We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place, the best of Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We travelled the West Highland line, stopping here for the night, catching the train back the next morning. It was a great trip, our stay at the Old Library hugely contributing to our enjoyment and memories. We were met warmly and shown to our clean and modern chalet room, cosy as Robert had the heating tuned to the October night. After a stroll we enjoyed tasty food in the intimate restaurant: prawns, venison pie, Mallaig haddock in 2-cheese sauce, efficient and friendly service, a peaceful beauty on the coast outside the window. We slept deeply. Breakfast was good quality with Stornoway black pudding, thick smoky bacon, real mushrooms, tasty sausages etc served with warmth and humour. We have fond memories and wish that more establishments could provide such a wonderful level of hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is a great place to try a Scottish dish - I had Haggis and Clapshot with Drambuie cream starter, and Mallaig Haddock with Dunsyre blue cheese sauce. Heaven. I though the blue cheese might be a bit strong for the haddock but it was perfectly balanced.
The service was OK.
Inside the ambience is pleasant and outside the views are astounding. It is an unassuming place next door to a very good SPAR (we did our shopping before dinner) Easy parking along the quiet road.
After dinner we were met outside by two fellow diners who were staying in one of the rooms. They too were very complementary about their food (and room). If I remember correctly a seafood soup to die for was mentioned. Must return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed again for about the 10th time and as ever it was fantastic. The staff and chef brilliant! Food delicious and 'spot on' every time. Everyone so friendly and no rush to eat In the restaurant at all. Will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 & 6 have a beautiful view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We called in for dinner at around 7pm on the night that Celtic were playing Barcelona. The staff were pleasant but almost as soon as we had sat down they were pushing for our meal order - so much for the idea of a quiet pre dinner drink. The menu looked OK - my wife chose homemade tomato soup but it was so sweet that she couldn't eat it. The staff offered an alternative quite freely. My main course was plentiful lamb chops but they were spoiled to some extent by an oversweet and slightly artificial sauce. The veg weren't great either. The mains were served as soon as the starters were finished and the waitress was hovering for the dessert order just as the main course was completed. Around 7.35 pm the closed sign was put up in the door. It seemed as if customers were a bit of an inconvenience and the staff were in a hurry to get back home for the game.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korsakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here 10th and 11th September with my parents and was so glad we did. The rooms are spotless, modern and very comfortable and we slept very well. The restaurant was first class and I have to confess to eating one of the best desserts ever.....cherry brandy tiffin and vanilla ice cream, heaven on a plate. So to Robert and Maryann we say thank you and hope to come back to your beautiful hideaway in Arisaig, the road trip from Merseyside to Loch side was worth it.

Room Tip: Book your table as it does get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Old Library Lodge is a restaurant with rooms. Our room was in the Lodge itself above the restaurant. Although the room was not large it was very comfortable, very clean and with an excellent small en suite shower room. What the room lacked in size however was more than made up for by the view; straight out across the bay. Wonderful. Robert is a helpful and friendly host and a very good chef. We stayed two nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. The food was really excellent and Robert took great care to ensure that vegetarians (my wife included) were well catered for. We had a thoroughly great two days in this very beautiful part of Scotland and would most certainly go back to the Old Library again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anon4-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Spacious garden room well appointed with a comfy bed. We had a very good evening meal in the restaurant where Robert the proprietor made us most welcome. Breakfast next day was really good. We will return!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidar036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.1 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
317 reviews
4.2 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
157 reviews
6.6 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
72 reviews
17.4 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
16.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Library Lodge And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Address: Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range: £85 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Library Lodge And Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Old Library Lodge And Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Arisaig
Old Library Hotel
Old Library Arisaig
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing