We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at Arisaig House”
Review of Arisaig House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arisaig House
Ranked #1 of 5 Arisaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have just returned to Oxfordshire from a very enjoyable and relaxing stay of two nights at Arisaig House. The house was recommended and we would certainly return. Sarah who runs the house is charming and nothing is too much trouble for her or any of her staff. The house itself sits in a wonderful location with beautiful views of the loch, if I enjoyed the views in November goodness knows what they would be like on a summer's day!

I have some dietary requirements which I made sure I emailed before our stay and this was dealt with care, professionalism and understanding. We eat dinner at Arisaig each night in a cosy room dressed with charming furnishings, with a large log fire, accompanied by very mellow Scottish music in the background. The food was better than I have experienced in some very costly restaurants or hotels and the attention to detail especially with my dietary requirements was wonderful. You can tell when food is local and fresh and when the cook/chef understands food when they are able to cook food of this quality and variety. Everything was prepared and cooked well and was delicious- and this also included the Scottish breakfast. In fact I found it difficult to choose at breakfast time which is very rare when you have dietary limitations.

The bedroom was very large with twin aspect large windows for a fabulous view of the loch, it also had an extremely comfortable bed, good shower and the sofa and coffee table was a lovely touch to sit and read and enjoy the view.

This is a very different experience to staying in a corporate plastic hotel! If you want a homely, feel, delightful interior design and period furnishings, log fires, personal service and great food in a true Scottish house book Arisaig House - you will not be disappointed!

I had a wonderful time here with friends, and I will certainly return next time with my husband!
It was a pleasure!

Room Tip: Our was a very large room with aspect and fabulous view of the Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

The access to Arisaig house is down a very dark thin road which is not signposted or lit. So its as well to look at a map if you are arriving after dark.

There is no clear entrance or reception area. We went to a side door (as it was the only thing lit up) and was greeted by an angry mutt. This was not the best of starts.

Sarah then came out of the door and told us to go through the main entrance. She said she meant to put the light on for us but didn't expect us to show up until later on. To be fair to her, I did tell her we would be arriving later on.

Inside the entrance is lovely. There is an aroma of wood smoke. There are some beautiful antiques and oldy worldy furniture and quite clearly you get the impression there is history in this house.

We were introduced to a younger girl who showed us the various lounges and dining room and bar. Now this all looked great, if you were visiting someone in a country estate, but it didn't have a hotel feel. There was no signs or music or a waiter in sight, or any other guests for that matter. It was empty. It felt strange, like you were in someone else's house. This was not the hotel experience we were looking for.
We were also told that if we wanted to eat we would have to choose off the menu before 8pm and there was no bird on the menu as it takes a few hours for one to cook. So it appeared that we were the only guests.
But the only other main course on the menu was a pasta and salmon dish (not what I fancied) The starters were either soup or something else which I cant quite remember and It appeared that you had to order either 2 or 3 courses from the menu. All I wanted was a bowl of soup. I wasn't prepared to pay 20 odd pounds for two courses I didn't want. This was not a good start at all.

Despite this small set back we decided to give it a go, hoping the feel of the place would improve, but it only went downhill.

We were shown to our room via a set of steps that bore no resemblance to the rest of the house that we had just seen. There were no antiques, no log fires, no wooden panelling here. The carpet was worn and the walls a bit grubby. Surely this cannot be the same place.

Our room was huge, with a strange childs bed at one end and the double bed at the other. The wall paper was coming away near the radiators and there were some areas that were a little tired. The bathroom however was nice and very clean.

I decided to run a bath and de stress. When I did this the water was brown. We were not prepared for this. We also tried to have a glass of water but the cold out of the tap too was brown. There were no signs to say the water was potable and that it was tested by the environment agency and was ok to drink etc etc.

By this time we were quite annoyed and were starting to have those dreaded feelings of do we look for somewhere else....

We decided to see what other accommodation was nearby so we went onto our phones to use the WIFI. This did not work. There was also no phone signal either.

That was the final straw. We decided that we would leave and find somewhere else as this was just not worth £165 a night.

We reluctantly went downstairs to find Sarah but there was no one about. In the end we gave up. Packed our things and left.

We found somewhere else to stay then emailed Sarah and told her that Arisaig House fell well short of our expectations.
To be fair her reply was very apologetic and she was sorry we were not happy.
I guess this place just isn't for some, but I do feel we were mislead by the website.
I would not recommend staying here if you are looking for a romantic getaway, with fluffy slippers, robes, room service and staff to wait on you. Because it really isn't this.

If you are looking for a big old house with some history and no one to bother you during your stay then maybe its for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveltigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Sarah and her staff are very welcoming with just the right mix of friendliness and efficiency! The house is huge but made homely with lots of lovely furniture and decorations. I loved the wood burner and the lifelike wooden dog sculpture under the coffee table. The water is brown and peaty which appeals to me! We got the train to Beasdale Station where we were picked up and driven the mile to the hotel. This station was built specially for Arisaig House. There is lovely views and walks nearby, with Arisaig village three quarters of an hour's walk away. Our room had four windows facing the front towards the sea - a huge and comfortable one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a simply devine place to stay if you are looking for a really relaxing holiday. Sarah and her staff run a really cosy homely house. Nothing ever seems too much trouble and they look after their guests as if they were close friends and or family. The cuisine is perfect, much of it home grown or locally produced. The public rooms all have roaring wood burning stoves surrounded by comfy sofas and chairs, coffee tables with books and mags. to browse through. The bedroom we had was lovely, overlooking the West coast. Can't fault it, we'll go back, great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMacEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect place for me for a relaxing break. The countryside is beautiful, the house is lovely, comfortable and welcoming with great views and the food is great. There is an informal feel to the place and you are very well looked after. Also WiFi, TV and good coffee/tea making stuff in the rooms. Lots of books to pick up and read. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 482EUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Beautiful house with spectacular views from every room - regardless of the weather. Extremely comfortable beds in spacious rooms, fabulous food (lots from the garden), and a welcome from Sarah that makes you feel like you are house guests. Kids and dog loved it too! Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank messynessy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I visitwed Arasaig House inb the recommendation of my daughter who had enjoyed her stay in July. However, the owner, Sarah was way and her custodian, her young daughter was in charge. She greeted us and was not seen again until I paid the bill. The house was lovely, the bedroom comfortable with a lovely view. Returning to the bedroom the afternoon after our first night stay we found the bed not made and cups not washed,
The food was good but small portions. One rasher of overcooked bacon and the sea bream, main course was no more than 2" long! My husband is a vegetarian and his food was adequate. Poor value for money.
On leaving I remarked on the state of the bedroom to the young girl who had served the meal.
When Kitty appeared she did not mention it . I felt a surge of disgust - paid my bill and resolved to send a letter to her mother.
I mentioned the bedroom, refrained from complaining about the food and commended her on the compliments in the Visitors Book in which I did not write. I expected a call or a letter of apology. No call or letter. I think that is bad and that's why this letter is on Trip Advisor. Do not stay unless Sarah is in charge.

Room Tip: The views from the front of the house are lovely. The bed is excellent and its very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 603mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
2.3 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
316 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
15.2 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
725 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
7.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arisaig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arisaig House

Address: Beasdale, Arisaig PH39 4NR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arisaig
Price Range: £176 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arisaig House is a luxurious but homely guest house offering freshly prepared seasonal meals, picnic lunches, homemade treats and the chance to really put your feet up! Set within 19 acres of landscaped gardens and woodland A typical bedroom will have its share of views: the rose garden, the woodland garden beyond, and to the sea and maybe an island or two. The wonderful light is a constantly changing backdrop with the chance of a finale of a full west coast sunset blazing and gradually fading. Peace and comfort pervade. Our kitchen is supported by its own seasonal garden produce and a positive galaxy of local specialities: Seafood - lobster, scallops, crabs, local fresh salmon, smoked salmon and oysters - in demand worldwide but fresh on our doorstep; venison, game and hill lamb in their season. There's really no shortage of food pleasures at any time of year. Picnic lunches are another speciality, with all that walking country out there and a host of things to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arisaig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arisaig House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing