We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but great shuttle service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average hotel but great shuttle service”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in June for my dads 60th birthday treat and the hotel was ok but quite basic to what I'm used too. Luckily it was clean we did have one day where they had run out of clean towels and was struggling to get hold of them but sorted after chasing three times and then was inundated with towels. The service was good and enjoyed the managers reception in the bar on the Wednesday night but found it odd that no manager was present. The pool was nice but the sun beds were broken and too few of them to go around. The best thing about this place was the shuttle service that would take you and pick you up from downtown. Would prefer to have stayed closer to Beale street but the shuttle did make up for that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are pleased you enjoy the shuttle to Beale Street. I am sorry for the inconvenience about running out of towels during your stay. The comments we receive will help us to target the problem area and will help us improve our next guest visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    363
    302
    122
    81
See reviews for
250
419
47
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The room was clean which was most important but it was very obvious that it is an old hotel. The bed was way more comfortable than most which was awesome. My only complaint about the room was that there was no refrigerator or microwave. That's just unacceptable and unless they change that I will not stay again. It should be a given at a Crowne Plaza. The bar and bar tender were great. I had a few before heading out to dinner and I found the prices reasonable and the drinks good. The staff was fantastic all around.

Room Tip: I was told they were renovating rooms on the upper floor. Once they are done I would recommend tryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for review our property. Please accept our apologies for the condition of the hotel during your stay. We will let the management team know about the comments on the extra amenities you will like us to provide in the rooms. We hope you will give us a second chance to make you stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My sister and I planned a weekend getaway for our mom's birthday, we live in Chicago. We decided a quick drive to Memphis would be sufficient. We made reservations for the Crowne Plaza on 2nd Street, downtown Memphis. Upon our arrival it was plush, southern hospitality. Tameka at the front desk, the girl rocks. She had a lobby full of patrons all wanting rooms and she was a cool breeze, absolutely professional and positive. Our room attendant was super polite but she would speak with such happiness and joy. I hate that I can't remember her name but it starts with a J. Shout out to you Miss J. Also, let me not forget to mention that they have awesome concierge and valet services. I would recommend this hotel over and over. True Southern Hospitality. Thank you Crowne for making our stay wonderful in Memphis.

Ms. Natalia Wright

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. We appreciated your great comments. We are glad that our team members give you understanding southern hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

No one knows the right with fi password, there was no menu in the room and when I asked for one I was told to see the menu in the bar. That's funny, because I had just left there and they no longer carried a significant portion of the items on that menu.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the review. Please accept sincere apologies that our staff was not properly trained doing your stay with us. The service was unacceptable that you receive. We will take the time out to retrain our staff. We will make the necessary changes so this will not happen in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The service is good. The workers are friendly. The hotel is in need of major renovations. At night in bed, the mildew smell was nasty. The air conditioner system is a thermostat on the wall and a window floor unit. We were either cold or hot. The carpet look thread-bare.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinebow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We love to hear about good service the staff provide you doing your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for smell and the conditioner in your room. We will share the comments with our engineering department and management team. We hope you will stay with us in the future to show you that we can make your stay outstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Il
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel while attending a conference. Front desk was very very friendly. hotel provided courtesy shuttle to Beale St. The drive was very friendly and helpful. He suggested several of his favorite places to eat. Hotel provided complementary water, coffee, lemonade and cookies throughout the day. had a restaurant on-site but I didn't end up eating there. Close to main street and the convention center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments on our staff great service. We hope your company will choose us for their next conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Priceline set me up! I purchased a room for one night via Priceline. You select a location, star rating, and a price; then, Priceline books the room for you. Never again!!

The exterior was very dated, dingy, and unwelcoming. But, I'm not sleeping outside, so who cares. The lobby was they same. If We had not already purchased the room for the night, we would have left.

The room had an off putting odor, stained linens, and Mosquitos. Are you kidding me!?!

Needless to say, that completely paid for room remained vacant that night. As we exited though the lobby moments later with all of our belongings. The clerk apologized and offered us another room on the 10th floor. It was better (no odor) but in the end we elected to forfeit our money and spend the night at the local holiday inn.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Najjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously. Please accept our sincere apology about the condition of the hotel and the mosquitos. We will share these issues with our Management team to make the necessary improvements.
While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make you next stay as best as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
1.0 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 N 2nd St, Memphis, TN 38105-2614 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing