We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sewer stench on 4th floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
Ranked #62 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sewer stench on 4th floor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We got a room on the 4th floor. The whole floor smelled of wastewater. The room reeked of sewage stench apparently coming from the bath drain. Other than that the room was clean. We then switched to the 3rd floor and it was fine. Friendly staff. Breakfast was passable at best. Better go to IHOP right next door.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    41
    43
    13
    16
See reviews for
54
36
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because my husband had a flight at the airport and this was close. The room was large and cleaned. The pool both nights had no clean towels. The internet stated that they had a shuttle to take guest to airport. Which they do not do anymore! ! It also states a restaurant for breakfast with room key. Actually it was not a restaurant it was just a breakfast bar with lots of tables. We probably never go back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SavedByGrace09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel has very cheap rates through booking.com or their website. However, it is only satisfactory. I would not bring my family for a week long vacation. But for an overnight stop and for the value, it is okay. Otherwise, it has a lot of wear and tear, and not the top cleanliness i prefer. I have stayed here one other time, and it seems empty/no customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

When this was a Hampton Inn, it was great. Staff was great @ front desk - the best. Housekeeping was quite overwhelmed in getting rooms ready by check-in or stay over, a lot of times it was late in the PM. However, they do have 1 housekeeper on-site 24/7 as they had railcrews checking in all hours of day and nite and had 2 get those rooms ready 4 the next crews! BNSF railway is nearby on 78 & Perkins. I think they have airline personnel coming and going 2.

Pool was great. Fitness room has new equipment.

Flo was great at breakfast.

Gate is closed adjacent to IHOP. This is for a reson.....armed robbery suspect ran threw the gate from IHOP. He was apprehended by on-site, armed security. Also, Memphis Police frequent the lobby 4 restroom, catching up on their paperwork, plus eating free breakfast!!!!!

Room Tip: Area is rundown. Near the closed "Mall of Memphis".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeaveIt2Beaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, MS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I booked this for our vacation in Memphis, under the impression that it was a Hampton Inn. When we arrived, it was very clear that Hampton had disaffiliated with this hotel, as all signs and anything bearing its moniker had been removed. The only thing marking the new name of the hotel was a small plastic yard sign at one entrance. In our opinion, the hotel quality was poor, and not at all what we were expecting based on reviews. Everything in our room was scratched and worn, and the TV guide was "in progress" meaning there were no available channels to watch. When we went down for breakfast in the morning, the only options they had available were white bread for toasting, biscuits, and plain bagels. No variety like fruits, yogurt, or cereal options. We were VERY unimpressed with the overall services we received and felt like we had been deceived in booking this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cww105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I stay here a lot for work just off 240. Easy on off to interstate the rooms are clean and nice I usually stay on 3rd or 5th floor people are very friendly. Price is just right few restaurant around close by. Just a hotel I'll continue to stay at

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tnguy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights during a holiday which was primarily to visit Nashville, but as we had a rental car, we thought it would be worth the time to visit Memphis as well. FYI, Memphis is about a three and a half hour drive west of Nashville, and it's freeway all the way.

The Inn at Thousand Oaks was a Hampton Inn until about December last year. It is in the process of being 'rebadged' as a Holiday Inn at the moment. And there lies the problem. You immediately get the impresssion that the property is starved of funds and is operating on minimal staffing. For example, if housekeeping gets to your room fairly early in the morning and you have the 'Do Not Disturb' sign in place, they will just cross you off the list as inaccessible and you miss the service for the day. They won't be coming back later! We also reported the ice machine on our floor was not working on the Sunday night and it was still not fixed when we left on Wednesday morning.

Have to say that the best staff member we found was Darius on the front desk. He was extremely helpful with directions and information. Other staff members seemed generally disinterested in their jobs.

A few people have commented that this is not a very good area of Memphis, but we had no problems at all and felt very safe. The car park was well lit and seemed secure. The location is great for access onto the I-240 so it's easy to get to downtown, Graceland and the bigger shopping malls, as well as back to Nashville.

Now, a couple of good things....the bed (king size) was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The room air conditioner which is one of those 'through the window' types worked really well and was one of the quietest that we have come across; we were able to leave it on all night without being disturbed and we are fairly light sleepers.

The breakfast, which was included, was alright if fairly basic, and is served on styrofoam plates which is disappointing. Also, breakfast finishes at 9.30 but you find the attendant starting to clear away the food way before that time. If you are having a late night in Beale Street, better have an alternative breakfast plan (MacDonalds is about about two miles south on Perkins Street, or there is an IHOP next door).

Would we stay here again? Maybe, once the rebadging is complete and some funds get injected into the place. Meanwhile, there are plenty of alternatives in the price range.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the lift lobby as this is also where the ice machine and vending machines ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
#60 of 136 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
6.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis
Candlewood Suites Memphis
#54 of 136 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis I-240 & Perkins
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240

Property: Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
Address: 2700 South Perkins Road, Memphis, TN 38118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from historic Downtown Memphis, Graceland, Oak Court Mall, world famous BBQ restaruants, and the Memphis international Airport sits the Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240 located off of I-240 at Perkins. Southern hospitality awaits your family reunion, business needs, sporting team, and out of town friends/family. We love having you here! We offer 130 rooms with Kings or 2 Doubles. Each morning our friendly breakfast staff prepares a fresh, hot breakfast to help kick-start your day. We look forward to your upcoming visit and hope to see you soon in Memphis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis-i-240 At Thousand Oaks Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis-i-240 At 1000 Oaks
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing