We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
Ranked #33 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Surprise, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed two nights to sightsee while traveling across country. The hotel is older but appears to have been updated. Beds are great and the room was very clean. Every staff member we encountered went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The front desk staff was very friendly (especially Kim) and helpful with suggestions for seeing Memphis and directions. We had a burned out light which was fixed shortly after we told the front desk even though it was late in the day when maintenance people are typically gone in most hotels. They offer little extras not seen in all other Hamptons such as snacks around 5 and cookies for desert. The hotel is located in a very nice residential area, close to many restaurants and easy access to the freeways. Easy to reach Graceland and downtown Memphis. Exercise room is small as is the business center but satisfactory. The breakfast is typical Hampton (very inclusive) and was well attended. This Hampton recognizes Hilton Honors Gold & Diamond members which is not always the case at Hamptons. We would definitely stay again when in the Memphis area.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from dumpsters as they are empties at 5 a.m and very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murraygirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Murraygirl29 - Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We know that you have many choices when traveling and are pleased that you selected our hotel. Should your travels bring you back to the Memphis area, we hope to be your hotel of choice again! UPDATE...the hotel will be starting a renovation project in August 2013 which will definitely give us a fresh new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    80
    58
    31
    18
See reviews for
89
55
15
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel was very conviently located off the interstate. As always with Hampton, it had the great rooms and complimentary breakfast. Breakfast was standard. The other guests were very noisey as there was a family reunion and baseball tourament groups staying there. Very safe for Memphis.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Donna S - Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Based on your review it is my understanding that you were satisfied with our hotel, however we did not exceed your expectations. Please know that we do our best with extra staffing and security to patrol the hallways when we expect there to be a lot of activity during busy weekends but obviously we could have done a better job during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have endured and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

A year ago a group formed on Facebook for Bus Operators all over the world. Well the person who put the group together decided to bring us all together in one place and unite. So we decided to have the first reunion in Memphis and what better month to do it than May. He booked this hotel for us and he couldn't have picked a better place. The location was great, the staff was very friendly....always greeted us upon entering and exiting. We arrived a way before check-in but to our surprise they had a room available for us. The breakfast was always ready on time and very good. Our room was cleaned each and everyday. What more can I say I would recommend a stay at this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetreat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Sweetreat31 - Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are please that Memphis was selected as the first city in your groups Inaugural reunion trip and are even more excited that our hotel made the cut. We know that you have many choices when traveling and are pleased that you selected our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed at the Southwind/Memphis 3 nights. We were there for a Dizzy Dean World Series. The hotel is very clean and has service. Complementary breakfast had a great selection every morning. Waffles, breakfast burritos, oatmeal, etc. The staff at the hotel is very helpful and cordial, from the front desk staff to the housekeepers. Will definitely stay here again. Also Germantown Commissary BBQ is just a couple miles from the hotel. Some of the best BBQ that Memphis area has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
David H - Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We know that you have many choices when traveling and are pleased that you selected our hotel. Should your travels bring you back to the Memphis area, we hope to be your hotel of choice again! On a side note...I completely agree with you - Germantown Commissary has some of the best BBQ for sure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable. Could use a little updating. The beds are very comfortable and excellent breakfast. The only problem that was experienced was that the requested wake up call did not happen in my room or the room of my travel partner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Michael I - Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that you and your colleague did not receive your requested wake up calls and will definitely address this situation with our team. We know that you have many choices when traveling and are pleased that you selected our hotel. Should your travels bring you back to the Memphis area, we hope to be your hotel of choice again! UPDATE...the hotel will be starting a renovation project soon so we hope you will visit again and see the finished product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
collierville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Staff is great. Located by COSTCO! Easy access to Collierville and/or Memphis. Great breakfast selection. Clean rooms. We would stay at again and again! Exercise room was clean and convenient. We always felt safe. Internet access was fast and easy to access.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Patricia D - Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We know that you have many choices when traveling and are pleased that you selected our hotel. Should your travels bring you back to the Memphis area, we hope to be your hotel of choice again and again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

i came here for business, and my company booked me this hotel....i wanted to stay in the downtown area, but the rooms weren't available. But anywho it was like any other hampton inn ive stayed at, friendly staff and breakfast was the same ole same ole youd expect at the next Hampton, nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ogm22, General Manager at Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Barry R - Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and are always striving to be above average in the eyes of our guests so I would like to solicit a bit more information from you to let us know how we could have exceeded your expectations instead of just being average. I welcome your feedback in order to improve and grow. My contact information is odette.mckenzie@hilton.com or 901.758.5018.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
1.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#19 of 138 in Memphis
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Walnut Grove/Baptist Hospital East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind

Property: Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
Address: 3579 Hacks Cross Rd, Memphis, TN 38125-8803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Memphis-Southwind hotel. Our welcoming hotel is situated near historic Germantown and Collierville districts and near a variety of excellent golfing, entertainment, and shopping opportunities. The TPC at Southwind hosts one of the oldest tournaments on the PGA Tour – the Stanford St. Jude Championship. Spend an afternoon shopping at Collierville's Carriage Crossing Mall. Entertain the family at Memphis Zoo or the Riverside International Speedway. Discover the history of the civil rights movement at the National Civil Rights Museum. From shopping to sightseeing, museums to musicals, Memphis has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind Hotel Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing