We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Cozy Cozy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoydart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Walked in from the hills yesterday and met with warm and friendly welcome by Izzie. After eleven days of walking in wind and driving rain, Knoydart Bunkhouse is truly a magical port in the storm. Warm fire in common room, very roomy kitchen, super friendly bunkmates, and incredible pub down the road (don't forget your torch, like we did!). Word has it Inverie has lovely tea shop, must go search that out now......
If only one could give ten stars, Knoydart Bunkhouse deserves them all!!

Room Tip: Can be very busy on spring/summer weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiddlerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

We booked a boat from mallaig to inverie due to our arrival timing cant catch the public boat service. when we arrived the bunkhouse there are no staff there but all is to make yourself just like home, Izzie did leave a massage at the registration form so we just get what we want. its quite and comfortable place good to relax your busy day in the city. You must order the red meat and cook by yourself its superdelicious. [ just simple step to cook it ]

I will back again !!

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank kizoome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

after arriving in the customary driving summer rain in a howling gale, we were so pleased to see that there was availability in the bunkhouse instead of camping. Izzie was amazing and dealt with all our little issue of who was staying and who was brave enough to camp out, we did mess her around a little but she took it all in her stride and made everyone feel welcome. The bunkhouse is spotless and a very friendly place to stay, a nice cross mix of people from all over the world and all seeming to get along. The old forge is well worth a visit for some amazing food, straight out of the sea and on to your plate. I would recommend anyone to stay here, if nothing else than to meet the lovelly and amazing Izzie.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc2622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

Stayed at bunkhouse prior to walk out to Glenfinnan. Izzie made us very welcome, and the other guests were a good cross section of those who like a busy bank holiday in the hills. Popped into the old forge for food and beer and ended up staying awhile.... a good base from which 'to do knoydart'

Would stay again, - as long as I got the Postman Pat duvet again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piddledrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

atfer a very wet windy ten days on the hills a unexpected delay at inverie( no ferry) and too knackered for the walk out i stayed at the foundation hostel. what a breath off fresh air, well appointed, izzie who is the warden is helpful, friendly and obviously loves the job. inverie is amazing again friendly great community spirit, the forge pub likewise could,nt make you more welcome. and thats without mentioning the isolation and beauty of knoydart itself. greaaaat place, great people. go there. well done the foundation

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostagainScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2008

The Knoydart Foundation Hostel (in Inverie village on the Knoydart penisula, on the west coast of Scotland), is VERY flippin REMOTE... but Knoydart is AMAZING, you should all go, and the Hostel is a cheap and very cheerful of doing so!

The weather up in that part of Scotland is - to be fair - a little bit unpredicable, and even a tad rainy and cold at times... but Knoydart TOTALLY makes up with it with beautiful panoramas, really friendly people, loads of interesting wildlife, a nice little pub, and being SO chilled and quiet.

The Hostel (which is owned by the community) itself is simple, but has everything: full equipped self-catering kitchen, comfy rooms of various sizes (from 2 up to 10), a very cosy lounge with a real fire and GREAT showers (both of which you REALLY appreciate after a long walk), and really helpful staff... all for a bargain-ous £14/night!

I'd add: there were several other (pricier) guesthouses around, which I can't comment on, but which you might want to check out if you're looking for something a bit more upmarket.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse

Address: Knoydart, PH41 4PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Knoydart
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Knoydart
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly and cosy community-owned Bunkhouse on the West Highland coast located on a remote peninsula accessible only by boat or on foot. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing