We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch B&B”
Review of Knoydart Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoydart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knoydart Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Top notch B&B”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

One of the best B&Bs I have stayed in. Bob and Morag are the perfect hosts delivering excellent service to their guests from the moment you are picked up at the pier. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfasts and packed lunches, using ingredients from the well stocked garden, are superb. The Lodge is an excellent base from which to tackle the local mountains and low level walks and is only 5 minutes walk away from the local bar/restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night whilst hiking in Knoydart. From the first phone call Morag was fabulous, recommending the excellent Western Isles ferry service and offering us breakfast on the day when we were camping. Breakfast was absolutely epic and the large table led to great conversation with fellow guests. The room was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom, particularly the high pressure and hot as you like shower. Will definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ddtad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent 4 nights here with 4 friends as part of a Munro bagging and beer drinking break. Found the accommodation to be of a very high standard ands the couple who run the Bed and Breakfast (Morag and Bob) are really nice, with a wicked sense of humour and a great "can do " attitude. The breakfast menu was extremely flexible and food delicious. Her packed lunches were also great and kept us going as we plodded over the rough bounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coln A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here for one night. Had intended to stay in Sourlie's Bothy, but we got SO wet that we opted to walk into Inverie and try and get a bed for the night! Unfortunately the Bunkhouse was full; so it was either camping, or a night at Knoydart Lodge. We decided to treat ourselves to the latter.
Considering the price, it was pretty disappointing. Three of us shared a room, one of us on a pull-out style bed - no reduction in price, despite us all being in together. Bathroom was functional - but only a shower, no bath which would have been nice after a day walking through the hills. There was some shower gel provided, but it ran empty before the three of us had taken a shower. The house was pretty cool - said there was underfloor heating, but it was not on. We sat in our room with our puffer jackets on! The owners allowed us to dry our very wet gear in the "drying room" which was just a cupboard around the hot water tank - not really fit for purpose.
I am surprised that there are only good reviews here! I felt that Morag and Bob "tolerated" us in their B and B. Breakfast was very pleasant, although if you judge somewhere by the coffee made.....this was poor. We enjoyed the chat / stories from other guests, all enjoying sitting around the big table together. Morag however seemed keen to get us "moved along" from the table; loading the dishwasher right beside us.... breaking up the atmosphere. I have a background in hospitality and I must say I was disappointed with the hospitality offered here. Our shared room cost £142.50. I think that was VERY poor value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fiona614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for three days. A very warm welcome by Bob and Morag. The couple will make your stay fantastic in every way . They go out of their way to make sure that everything is perfect. Great hosts. Food first class and accommodation faultless. The views are to die for.A lot of local knowledge and will arrange boat trips , horse riding and dinner reservations. A brilliant relaxing experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a huge bed , a sofa bed a wet room and patio doors.Rooms are excellent but I cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jintypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I walked into Knoydart from Fort William over 3 days last week and to say I needed a shower and big comfy bed by the time I got there would be an understatement. I walked in just after dark no doubt looking terrible and overtly self-aware that I probably wasn’t my freshest having spent the last 2 nights in a tent and asked for a room. Despite my appearance Bob and Maurag welcomed me and rushed to prepare a room for my last minute arrival, they were incredibly inviting throughout and gave me a much needed cup of coffee to warm me up. I hurried into my lovely room to have one of the most rewarding showers of my life before heading into the communal areas to meet the other guests fully refreshed.

The building is lovely, the rooms great and comfy, the view spectacular but this place is really made by the totally welcoming and hospitable Bob and Maurag. They booked me a spot for dinner at the pub and even drove me down. An excellent meal and much deserved pint and I wandered back up the road to the B&B for bed and unsurprisingly slept like a baby.

Breakfast was top notch and all very social with the other guests followed by another lift down the road to catch the ferry out.

I will be staying here again (perhaps not walking in this time!) and would thoroughly recommend it to others.

A side note on Knoydart itself – breath taking scenery, truly remote and a unique atmosphere that I’ve found nowhere else. In short well worth a visit and if you do make sure you stay at the lodge!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was looking for somewhere to stay in Knoydart for 3 nights and discovered this place online. It was offering winter rates and no single room supplement and it is dog friendly, so it seemed ideal. I was not disappointed, and Bob and Morag even offered to look after Ben, my bearded collie, while I went to the pub for a meal. We had two great days and on the second climbed Luinne Bheinn, and thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing jacuzzi afterwards.

Morag's breakfasts are legendary - I had Mallaig kippers one day, scallops wrapped in bacon the next and a fry up with superb local black pudding the third. If you go to Knoydart make sure you buy some local venison from the shop. It's wonderful stuff. Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nestorius54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knoydart
9.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
10.8 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
292 reviews
23.8 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
GlenanCross GuestHouse
10.6 mi away
The Lochailort Inn
The Lochailort Inn
#1 of 1 in Lochailort
183 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Mission Bunkhouse
The Mission Bunkhouse
#1 of 5 in Mallaig
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knoydart Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoydart Lodge

Property: Knoydart Lodge
Address: Knoydart Lodge Market Garden | Inverie, PH41 4PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Knoydart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Knoydart
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KNOYDART LODGE Private Luxury ~ Shared Experience. Knoydart Lodge offers private room rental with shared self-catering facilities for up to 20 guests. We have five en-suite rooms: four on the ground floor with private access via the south facing patio, and one on the first floor with beautiful views over the Community Market Garden and out to Loch Nevis. Our largest room sleeps up to six people and also features its own kitchenette facilities. The communal areas comprise the kitchen, dining and living area which features vaulted ceilings, wood burning stove and panoramic views; balcony snug; and outdoor patio & garden. Knoydart Lodge offers a unique accommodation option on the Knoydart peninsula - by renting a private room and sharing the living spaces our guests can enjoy the luxury living of a Highland Lodge without the price tag. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knoydart Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing