We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a stay but food slightly let's it down” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glengarry Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Galmpton, DEVON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a stay but food slightly let's it down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Very nice stay set within a lovely countyside setting and excellent view of the loch. Staff were very friendly and the warm open fires finished off a very good stay only slightly let down by the what seemed a conveyer belt system-food, possibly pre prepared and not cooked to order?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamGreasyHotlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    148
    31
    8
    1
See reviews for
136
373
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We traveled from the US to Scotland for the first time with our grown children and wanted a centrally located, memorable place to stay. Glengarry Castle Hotel was the perfect choice. The rooms were beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The view from our room included morning sheep, and a glimpse of the Loch, gorgeous! We stayed in for dinner one evening, and while we found the price a bit steep, the food was excellent. We really enjoyed the sitting rooms, complete with roaring fires, where we could gather together in the evenings. We also delighted in wandering the grounds, with gorgeous views of the lake and castle ruins. During the days, we were able to take day trips to Loch Ness and the Speyside area, where the men enjoyed tasting fine Scotch. We hope to return, as there are many other scenic places to visit in the vicinity, and the hospitality was truly memorable.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are located at the back, with gorgeous views of the lake and surrounding grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waystogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Situated at the end of a long drive through the trees, Glengarry looks the part and lives up to that too. The setting is very scenic and there are walks around the grounds that will have your camera busy, On the banks of the loch, just sitting outside and gazing at the scenery will relax you. The rooms are attractive and facilities good. Being a bit of a rambling castle, there are stairs and corridors and twists and turns to negotiate to get to your rooom, but that's just part of the charm. There are a couple of large lounges for a pre-dinner drink: there is no bar, but a waiter service for drinks - you don't have to queue and you never have to wait long. The food is very good, the menu is varied enough for most tastes and represents good value for money.
Attire in the dining room ranged from casual to collar and tie, but the atmosphere isn't stuffy and guests tend to mix well. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Glengarry.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are noisy - top floor ones take a bit more effort to get to but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macallan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Another lovely visit to Glengarry,cannot praise the staff and service enough friendly but professional and polite.The atmosphere is very relaxing with log fires in both lounges and also in the reception hall.The location for us is also great and we always look forward to turning off the road on to the drive up to the hotel especially in Autumn when the trees look wonderful.A big thank you to all of the people at Glengarry and we look forward to seeing you all again.
Jim and Linda

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

If you want to stay in a stunning 5-star resort with style and panache, this is not the place for you. If you want to stay in a cheap motor-lodge by the highway as cheaply as you can, this is not the place for you.

If, however, you want to come home to your elegant grandmother's country estate, where the gardens are well maintained, the stone dock leads onto a still, picturesque loch surrounded by hills, and the ruins of an ancient castle are just a short walk down a meandering path past the tennis court, then this IS the place for you.

Glengarry Castle Hotel is actually a lovely Victorian country house on the grounds of a castle ruins. It is charming in the way that Maggie Smith is in, well, all her movies. An elegant lady whose "prime" may have been decades ago but is still as charming as ever. She invites you to linger by her and chat with others, and prepares a lovely room of which a young Elizabeth or elderly Victoria would approve.

You are greeted by a fire in the main hall upon arrival (after passing through a lovely ante-chamber to contain the chill) and may find more fires blazing in the double drawing room (yes, I said fires, plural, because there were at least three warming the hearths while we were there.

You will not meet an Edwardian livery of servants, butlers, or maids, but you will be greeted by affable hosts still hosting in this grand old dame.

Two highlights of our stay:
Drinks in the drawing room around the fire chatting cosily with a lovely couple from England while a charming family played board games in one corner and two other couples chatted merrily by the window.
The morning light and mist across the loch while sheep grazed in the meadow outside our window.

The somewhat dated appearance of our room (including a porcelain toilet brush holder in the shape of a goose, a particular favorite of mine), the lack of down on the beds replaced by good Scottish wool blankets, and the firm mattress only added to the charm (for those SATC fans, think of Bunny MacDougall's "firm" mattress - in my experience these grand old dames always favor a "firm" mattress ;-).

The breakfast was a family affair and very lovely indeed, served in the east-facing dining room and taking advantage of the beautiful sunshine.

We will definitely be back - it is a beautiful experience for a VERY reasonable price (the charm of this place ranks it with Inverlochy Castle for about a fifth of the cost).

Room Tip: We loved the east-facing room over the meadow in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Forster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Really impressive surroundings. Get your very traditional afternoon tea served in the Lounge or Library, enjoy the log fire and the views of the Loch and relax. The hotel has a mooring for those boating on the Loch (like us) to stop by. We were so impressed we stopped in on the way back too. Full afternoon tea is around £10 per head if you go for the sandwiches, cakes and scones option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calv2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stopped here for coffee after our first choice of hotel was shut to the public for a wedding. This was a complete delight, from the long drive down, past the ruined castle, to the views over the loch. The coffee was seriously strong and served up in a proper library with lots of old sofas. Delicious shortbread too. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakradice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
18.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
7.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
6.0 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Property: Glengarry Castle Hotel
Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle
Glengarry Castle Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing