We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Arisaig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arisaig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night. We were shown to our rooms, a single and a family room. They were both clean and tidy with the basic amenities. The family room's bathroom was an odd shape but there was nothing wrong with it.
The only issues in the room were the window refusing to close unless it was given a sharp slam whilst lifting it into it's frame, which would have been very annoying had we stayed longer. The wifi was only reachable in the foyer and there was no-one on reception from 9, but our issue was quickly resolved at the attached bar. The food at said bar was nice, the portions were large and very tasty. The staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The setting is attractive, the welcome very friendly, the food wholesome and the bed comfortable. Our room was certainly on the small side for a hotel charging £120 a night and the shower cubicle was ridiculously small – too small to be able to touch your toes. Evening meal quality was average and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeNoudeGaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights for a family wedding in the village. The staff could not have been more helpful and the places runs like clockwork (with a human face!). The food was very good, recommend the Mallaig Kippers for breakfast. The bar is lively with excellent beer. Regular traditional Scottish band on the Friday evening made for a tremendous atmosphere. Our room (12) was very well presented indeed and had everything we needed. Recommend this unreservedly for a visit of any length to this great location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank iain2eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We enjoyed two meals at this hotel which seems to have recently been taken over by an enthusiastic couple from New Zealand. Although there was some confusion over the process for booking tables, the meals were well-cooked and service was friendly and helpful. Ales were very good in the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank fatherdoo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We ate twice in the hotel in the past few weeks and found the quality of food to be excellent. The venison pie is superb and I would recommend it to anyone.
The bar also does a couple of real ales which were very good. Staff very friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jimckeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Take your breath away. We stayed in room 14 with a view of the cove. Everything was spot on. We were told the Hotel staff were new the week we stayed but we would never have known if not told. Courteous and cheerful and knowledgeable. There was a minimal menu while we were there but the food was perfection. The pub (attached) was full of locals and kayackers and children adding a lively mix. For those wanting a quieter meal try the pub dining room or the Dining room itself. For an expat American this stay was the best conclusion to a holiday on Skye and Northwest Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Arisaig Hotel for four nights as a base for a walking holiday. Location couldn't be better - our room overlooked the loch and to the small islands. The place has an old world charm- it has been a hotel for a long time [a old framed document in the hall shows its tariff being 4 guineas a week!] and this is reflected in the decor in the lovely light sitting-room. Today it's a well run, very friendly and comfortable hotel. The breakfast menu is excellent - full Scottish, or local Mallaig kippers were my choice.The service was prompt and faultless. Evening meals could be taken in the bar which is open to locals - we found this a bonus as it has a lively atmosphere. The food, and especially the fish - cullen skink, scallops in cream, Thai prawn curry, and the best, lightest, battered fish and chips I've tasted - were very good indeed and the service was prompt.
Good local beers are available top accompany the food. All in all a perfect hotel for a holiday in the West Highlands. My one reservation in reviewing for others is that it doesn't have a lift, so if you want that loch view on the second floor you have to do a bit of climbing!'

Room Tip: Go for a front room with a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arisaig
0.1 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
6.5 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
626 reviews
4.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
72 reviews
11.9 mi away
Loch Shiel Hotel
Loch Shiel Hotel
#2 of 2 in Acharacle
90 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arisaig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arisaig Hotel

Address: Inverness-shire, Arisaig PH39 4NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Arisaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arisaig
Price Range: £84 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arisaig Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Arisaig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arisaig Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing