We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding host, food and location... made our wedding so easy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding host, food and location... made our wedding so easy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights for our wedding at the local Astley Hall.

Rob and his wife were wonderful - great hosts with nothing being too much bother. We ate here 4 nights out of 5, that's how wonderful the food is. Locally sourced produce, all made on site by Robert. Bedrooms are clean, peaceful, homely and fresh - Cullen Skink and Venison Stew amazing. The Old Library is situated right in the heart of Arisaig - making it easy to see the stunning local area.

I simply can not recommend this place enough. Book in even just for dinner of you are passing through on your trip round the highlands, make a detour. It is worth it.

Nae bad for a wee man fae Glasgae!

As essential to Arisaig as Johnny Marr was to the Smiths. There is truly a light that never goes out in Arisaig.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleseed365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    68
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
184
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

What a friendly, peaceful and happy place to stay!
And thanks for the recipes.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajellymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

Just back from 3 lovely relaxing days at the Old Library Lodge in Arisaig and will certainly be returning. Room 3 was very bright, clean and spacious with a suntrap of a verandah in the early evening. We booked dinner on our first night and were so well fed and entertained by Robert that we didn't go anywhere else - Beautiful sea bass, steak, fresh scallops, monkfish and sticky toffee pudding to die for, all served in a friendly welcoming atmosphere...a little gem

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruska2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Thank goodness for Tripadvisor. When planning our West Highland Line train journey we were going to Mallaig at the end of the line but with such awful ratings for the hotels there decided to stop at Arisaig and spend the night at the Old Library Lodge and Restaurant which had such such good ratings. It was a good choice. It's a quiet little village and the hotel is perfectly situated right on the bay with great views over the water to Eigg. Our room was compact but with a 'tardis' like bathroom and as good a shower as you would find anywhere. Robert, the owner, is an ex film caterer - for the main characters we would guess rather than the extras! He was preparing dinner when we arrived and it was good that we had booked as he is very popular locally. The welcome and the comfortable room were just what we needed to complement the excellent journey there. After a very good breakfast we took a walk around the bay where we could spot interesting birds and see the basking seals which Robert had pointed out earlier. Before we left we were recommended a good restaurant by him in Glasgow (Guy's in Candlerigg) which was also excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XIXOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

when working in the area my colleague and I always book into The Old Library, the rooms are clean and spacious [ I particularly like the cabins with verandahs], the food is
tasty and wholesome without being poncy and the staff are cheery, efficient and helpful.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

There is no way I can fault this superb hotel. The owner, Robert, serves excellent food - accompanied by interesting chat, and is most helpful about local info. The accommodation was warm, cosy, relaxing, with a great view over the loch. just a brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington area
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

My son and his fiance chose the Old Library Lodge as a place for the family to stay and the locale for both their rehearsal and wedding dinners. The rooms were very comfortable with lovely bathrooms and comfortable beds. The view from our room in the Lodge was spectacular, looking out over the harbor at Eigg. The other rooms were equally well-appointed. The owner and his wife were fun and very accomodating. We had a delightful stay, and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.0 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
48.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
16.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Library Lodge And Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Library Lodge And Restaurant

Property: Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Address: Road to the Isles, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Library Lodge And Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Library Lodge And Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Hotel Arisaig
Old Library Hotel
Old Library Arisaig
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant Arisaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing