We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Ach na Skia Croft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arisaig
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ach na Skia Croft
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We have stayed on two different occasions this year at Achnaskia and have never found any problems with either the accomodation or the welcome. We have holidayed here for more years than we would care to admit and it is the most relaxing place we have ever found. The standard of the lodges are extremely high and the welcome you receive from the owners (Kingswoods) makes you feel like welcome friends. The owners Son and his wife are now running the business and I think that the holiday makers that say the hospitality was poor must have been looking for - oh Idon't know it's the first time I have ever heard anyone complain about anything on the croft but then, you can't please everyone, but you usually can at Achnaskia

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purdie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed at Ach na Skia Croft in the summer. We intended to get away from it all and have a rest from the hustle and bustle and Ach na Skia Croft was the perfect place to do this. The location was stunning, a sea view with beautiful scenery surrounding it. I have had the best nights sleep of my life because everything was so quiet and peaceful.

Although it was quiet there was plenty to do and see and Josh and Sophie were brilliant for recommending local places to explore and we tried lots of things we don't get to do in the City. Josh also helped us hire a kayak and although we were novices he looked after us really well so we had a great time.

The accommodation was perfect for making it feel a home from home. We had everything we needed and Sophie and Josh made us feel really welcome and comfortable. They were very friendly but unobtrusive. The weather was great when we visited so we didn't use the games room or sauna but if it had been the usual British weather this would have been really handy to use.

I'd really recommend staying at Ach na Skia Croft and want to thank Sophie and Josh for all their help in making us have a great break.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dowe&Dumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were all very much looking forward to our trip to Scotland and our stay at Arisaig. I had traveled here numerous times as a child and now wanted to share this special location with my young family.
The croft is in an excellent spot, unforgetable views and very quiet. However on arrival we were met by overzealous owners who were more intent on drumming home the rules of stay, rather than making our arrival welcoming. Overall we enjoyed our visit and found the accommodation facilities adequate for our needs, but these apparently ‘new owners’ need some training in hospitality as their poor attitude set the tone for our entire stay.
We love the location but will be looking elsewhere for accommodation for our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 377Watty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We found the croft to be in an excellent location with fantastic views over the coastal islands. Overall it was comfortable, but we found the double bed to be very small and not too comfortable. We found the instructions upon arrival to be a bit over the top and the directions as to how it should be cleaned before we vacated a bit intimidating. Surely it is the owners job to clean it all, as we are meant to be on holiday! You are advised to take a pile of £1 coins to feed the electricty meter. The properties are now run by the previous owners son and wife. The kitchen was well equipped and our daughter enjoyed the paly area and the games room. The tv was not very good. The reception was poor and although was meant to be freeview, did not have too many channels. The views of the sun setting was super.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My boyfriend and i wanted to get away after a busy year and celebrate hogmanay in Scotland. We decided on Arisaig as it's by the coast and i found Ach-na-skia croft on the internet.
After a gruelling 11 hour journey from Devon we arrived to a very friendly and welcoming Mike and a lovely little cottage which was warm and cosy. Due to it being Deccember the weather was pretty grim (75mph winds made for interesting walks) but we still managed to have a fabulous time. I would thoroughly recommend Mike and Sheila's accomodation, it's very comfortable and homely and so nice to be in such a remote part of the country.
As a keen photographer I was slightly disappointed that the weather dampened my snapping skills but I plan on returning again in the spring / summer to really appreciate the stunning scenery and make use of the kayaks they hire out. We did manage to see otters, stags, peregrine falcons and seal all in our 5 days there - brilliant!!
Thanks for a memorable new year-everyone was very welcoming and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have been to Arisaig for many years, first time staying here. Owners friendly and helpful. Lodge excellent (after many a wet and soggy camping trip over the years, the under floor heating and powerful shower is now a "must-have", A-mazing!), views outstanding, a country pub 2 mins walk away, choice of beach only 15 mins, need i say more?

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We've been holidaying at Ach na Skia for several years now and every time we've loved it more. The view from our window is inspirational, and the light on the landscape is stunning! On a clear night the sky is a mass of stars! There are golden beaches to explore, wonderful walks to enjoy, and the trips to the Small Isles of Rhum, Eigg and Muck are a must on the 'Sheerwater', which will take diversions on the crossings to view a wide selection of wildlife, from minke whales to otters, dolphins and seals. The birdlife is amazing! We even saw a Golden Eagle on Eigg! The owners, Sheila and Mike, are very helpful, and the log cabins are clean and comfortable. It's a real home from home on the magnificent west coast of Scotland!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arisaig hotels
1.1 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
1 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
316 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arisaig House
Arisaig House
#1 of 5 in Arisaig
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ach na Skia Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ach na Skia Croft

Address: Achnaskia, Arisaig PH39 4NS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Arisaig
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mile from the village of Arisaig on the Scottish West Highland coast, the cottage and three cedar lodges on our croft have dramatic views over the sea to the islands of Skye, Eigg and Rum and the hills behind. Games room, volleyball, sauna, play area. Sea kayak and open canoe hire available. Golf and fishing nearby, sandy beaches a short walk. Lochs, mountains, great walks and wildlife. Day trips to the Small Isles and Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ach Na Skia Croft Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing