We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place after the wild cant find a fault!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knoydart
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place after the wild cant find a fault!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend after seven days backpacking in the the surrounding area and found it was utterly amazing. It was warm, cosy, friendly and laid back. The showers were basic but clean and the hot water never seemed to run out.. I did use it for rather a long time!

The kitchen was ample with communal tea and coffee and the lounge area had a good collection of comfy sofas and things to keep you entertained and a wood burner. We were very wet after our time in the wilderness and the drying room did an excellent job.

Its located just off the track that leads into the wilderness so its perfect for anyone coming from Glenfinnan. It is a little way from the peer but its a very nice walk along a flat road and if your not in the area to go walking i'm not entirely sure what your doing there.

A brilliant place in all i couldn't find a fault.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1 which got a bit of noise from the kitchen so maybe chose another
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom0685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoydart-Bunkhouse, Manager at Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be just what you needed after your long walk. We have taken on board your comments about being in the room next to the kitchen; some others have raised the same point - so we have ordered some earplugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
12
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The overall stay in Knoydart was a big disappointment.
We were really excited to discover this wild and remote part of Great Britain, but we didn't really enjoyed it for these reasons: 1) for a place which pretends to be wild there are far too many cars. Considering that there is just one road which crosses Inverie to get to the hostel and other houses, it is quite unbelievable. During the day, there is no silence, but the continuous sound of traffic, exactly what we were trying to escape from 2) the Old Forge Pub is not welcoming at all: we arrived at 7 p.m. and the tables were all empty but all reserved. Luckily enough, we found a ugly corner with no windows to have dinner, because there are no other possibilities to eat something. The place has no atmosphere and the people didn't seem to eager to talk with strangers (I wouldn't be surprised in other countries, but in Scotland we always had a chat with very friendly locals) 3) we wanted to do some trekking, but the information point was unattended and the paths were badly kept. Maybe this is not entirely their fault, because I understand they had some problems with bad weather during the last year, anyway it didn't give us a nice day.
Now, regarding the hostel: it's true, it is quite clean and cosy, the sitting room is nice and full of books (even if the choice could be better), the bathrooms are new and comfortable, and you have linen included, but I think the price is a little bit high, considering that there is no staff during the day and that you have to pay an extra-fee for all the amenities (included the internet connection, that nowadays is free almost everywhere). Last but not least, the walk from the pier is pretty long, if you have bags, and not pleasant at all, due to the traffic I already mentioned, and it can become a nightmare if you find, like us, a heavy rain.
So, I'm really sorry to give such a bad a rating, expecially because I was looking forward to stay at the hostel and after the phone call and the mail exchange with the very nice Izzy I had the best expectations, but this was the worst part of our tour of Scotland (and not the wildest, for sure). It's a shame, because it could really be a little heaven.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bauhaus77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoydart-Bunkhouse, Manager at Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We were sorry to read that your expectations of Knoydart weren’t met during your visit. You mention a number of concerns not directly connected with the Bunkhouse however we can address some of these, taking the opportunity to provide a brief overview for future visitors.
The media often describes Knoydart as ‘wild’, which indeed it is once you leave the main village of Inverie, which is home to around 60 people. Walking in to or out of Knoydart and exploring its many hills and glens is not for the faint-hearted, as many walkers will testify. Visitors often comment that they are surprised how many vehicles are here in the village and whilst use of bicycles and walking is encouraged and supported, sometimes it’s just not practical. Knoydart, with its population of around 110 is a working community with many responsibilities. Between us, we manage 17,000 acres of land including housing, forests, buildings, a hydro-electric system, community-led enterprises (of which the Bunkhouse is one), private businesses, land management and conservation. These responsibilities and others mean that there are times when vehicle use is necessary, whether that be transporting maintenance materials or supplies for visitors’ accommodation and other catering needs, forestry management, hydro maintenance activity or other necessary undertakings. Thankfully there are often times when even the village itself is quiet and this happens even more frequently outside the main visitor season.
A network of woodland paths has been created and is maintained to a level where we try and achieve a balance so that we retain a sense of the natural environment. We also maintain land rover tracks. Other paths are naturally created by those who walk in popular spots. Hillwalking often involves walking in wild areas with no paths where walkers have to guide themselves using maps and compasses. The West Highlands has a notoriously wet climate which can have an effect even on maintained ground, so we always recommend sturdy, waterproof footwear to take this into account.
The Knoydart Foundation has a display room in the village to provide advice for when our ranger isn’t around. For information they are happy to provide advice to anyone visiting Knoydart and can be contacted on 01687 462242 or email rangertommy@knoydart.org or lewis@knoydart.org
We should point out that it is not for us to comment on the private businesses you mention in your review, however we would like to address the points you raise about the Bunkhouse. We consider our rates very carefully to make sure guests get value for their money and it was disappointing to read that you do not feel that this is the case. It’s unfortunate that you did not see a member of staff when there is normally someone around each morning until early afternoon cleaning and again at various points during the day and evening checking guests’ needs and carrying out office duties. The internet is essentially provided free of charge, but we do ask for donations to cover the costs of running it so that we do not have to include this in the price of accommodation. In running the Bunkhouse we have a responsibility to the community as well as our guests and we are always grateful for any feedback, so thank you for bringing these points to our attention and for giving us the opportunity to respond.
We’d welcome feedback from other users regarding their stay at the Bunkhouse, so please take a moment to tell us any thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here overnight while visiting Knoydart by boat.20 min walk from the jetty, so travel light.The walk is pretty along the coast and through the trees-midge repellent advisable.We arrived late from the pub and everyone was asleep.The noise echoes so be aware of those sleeping if you arrive in the wee hours like us. We found beds, clean linen,towels,hairdryer and even a hot water bottle and had a good night's sleep.Showers were hot and clean and kitchen facilities were good also.Bunkhouse was busy with Munro walkers but firendy buzz about the place.Beautiful setting at the foot of the hills with horses in the field etc.I've only ever stayed in one other bunkhouse on Colonsay and in my opinion this was much better.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank anamcara28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoydart-Bunkhouse, Manager at Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for your great review and glad you found the wee treats like the hairdryer and hot water bottles ;-) Can we just add that the walk from the pier is also flat, in case anyone is concerned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our group stayed two nights in the bunkhouse. No fault to find - comfortable beds, all linen supplied, friendly staff, good kitchen and lounge area, great drying room. It's a good 15 minns walk from pub and pier but a lovely walk, beautiful sunsets while we were there. Dog friendly too. Totally recommended.

Room Tip: There are rooms off the kitchen which you may wish to avoid if you worry about noise. But very handy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 248JGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoydart-Bunkhouse, Manager at Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Lovely review, thank you! Room 2 - Meall Buidhe - is indeed next to the kitchen and as we've now had a couple of comments about this, maybe we should consider providing earplugs........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merimbula, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in the Foundations self contained flat. The accommodation had all that we needed including a large bedroom, well equipped kitchen with table and good bathroom. The place was very peaceful and quiet at night although the only gripe we had was the mattresses being slightly on the firm side. The flat was good enough value for a couple but even better value if there are four people that would like to share the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoydart-Bunkhouse, Manager at Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We're glad you found the wee Bunkhouse Flat to your liking and you enjoyed the peace and quiet. It seems our mattresses don't suit everyone then! They are new so it will be a while before they get replaced, but we will certainly consider other ways that we could make them more comfortable for those who prefer a less firm bed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Typical day here: Breakfast in well equipped kitchen, quick chat with friendly staff. Off to the hills to get soaked. Back for a hot shower. Cup of tea by the log burner, clothes drying on the drying lines suspended above. Off to the pub for dinner and a pint. Back to read some of the books/national geographics in the library or to check the mountain forecast on the internet. Go to sleep in a proper bed with decent linen.
All for under £20!
A little way out of the village (10 mins) but its a nice walk under trees/next to Loch Nevis - with the sound of the waves, wind and occasional owl to keep you company.

Room Tip: Avoid the room next to the kitchen if you want to sleep in late..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoydart-Bunkhouse, Manager at Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
So glad you enjoyed your walks between the Bunkhouse and the village and that the local wildlife added to your holiday! Thank you so much for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

This accommodation was fantastic-
Affordable, clean with great facilities. We were part of a large group who walked in 20 miles in one day. The foundation facilities suited us as they had spare food, a lovely lounge with avwood burner with CDs and books and even the Internet!
A great place to stay with friends!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busyjetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoydart-Bunkhouse, Manager at Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
So glad we provided a nice haven after such a big walk! Apologies for the delay in responding to you and thank you for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knoydart
10.8 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.4 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
10.4 mi away
Arisaig House
Arisaig House
#1 of 6 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse

Property: Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse
Address: Knoydart, PH41 4PL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Knoydart
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Knoydart
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, friendly and cosy community-owned Bunkhouse on the West Highland coast located on a remote peninsula accessible only by boat or on foot. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Knoydart Foundation Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing