We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely stay at Glengarry Castle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glengarry Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Port Dover, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely stay at Glengarry Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A quaint old hotel in the highlands. Beautiful grounds, very quiet and stately. We stayed one night in a beautiful room with a comfy king bed. We opted for the 4 course dinner which was very good, a bit pricey but worth it if you want to treat yourself. We did a nice trail walk along the river and the loch where there is an interesting old castle ruins. One disappointment came at checkout. Somehow they did not have a record of our deposit made a month before our trip. Fortunately we had our credit card statement as evidence and they were ok with that so be sure to bring your paperwork with you. All in all, an authentic taste of Scotland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_and_Alison2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    148
    31
    8
    1
See reviews for
136
373
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Loved the experience of staying in the castle. Liked the way the room was decorated in the style of a castle. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Loved the way they rang the gong for dinner. A quiet place with excellent views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a couple nights travelling around Scotland, very grand stately home type home accommodation, stayed in one of the deluxe four poster rooms, the suite was fantastic the view of the loch amazing. The grounds were lovely with ruins of the old castle.

Although we did not dine here in the evening the breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice - our decision not to dine here in the evening was predominately due to lack of choice for vegetarian food. The hotel is very traditional and very quiet which was perfect for us, if you were planning on living it up in the town perhaps not the place for you. My only slight disappointment would have been the quality of internet as we both had some work to do sadly, wifi was very patchy and unreliable.

But truly for a romantic break the setting and rooms are superb.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the loch if possible its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a two for one castle stay. On the hotel grounds there's another castle - ruins - that's definitely worth checking out. The walk along the loch to the ruins is picturesque with breathtaking views of the highlands. The room was beautiful, the staff were friendly, and the grounds amazing. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has an amazing setting overlooking the Loch, but it is also a wonderful building in its own right. So for example, there are amazing views from wonderful picture windows in the main lounge and library, and great walks in the grounds, including to see the ruins of Invergarry Castle. The service was excellent throughout our stay, with staff courteous and helpful at all times. The food was really good and extremely good value for money if you are used to London prices. To sum up, we liked it so much that we booked a return visit for later in the year as we were paying our bill!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosLunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
653 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Set in a wonderful Scottish area, surrounded by huge green hills, this place reminds of the TV show Glen Bogle in Monarch of the Glen. The hotel has some 30 rooms, all of which were fully booked on the two nights that we stayed. Staff were so helpful. We were on the top floor, view spectacular. Four poster bed very special, although mattress a bit hard for my taste.
Staff very helpful. Carry the bags up three flights of stairs without breaking into a sweat. Breakfast served in lovely light room but be early if they are busy.

Room Tip: Worth the extra four the deluxe with fourposter bed fir special,occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RufusBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is the second visit we have had to this hotel and I absolutely love it. The staff are very welcoming and are keen that you enjoy your stay. The bedroom was nicely furnished with four poster bed and a double aspect view with wonderful vistas of the loch. Everywhere is very clean and all the paintwork looks as if it had recently been done. We ate in the hotel on both night of our stay and the food is excellent. A small but varied choice with four courses. Tap water is brought without asking and they don't try to sell you the expensive bottles (although this is available if you want). Coffee and after dinner mints are also included after the meal. It is lovely to sit in the library after your meal sipping coffee and a whiskey and stare out over the loch and darkening sky. If you feel a little more energetic then walking around the beautiful grounds are a must. There are some wonderful things to do in this area and Fort Augustus is a must.

Room Tip: We have always had a luxury room overlooking the loch. Beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
18.7 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
7.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.0 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Property: Glengarry Castle Hotel
Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle
Glengarry Castle Hotel Invergarry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing