We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closing time” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torridon Stores & Cafe

Torridon Stores & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Achnasheen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Closing time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Having read the above reviews I wish we'd arrived sooner. We got there at about 4.30 on a Wednesday. We bought some ice creams and wandered about a bit. We decided that we wanted to get more to eat, but when we went back at about 4.50 the chairs were up on the tables and the lady told us they were closing and wouldn't stay open to serve us. She said they'd been "at it" since 11 o'clock! So they had nearly done a 6 hour day. Obviously too much for them!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DParryUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    27
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice helpful people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Staff very helpful. Phoned ahead to another store to find out for us when the gardens at Ineverewe closed. The helped carry coffee and cake out to the car in the rain.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty soup, great shopping in one of the most beautiful corners of the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We ended here because we needed a cuppa after having driven from Shieldaig, yelling ach, and ohh, because the sheer beauty of the rhododendrons and broom along this road make us gasp, We had a wonderful soup, and bought lots of souvenirs in the little shop. The ladies serving added to our sense of well-being. What a lovely corner of the world this is!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marywinifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Jo's store is a perfect cafe (and shop) with a perfect view. On rainy days it is cosy and warm and on sunny days it is flooded with light. It has a simple menu but everything on it is extremely high quality from the home made cakes and soups (don't miss the curried parsnip soup or the apple and cinnamon cake) to the bacon butties. If there's something you want to eat or drink that is available for sale in the shop, ask nicely and Jo will put it on the menu for you. This even includes Pimms and mulled wine (depending on season!). I'm not a coffee drinker but Jo is and she has gone to great lengths to make sure the coffee is as good as any coffee lover could wish. Anyone who doesn't love this place has no soul.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sallywallywonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't miss this stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

It had been a long drive thru the Scottish Highlands, and we were just going to give Torridon a miss, but I'm so glad we didn't. Just thought we'd grab a cuppa tea; but we got a lot more than that.

The two delightful ladies, Jo and her colleague, had informally closed for the day but welcomed us with good cheer and beautiful tea. We also couldn't resist tucking into some of their beautiful home-baked cakes.

They were so extremely helpful telling us about the area, recommending our next fantastic spot for dinner, and Jo even phoned the restaurant up and made the booking for us.

They also had a marvellous general store attached to the cafe with a great selection of Scottish delicacies. Don't miss this shop if you're in the area. Also spectacular location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janieworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torridon Stores & Cafe also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Shieldaig, Ross and Cromarty
 
Kinlochewe, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Torridon Stores & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing