We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Loved the experience of staying in the castle. Liked the way the room was decorated in the style of a castle. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved the way they rang the gong for dinner. A quiet place with excellent views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a couple nights travelling around Scotland, very grand stately home type home accommodation, stayed in one of the deluxe four poster rooms, the suite was fantastic the view of the loch amazing. The grounds were lovely with ruins of the old castle.

Although we did not dine here in the evening the breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice - our decision not to dine here in the evening was predominately due to lack of choice for vegetarian food. The hotel is very traditional and very quiet which was perfect for us, if you were planning on living it up in the town perhaps not the place for you. My only slight disappointment would have been the quality of internet as we both had some work to do sadly, wifi was very patchy and unreliable.

But truly for a romantic break the setting and rooms are superb.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the loch if possible its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a two for one castle stay. On the hotel grounds there's another castle - ruins - that's definitely worth checking out. The walk along the loch to the ruins is picturesque with breathtaking views of the highlands. The room was beautiful, the staff were friendly, and the grounds amazing. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel has an amazing setting overlooking the Loch, but it is also a wonderful building in its own right. So for example, there are amazing views from wonderful picture windows in the main lounge and library, and great walks in the grounds, including to see the ruins of Invergarry Castle. The service was excellent throughout our stay, with staff courteous and helpful at all times. The food was really good and extremely good value for money if you are used to London prices. To sum up, we liked it so much that we booked a return visit for later in the year as we were paying our bill!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RosLunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Set in a wonderful Scottish area, surrounded by huge green hills, this place reminds of the TV show Glen Bogle in Monarch of the Glen. The hotel has some 30 rooms, all of which were fully booked on the two nights that we stayed. Staff were so helpful. We were on the top floor, view spectacular. Four poster bed very special, although mattress a bit hard for my taste.
Staff very helpful. Carry the bags up three flights of stairs without breaking into a sweat. Breakfast served in lovely light room but be early if they are busy.

Room Tip: Worth the extra four the deluxe with fourposter bed fir special,occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RufusBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is the second visit we have had to this hotel and I absolutely love it. The staff are very welcoming and are keen that you enjoy your stay. The bedroom was nicely furnished with four poster bed and a double aspect view with wonderful vistas of the loch. Everywhere is very clean and all the paintwork looks as if it had recently been done. We ate in the hotel on both night of our stay and the food is excellent. A small but varied choice with four courses. Tap water is brought without asking and they don't try to sell you the expensive bottles (although this is available if you want). Coffee and after dinner mints are also included after the meal. It is lovely to sit in the library after your meal sipping coffee and a whiskey and stare out over the loch and darkening sky. If you feel a little more energetic then walking around the beautiful grounds are a must. There are some wonderful things to do in this area and Fort Augustus is a must.

Room Tip: We have always had a luxury room overlooking the loch. Beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having booked the hotel for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast (£198 for two per night) we were hoping like mad we had made a good decision and it turned out to be a very good decision. The hotel looks as if it has been recently refurbished, it is immaculate throughout and is decorated in a traditional country house style with light airy rooms and beautiful views from the drawing room and library out onto the gardens and the loch below. We asked for a room that overlooked the car park as we had dogs with us and wanted to keep an eye on them in the car and we had a room on the second floor which was to the same high standard as the common areas with a huge bath and separate shower and plenty of hot water (let it run for a while to get up two flights!). The staff were all friendly and efficient and the icing on the cake was the food which was excellent - they must hang on to the chef for dear life. The restaurant offered a 4 course meal for £34 and the menu changed each night we were there offering 4 starters, soup or sorbet, 4 mains and 4 puds including cheese. There was a veggie option on starters and mains. The menu was imaginative and well balanced and the wine list was extensive and reasonably priced. If you are travelling with dogs there is plenty of good walking to be had right outside the hotel and lots of wonderful woodland and river walks close by. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a spot of luxury, friendly and efficient service and good food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michnoquetUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
0.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
497 reviews
18.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
6.2 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
200 reviews
20.9 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range: £127 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle
Glengarry Castle Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing