We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”

Belz Museum of Asian & Judaic Art
Ranked #16 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Admission prices: $6 adult, $5 senior, $4 student. Free if 5 years old or under.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Two magnificent collections,the larger one,Oriental and the smaller one Judiaica.
Well displayed,an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon,or take out of towers.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Orch35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    27
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germantown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A five-star attraction in downtown Memphis”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Anyone who has seen the Belz Museum of Asian and Judaic Art in downtown Memphis has given nothing but rave reviews. It's not uncommon to learn that many visitors return again and again.
I recommend this attraction without hesitation.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjd13us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem tucked away off Main Street”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Today was Downtown Museum Day. A day when many museums across the city of Memphis give free or discounted museum entry. It is a great way to take in a favorite or to find new favorites as in this case.
We enjoy art and are fond of Asian art in particular so we decided to check out the Belz Musem while it was free. The Judiac exhibit was closed for construction but what was open was simply stunning and beautiful. We will definitely be back to take it in again and to see the exhibit we had to miss today.
I was surprised by the sheer size and and variety of pieces they had and the incredible attention to detail in so much of the art was breath taking. It was definitely more than you can fully absorb and take in on one visit.
I am so glad we stumbled across this place today and look forward to returning. My two teens were as enthralled with it as we were but then one is an artist herself and both have been brought up attending museums since before they could walk. Whether your single, married, retired or a couple with or without young adults, this is one you should check out. Not sure this is one for young children.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bookwormwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Memphis”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I love this place. Most Memphians do not know about this spot. The artwork is wonderful. Hard to believe it is part of a private collection.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Itzie4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For adults.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Really beautiful artifacts. Jade, ivory, and silver. Small children wouldn't appreciate. Teens on up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lalees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belz Museum of Asian & Judaic Art also viewed

 

Been to Belz Museum of Asian & Judaic Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing