We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Like this Place”
Review of Invergarry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Invergarry Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Invergarry is our stop-over between home and our holiday destination in the Western Isles. This is the second time we've stayed and this time, we decided to stay over on the way up and on the way back. The rooms are great with comfortable beds on the first floor - I note what others are saying about the size of some rooms but reference is made to this on the website so pay your money and take your chance! There is a high level of cleanliness which impresses me -in particular the bathrooms,which is something I am very fussy about but these are spotless. The food is great and I like the owners' choice of quality, local products. The chef's homemade taboon bread with the curry is divine, so much so I had this both times. Our stop-over on the way back was delayed due to unforseen delays on the ferry and a road closure which meant we would miss our dinner reservation and maybe our room reservation.. The staff explained the hotel policies clearly so we knew where we stood, however, I was able to order our meal over the phone and it was ready shortly after our late arrival and we were welcomed with courteousness which was much appreciated after a disconcerting period of uncertainty on unknown roads! We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heron_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here as part of a trip around he Scottish highlands, and the location was perfect for visiting the main tourist attractions (if you have a car) however the guesthouse is a little old fashioned, and on more than one occasion other guests tried to enter our room while we were in bed.

The staff were friendly and food in the restaurant was good, although not exceptional.

Breakfast was good with lots of variety and freshly cooked.

Room Tip: Don't stay overlooking the road as this can be noisy if having windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

An excellent start to our Highlands holiday. Great value, friendly professional service and an atmospheric building in a beautiful setting. The dinner and breakfast were unexpectedly good.Quiet position and lovely riverside walks.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a room with a view to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol186414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Excellent hotel. Very clean and well looked after. Great food, freshly prepared. Superb position for access to the mountains. Efficient, helpful, friendly staff. Top marks. We will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stopped off on way from Plockton for morning coffee. Thought we may have been a nuisance as staff preparing for lunch parties arriving and discussing days menu with chef. But no ! Great fresh coffee and home made rhubarb jam and scones accompanied by fresh cream. The owner took time to chat re our travels etc. We have called in here for lunch and coffees over a period of seven years, We are not what one would call frequent customers but still the attention to detail and quality of service has always been high.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnieamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Friendly / small hotel. Helpful staff who provided storage for a our bikes. Ate in the restaurant which is reasonably priced if you're used to London prices but possibly expensive compared to local prices. Fancy & tasty breakfast.
Clean / comfortable room. The only comment is that the large spacious bathroom has the worlds smallest shower..
Friendly FOH manager with sense of humour which shows in some of the below comments on poor reviews. Would return again no question if I was ever in the area.

Room Tip: 1st floor, more headroom.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We visited this hotel for lunch so can only comment on that experience.

It has a very nicely furnished and comfortable dining room with a bar area. The food selection is good and well served without too long a wait. Staff were friendly and helpful but the big negative is the value for money. Almost everything on the menu is overpriced which is a shame as I am sure that limits the return of customers who otherwise enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pabnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
invergarryhotel, Owner at Invergarry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hi there

Thank you for the kind review.

I just wanted to take the opportunity to explain regarding the pricing - not make excuses - a real explanation

We made a calculated decision to be a little different with regards to our food offering and go the extra mile. Its not an excuse - we deliberately have done this and we make no apologies for it.

This means - employing a "real" Chef and Brigade under him who understands and loves flavours, creativity, quality, presentation and has a drive and passion. Employing a brigade of staff who smile and care. Sourcing fresh local quality produce - for example our Beef can be traced right back to a certain cow in a field where it has been hand reared by a Scottish farmer - Real Scotch Beef. Each one has its own tag.
What I am trying to explain is that as a Hotelier you make a decision which route to go down and your right there are plenty of Bars in the area that offer more reasonably priced food that is sourced by other means - which is mainly frozen large distributors.
We choose not to.
As a result we like to think that our food is excellent, handmade, is fresh, is sourced correctly and is served with a smile and in a nice environment that's relaxed and enjoyable.
Unfortunately it means that its more expensive and we pay for deliveries on almost all our products as we are remotely located up here in the mountains.

This means each dish has an extra cost on it but I can tell you that we operate on the same gross margins as most restaurants and do not take advantage - its a fine balancing act, especially with the increase in food costs during the recession.

In our opinion its worth it to serve something that we know is good. I know you thought it was good as you enjoyed your visit.

But your right we are a little more expensive than some..........................and we are proud of what we achieve and I promise you that we challenge our suppliers and ourselves regularly to shave the costs where possible.

We hope to see you again soon and I hope this goes in some way to explain to you and other readers what we are trying to achieve here.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
0.6 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
745 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,236 reviews
18.4 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
957 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
617 reviews
5.9 mi away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invergarry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invergarry Hotel

Address: Inverness-shire, Invergarry PH35 4HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price Range: £106 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Invergarry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed 4 Star Country Inn nestled in the entrance to Glengarry, in the village of Invergarry. Surrounded by Mountains and set overlooking the beautiful River Garry.All rooms En-suite to an excellent 4 Star standard.Brasserie with excellent food and relaxed dining.Excellent range of Wines, Ales & Malt Whiskies.Roaring Log Fires and Superb Hospitality.A place to unwind and use as a base for touring the Highlands of Scotland with a combination of Warm clean rooms with good facilities, excellent food & warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Invergarry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invergarry Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing