We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but it fell a little short of expectation for a Hyatt Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria
Ranked #14 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but it fell a little short of expectation for a Hyatt Place”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here Oct. 18-19. In August we had stayed at the Hyatt Place in LA (El Segundo) and loved it. The website seemed to indicate that this one was pretty similar. The very friendly staff greeted us at the front desk and checked us in. Whenever we check into a room, we immediately pull back the covers of the beds to check for anything undesirable. All of the pillows had hair on them. The manager kindly brought up clean pillowcases and changed all of them himself. Overall, the room seemed a little tired and dingy. The towel racks in the bathroom were a little rusty, and the bathroom door looked beaten up. The carpet had a few stains. I guess we were spoiled by the shiny, new Hyatt Place in El Segundo.
On the upside, our room was quiet, and we all slept very well both nights. The rest of the hotel was pretty nice. The complimentary breakfast was excellent, and featured a wide variety of delicious items from cereal and fruit to eggs and sausage.
Overall, this hotel is still a cut above most run-of-the-mill places. I'd give it a 3.5 if I could.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette l, General Manager at Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your experience. I am very sorry there was a situation with the pillows. However, I appreciate Gregg taking care of it immediately. I hope you will come back to stay with us if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    160
    70
    27
    37
See reviews for
240
117
21
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We were in Memphis for business, and we worked all day. The staff always greeted us warmly and wanted to hear what we needed. We had a king suite and were at first worried about it being close to the elevator, but didn't hear noise from it at all. The room was reset daily, and very clean. Convenient location for our business. We saw another companies business conference going on during our stay, but it didn't stress the staff. On one day during our five day stay, we got up for breakfast at the same time as at least one busload of other guests did. The staff had food for all, and still kept their cool.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoManyBeersSoLittle_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette l, General Manager at Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate your business. I hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompson s Station, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We like this hotel. We had been here before and were glad to stay again until we realized shortly after checking out (we were still in Memphis, had to go to another hotel to teach a law seminar) that my husband had left his iPad by the bed in the room. I thought, no problem, I've left things in hotels before no problem. Thus began a bizarre nightmare where the desk clerk claimed the hotel was fully booked and the room full so we couldn't check for the iPad. Also claimed nothing had been found in our room, although at that point she hadn't asked for our name or room number. By the end of it I called the 800 number and confirmed the hotel wasn't fully booked. We went to the hotel and finally were allowed in the (empty) room. Given the circumstances we had decided to wait until we got there to tell them what room we were in, just in case the iPad was maybe not already stolen, and the lovely desk clerk characterized our behavior to her manager as suspicious. Give me a break, I am a lawyer, my husband is a pharmacist, I was 9 months pregnant, the iPad wasn't insured and we just bought another one, this was no half-bit insurance scam on our part despite what the manager insinuated. We waited and made a police report, knowing it was not going anywhere, for the sole purpose of later posting this online so that when someone else gets something stolen there the hotel can't claim that it didn't know its staff had a propensity to steal or that its screening mechanisms for hiring are deficient in that regard. My Tennessee law license bar number is 18235, call me if you need a witness.
Incidentally, the manager said she'd file the claim with their insurer, and I heard nothing for months. This happened in May 2013. I gave birth in June. I followed up in September and it wasn't given to their insurer until October. Gallagher Bassett denied the claim, imagine that.
By the time it was all over I had confirmation that no one but hotel staff had been in the room after we left. 'Nuff said. Call me if you need a witness.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmberGnTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette l, General Manager at Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory response you received from the staff at the hotel as a result of trying to track down the iPad that you indicate was left behind after your checkout. Our housekeeping staff did not turn anything in that was left behind by departing guests. I can assure you I will be using this to retrain our team on how to handle this type of situation. We investigated this matter internally. Unfortunately the tracker feature was not available on the iPad which would have helped tremendously in helping you recover this. We are sorry we failed to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at Hyatt Place! Donta the front desk agent was the most helpful and accommodating to our group. We wanted joint connecting rooms for our stay (there was 8 of us) and he was very active in making sure that we had the rooms we needed. During breakfast Amanda went above and beyond to get my friend something to eat....my friend was slow moving getting to breakfast due to her feeling a little sick. Overall the rooms were clean, the staff was nice and the hotel is located by everything, shopping, eating, and entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette l, General Manager at Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I will pass along the comments to Danta and Amanda. They are great associates and will love the feedback. Please stay with us again if you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I choose this hotel because of its close proximity to our actual destination, which was my wife's sister's home in Cordova, we were here for a wedding. We stayed for a week and we were not disappointed. The room was very nice, it had a separate sleeping and sitting area. The free breakfast was adequate, with all of the usual breakfast items and including several types of egg products. The fitness room had two treadmills which were vacant early in the morning, and the pool was clean and warm. I did have a small incident concerning housekeeping but it was quickly resolved. Every one of the staff was super pleasant. If there was a negative it was that some of the housekeeping staff did not speak english and in order to resolve a problem I had to go through the front desk, but that was very minor. The housekeeping supervisor was on top of everything. I would definitely stay there again, it is a real bargain...

Room Tip: Stay away from the 1st floor rooms by the pool, could be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKWTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette l, General Manager at Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was super impressed with the Hyatt. While it was a bit hard to find at first, it was really close to shops and restaurants which was nice. The pool was well-kept and clean, but it was a little bit small. The lobby was nice, clean, with lots of seating. Breakfast was included in our room and it was well above the standard hotel free breakfast.

The room itself was really spacious. I loved the fact that there was a living room so our son could have a little darkness to go to sleep (in his crib) and we could stay up a bit later. Watching TV would be awkward from the bed, though, TV placement was funny - in between rooms. I liked having a fridge in the room for milk and food for the baby. The separate sink/wet bar made it easy to wash bottles and baby dishes. Service was acceptable. My only complaint is they put us on the "kiddie" floor - no joke - every room on our floor either had children or a dog. People let their children RUN down the hallway making a huge racket at 7:30pm - just when we were trying to get our son to sleep. I didn't complain to the hotel but I should have.

The bed made my back hurt, but all hotels have the same problem for me. It would have been nice if they had central air instead of a unit on the wall.

The price for what we got, though, was EXCELLENT. Would stay here again, although maybe not at Labor Day weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette l, General Manager at Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your busisness and hope to see you again in the near future. We will try to put you on a floor away from kiddies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

we chose this because of the hyatt name but never again. the lobby was beautiful and welcoming. service was splendid. then u get the your room and SHOCK! its old and tired looking. Needs help badly and to top it off the air conditioner did nit work well. we were up and down all night adjusting it as well as it was so noisy. Did not get much rest and we had a 12 hr drive the next day! won't be staying at Hyatt again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathieMae1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette l, General Manager at Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I am so sorry you found our rooms to be in need of renovations. I would welcome more information about your findings. Please feel free to contact me at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
7.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
14.9 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria

Property: Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria
Address: 7905 Giacosa Pl, Memphis, TN 38133-5303
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Memphis
#13 Business Hotel in Memphis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Wolfchase Galleria Hotel Memphis
Hyatt Memphis
Hyatt Place Memphis
Memphis Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing