers, Concorde cufflinks etc.. The list is too bizarre to continue.

On to the evening meal…….choice of bar supper or restaurant. To cut a long story short we ended up in the restaurant which has eight tables (I know this because each table had a two foot high sign with its table number on it). Beautiful, traditional silver set table, mixed with cheap chrome vases and plastic flowers, do not sit well together...

With the ambience set we then enjoyed starters of smoked venison (very good), breast of wood pigeon (unfortunately had the texture of having been embalmed), followed by a rare steak which was not rare, but ok, and duck breast which was pretty much inedible. I must say that the beautifully cooked fresh beetroot was the best thing on the plate.

After a peaceful night we ventured back to the dining room for breakfast, easily finding our table thanks to the huge sign with its number on it. We ordered the cooked breakfast and unfortunately experienced the worst, cheap sausages I have ever encountered. Bacon, eggs and fried bread were fine as were the tinned mushrooms (if you like tinned mushrooms).

Evening meal on the second night; burnt pastry on the steak and ale pie and uncooked pastry on the game pie. Not good. Choice of chips OR veg with the bar meal which are not exactly cheap either) or you could have both, for an extra charge....

Overall this is a beautiful hotel with incredible potential. It markets itself as an upmarket country hotel and certainly could be that with some more effort. It is let down by some poor taste in terms of décor, staff in need of training and a considerable amount of work in the kitchen.

It was also disappointing on checking out that no one asked us if we had enjoyed our stay or looked for any other comments.

Would I go back? Yes, to see if anyone has bought anything out of the charity cabinets!

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms. An upgrade is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonaldMurdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I went with my vegetarian partner for an evening meal on 06 October 2013. We were amazed to find that on the specials board at least four of the options were vegetarian. Not bog standard vegetarian food either, but a varied menu. We both ordered a vegetarian option and both options were really good. This is a hotel that caters a lot for shooting clients, and I might have anticipated a very carnivorous menu. If you are not put off by stuffed deer heads, this place is spotless, friendly staff, has nice surroundings and is surprisingly good for vegetarians, a realtive rarity in Highland Scotland. My only moan was that as the bar was empty we wanted to sit at a table which catered for four. We were asked not to and then a few minutes later another couple occupied the same table, but were not asked to relocate.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Achnasheen
16.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
577 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
267 reviews
23.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
185 reviews
24.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
284 reviews
18.9 mi away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledgowan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledgowan Lodge Hotel

Property: Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Address: Torridon Rd | Ledgowan, Achnasheen IV22 2EJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Achnasheen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Achnasheen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ledgowan Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ledgowan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledgowan Hotel Achnasheen
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel Achnasheen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing