We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memphis Zoo”
Review of Memphis Zoo

Memphis Zoo
Ranked #4 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YaYa, a female Giant Panda that calls the Memphis Zoo home, enjoys a sunny day.
Wadsworth, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Memphis Zoo”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I went to the zoo on a hot day in July, yet all the animals were active and present. It was clean and well kept. We were able to see an animal in just about every exhibit. It was a great zoo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,038
    611
    133
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Memphis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best zoos in the U.S.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The attractions at this zoo are diverse and awesome. You can eat a hamburger and watch the monkeys play out of the window. You can visit Teton Trek and see Wolves, Bears, and swimming Polar Bears. Teton Trek has a splash pad and waterfall. The Panda exhibit is awesome too. For a small price, you can feed giraffes at certain times of day. There is a petting zoo with rides. Soooo many things go on at the zoo throughout the year. It's great to visit anytime!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KGarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“July4- Family Zoo trip”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family spent July 4th at the Memphis Zoo, Tn. It was a summer day (low 80's) with no humidity. We took our time walking the entire zoo which took around 4 hours. We saw penguins, amazing night animals from Australia, kimodo dragons, panda bears, and plenty more!
My two grandsons (age 3), loved every minute. We certainly enjoyed the open spaces and how each area was arranged in natural settings to see all the animals.
The zoo train was lots of fun for our toddlers to see the farm animals and chance to relax.
We definitely would recommend coming to this zoo.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun & interactive zoo”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wow, this zoo is fun! Located within a residential/college area (pretty surroundings).

$5 parking fee for non-members.

My kids loved the feeding interaction w/ birds (you buy some seeds attached to a stick and birds land on the stick you are carrying to eat the seeds---lots of cute photo opportunities).

When we went early in the morning, all the wild cats were out and about (and they had a lot of varieties).

We enjoyed watching the zookeepers hand feed and interact w/ the penguins. The penguins' personalities were cute and interesting.

There is a petting zoo with farm animals. We saw lots of wild hummingbirds in this part of the zoo.

All in all, this zoo is one of the best ones we've been to.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fun stop in Memphis”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We were 3 families with young children visiting Oxford, MS. We decided to take our kids to the Memphis Zoo for the day to allow the kids to burn some steam off. The exhibits were great and they were expanding even more. The staff was pleasant and the place was very clean. Will go again the next time we are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank NicoleA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memphis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing