We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memphis's Roach Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East
Ranked #46 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memphis's Roach Motel”
Reviewed 12 August 2006

This hotel is undergoing a renovation, so it had the new signage and new bedding that the newer Hamptons have, but the bathroom was not done yet, and it still had a slightly undone look to the room. Most importantly, we found a large roach in the bathroom. We told the front desk about it, and they were going to have maintenance do something about it.

Helpful?
3 Thank avcd101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, 28 June 2016
I am so sorry about the issues you encountered back in 2006. We'd love to see you back to show you all our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    114
    107
    74
    47
See reviews for
221
88
41
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2006

Was in Memphis, TN for about a month on business and stayed at 5 different hotels. This one was second only to my Homewood Suites-Germantown stay (and only because Homewood Suites offered an evening meal and a 1 bedroom suite). The bed was exceptional, service was great and the room was very clean. For families with young(er) kids, there was only a shower in my room (king room).
I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HISprisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, 28 June 2016
Thank you! come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
union city, tn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2006

upon arrival we were greated with a very warm and courtious staff that was more than willing to help us with anything that we needed, everything was awsome until we went to bed, and we had a visitor not of this world, that is right a ghost, but the staff, did acknowledge that there was a ghost, and were sorry about us being frightend, and compensated us a future stay with any hampton but i have and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hackjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, 28 June 2016
Thank you! come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2005

Excellent hotel where you are treated like a VIP...Desk staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home...Loved the "goody bag" you are given each morning...Very good complimentary breakfast and 24 hour coffee....
Excellent value for your dollar...Wouldn't stay anywhere else...

  • Stayed April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xchf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, 28 June 2016
Thank you! come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 April 2003

This hotel is great!! The staff is more than accommodating...they go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and safe. We were in town to visit the hospital, as I was scheduled to have surgery. The staff made sure I had extra pillows in the room post surgery, didn't even have to ask for them. They always asked if we needed anything and how I was doing. They really have a desire to please their customers. WOW...I would recommend them to anyone visiting Memphis. They are conveniently located to all areas of the city.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East, responded to this review, 28 June 2016
Thank you! come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#21 of 136 in Memphis
702 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
1.8 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#27 of 136 in Memphis
964 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East

Property: Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East
Address: 33 Humphreys Center Dr, Memphis, TN 38120-2335
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East hotel is next to the Memphis business district & has free hot breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. Take the complimentary shuttle service to The Baptist Memorial Hospital or discover great shopping at one of the nearby malls. Explore Shelby Farms or visit Beale Street, Graceland, and Sun Studios just a few miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing