We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you'd expect from a stores and cafe, and more”

Torridon Stores & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Achnasheen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you'd expect from a stores and cafe, and more”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We visited Jo and her staff twice during our tour of the highlands, stopping for tea and home made cake with the fantastic scenery as a backdrop. The staff were friendly, serving everyone with a smile even though the great weather had brought everybody out and they were clearly rushed off their feet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
“Every trip to Torridon must include a visit here!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very helpful staff served excellent homemade cakes. The portions are generous and with drinks proved great value for money. The store had everything needed at sensible prices. Also useful range of local books and cards. Looking forward to going back for a bacon roll and soup after a day walking in the mountains.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Closing time”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Having read the above reviews I wish we'd arrived sooner. We got there at about 4.30 on a Wednesday. We bought some ice creams and wandered about a bit. We decided that we wanted to get more to eat, but when we went back at about 4.50 the chairs were up on the tables and the lady told us they were closing and wouldn't stay open to serve us. She said they'd been "at it" since 11 o'clock! So they had nearly done a 6 hour day. Obviously too much for them!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DParryUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice helpful people”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Staff very helpful. Phoned ahead to another store to find out for us when the gardens at Ineverewe closed. The helped carry coffee and cake out to the car in the rain.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty soup, great shopping in one of the most beautiful corners of the world”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We ended here because we needed a cuppa after having driven from Shieldaig, yelling ach, and ohh, because the sheer beauty of the rhododendrons and broom along this road make us gasp, We had a wonderful soup, and bought lots of souvenirs in the little shop. The ladies serving added to our sense of well-being. What a lovely corner of the world this is!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marywinifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torridon Stores & Cafe also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 
Shieldaig, Ross and Cromarty
 
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Kinlochewe, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Torridon Stores & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing