We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Ranked #5 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I don't get the reviews on this hotel. It makes me worry about trip advisor ratings, this is why I am an avid reviewer so that others can get a good idea of what these hotels are like. It seems Hampton Inns can go either was these days. This hotel had a very nice lobby but the room was awful. The carpet was dated and dirty, the bed like a rock and there was a definite smell to the room like a bad deodorizer. This reservation was made at the last minute and the hotel seemed full but still, it was not worth even half what we paid. The air conditioner was loud. The only good part was the breakfast and the location was great with many restaurants nearby. We where happy to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KathyG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in several Hampton Inn's and this has been my favorite to date. The entire hotel is very clean! Excellent breakfast setup. The shower pressure could be stronger but I love a shower that hurts :-)

Quick and easy access to the freeways and Poplar Avenue for a more direct drive downtown.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jillsousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Many times, the staff is the difference in the quality of your stay no matter what the quality of the hotel is. Fortunately, not only was this a nice hotel to stay at, but the staff was very open and warm. Everyone I happened to speak to, and every staff member I passed greeted me, was very nice. It made me feel really good about my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Reginald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I had problems with the heating system in the bedroom but maintenance was quick to address the problem. Staff was very nice and professional. Room was very clean and complimentary breakfast was great and had a variety of everything. Hotel was close to restaurants and interstate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I use this hotel every time I travel to Memphis on business. I find it very comfortable and clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a quality hotel at a reasonable rate. The free breakfast could have a few more items of choice on it, but it's still a big step up from those hotels that just offer a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank dawnw695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were in Memphis for a wedding which entailed four separate events. The Hampton Inn on Shady Grove was centrally located and provided a great place to stay. The rooms are large and modern and the bedding was excellent making for a good night's rest. The staff was most helpful and were very friendly and accommodating. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColonelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Looks brand new, very nice lobby and rooms (dark wood, nice pillows and bed). Fitness room (running elliptical seated bike + free weights and bench) and swimming pool. Close to Best Buy, big Target and food options. Nice area. 15 mins to Graceland by car. Best ever breakfast: bagels, waffles, muffin, croissant, marbré fresh fruit salad and fruits. Meat and cheese eggs.
One of the best hotels on our 3000 miles roadtrip.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cmdpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#22 of 138 in Memphis
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#28 of 138 in Memphis
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road

Address: 962 Shady Grove Rd S, Memphis, TN 38120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#10 Business Hotel in Memphis
#11 Family Hotel in Memphis
#14 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £80 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access from Interstate 240 exit 15, East Poplar Ave, third light turn left. Located close to Memphis attractions including Germantown, Cordova, Bartlett and Collierville, TN locations. Stay for a weekend, sporting event or for business. Regardless of the reason you're here, we are glad that you are here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing