We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+++”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

One of the best places my husband and I have ever stayed at. The service is attentive but unobtrusive. The accommodation is posh yet homely. The food was savoury. Lots of areas for relaxation: the lounge with a fireplace and the library. Also, the nearby area is stunningly beautiful and allows safe and scenic hiking. Needless to say the whole setting is absolutely breathtaking. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. If we are ever in Scotland again, we would definitely like to come back.
PS We weren’t travelling by car to and from the hotel, so the staff offered to give us a lift both ways to the nearest bus stop. It was very kind of them, and the man who provided us with this kind service even refused to take a tip.
Ultimate grade: A+++

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_I_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlengarryCastleHotel, Owner at Glengarry Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive review of your stay with us. We're delighted that you plan to return and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

With a spectacular location on the Great Glen, the Glengarry Castle hotel has a lot to live up to…could the hotel match the scenery. From the moment you drive down the long drive surrounded by trees and glimpses of the loch to the entrance of the hotel with warming fire, everything worked. The staff were friendly and the rooms good.

This is a comfortable homely place - with fires in the lounge or the library, good size rooms and welcoming service. With large windows and easy walks it has everything going for it. We stayed there for four nights and ate at the hotel every night as part of our package. The food was very good, locally sourced and with four courses. We went from smoked trout as a starter to chicken liver parfait, main included venison, steaks, chicken, risotto and there was always and excellent sorbet or soup as well. Deserts were uniformly excellent. It was easy to get into the ritual of going to the lounge where staff would bring you drinks, reading by the fire, and then walking to the dining room.

The staff were excellent and very helpful. This was excellent value and we paid 190 GBP per night for four course dinner, bed and breakfast. It was well worth the money and the hotel is located perfectly for skye and inverness.

Excellent service and just the place to chill and be there - excellent

Room Tip: get a room at the from overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlengarryCastleHotel, Owner at Glengarry Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive review of your stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you to the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have visited the Glengarry many times over the last 30 years, but not in the last few years until last week. We were pleased to find the same warm welcome,cosy, relaxing lounges and the deluxe bedrooms are superb with loch views. The food is locally sourced and freshly cooked and served with friendly and efficient staff. Wine prices are also very reasonable. Indeed, we think the hotel provides excellent value and the setting is superb. Once again we greatly enjoyed our stay and will be returning.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are superb,but superior rooms are very good and even better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a charming, very old, mansion converted to a hotel many years ago. The furnishings, while "cozy," reflect the hotel's age. We had a large, comfortable room with a loch view, which I would recommend. We had dinner at the hotel both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food and the excellent service. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Drinks before dinner in front of a warm fire in the library and the lounge were a highlight.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 389davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Room was just average, but nice dining room with good service and selection and comfortable library and drawing room. Pay for your Scotch, but prices are reasonable. Huge well-maintained grounds for strolling. We continued a few miles up the river. Very international group of guests; no one else was speaking English. Staff was attentive and knowledgeable about the region.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed one night at the Glengarry Castle Hotel in September. The hotel was easy to find and we were whisked quickly through check in. We received a small double room; however, it felt comfortable and the bathroom was ample size. Our highlight was the dinner that night. I had the steak and my wife had the chicken. Both were excellent. We had coffee and after dinner sweets in the library in front of a cozy fire. It was a very memorable experience. The next morning after a great full breakfast we walked down to the loch, visited the on site castle ruins, and toured the grounds. We wished we had booked more nights here! Definitely a great place to stay, in our opinion.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had another great stay here but ssshhh don't tell everyone or it will get too popular!

The place is old and historic with the old castle in the grounds and the loch which runs as part of the great glen and into Loch Ness, so look out for Nessie. It's a family run business and the service is great, they went out of their way to help us.

A few tips, spend the extra and get a view of the loch. Please dress for dinner you don't have to at all and some people don't but it's a lovely place so why not at least try and look smart ish. It's just my personal opinion but if you want to dress like you have just come off a building site go to a travel lodge. The food is great although not as good as it was when I first started coming here in 2002. But still really good. Have a lovely dinner here then relax in the two sitting rooms afterwards and talk to the other guests, they like you are all to ready to chat so break the ice!

There is free wifi here it seemed good in our room but not brilliant in the sitting room for some reason. I would perhaps bring an electrical extension cable as it's an old building and people seem to have so many electrical gadgets nowadays it may be easier just to bring an extension cable with a few sockets on it.

We would recommend a few places to visit from the hotel. The commando memorial at Spean Bridge, a great view and touching memorial. The gondola to snow goose cafe. Go to the national ice climbing centre in Kinlochleven , it's indoors and all ages and abilities and actually a great fun indoor day out. A drive through Glen Coe go all the way to the viewpoint at the end of Rannoch moor. The famous Eileen Donnan castle seen in many films and adverts. The monarch of the glen tv series has many places you can visit, message me for more details. The is
Isle of skye. Drummnadoicht and the Nessie museums and exhibitions. The hotel is a great base for exploring the area and returning to a lovely hotel for more details message me.

In summary a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
0.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
495 reviews
18.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
620 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
7.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range: £126 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle
Glengarry Castle Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing