We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Downtown Memphis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn at Court Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Ranked #11 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location in Downtown Memphis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Well appointed good value hotel in the heart of Downtown Memphis. My experience was that it is better to travel Graceland and stay downtown than stay near Graceland. Reasonable breakfast and very helpful staff

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us! Your comments have been shared with the staff and are appreciated. We hope you will stay with us again, the next time you are in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    373
    99
    15
    11
See reviews for
99
418
44
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Step outside the door and the trolley (both the riverside loop and main street run) is right there for you to take whenever you want (have exact change of $1.00 or a pass). We considered a hotel closer to Beale Street but, after reading Trip Advisor, we decided on this location. The savings were substantial for our 4 day stay and even the parking fee was cheaper by $3 a day. The location is great for walking to the downtown, even though a couple blocks further than we originally investigated. The room was small but had all the amenities, including desk, microwave, refrigerator, wifi. I always appreciate cleanliness and bathroom layout of the sink separate from the toilet and shower and our room met both criteria. The breakfast was traditional but above average, including some hot items (scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles) and fresh fruit (oranges, bananas and apples) but with only one staff person assigned for the volume of people coming through in the mornings, she had trouble keeping the counters clean and items filled. Parking was available in the lot right outside the hotel and, if the lot is filled, valet parking for the same daily fee is offered. I learned that my iphone was erasing my door key when I put them together in my pocket but not until the 3rd time that I had to rekey did a staff member tell me. We would consider this location in future visits to Memphis.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, better ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and review of your stay while in Memphis! We take all comments to heart and use the information to help us improve our service to our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent location/service/room/food. Close to all central locations and really pleasant room and decor. Felt safe throughout, despite the crazy reviews on here. Stay here, good price and excellent service

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay with us, they are appreciated! Your comments have been shared witht the staff, and we look forward to having you stay with us again when you visit Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel was in a great location. We walked down to Beale street every evening to listen to the music. The trolley also ran right outside the door.The hotel needed updating; the carpeting was dirty and worn and the bathroom was not in tip-top shape. The breakfast buffet was very good. They had a number of items to choose from and it was kept well-stocked. The hotel actually sits back from the street, so it is kind of hard to see from the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaWalkingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay with us. I appreciate your observation of the carpet, as we have recently had the carpets professionaly cleaned. Your comments have been shared with the rest of the staff, who appreciate hearing how they are doing with the service they provide. We look forward to having you stay with us again, the next time your travels bring you to Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked two separate nights at this hotel. The positives were the hotel is easy to access from the I40, there is easy parking adjacent to the hotel (make sure you arrive early), room costs are reasonable for Memphis and the hotel is brilliantly located for all local sites and the trolley bus which stops at the front of the building.

Unfortunately whist we stayed at the hotel, we were subjected to a room telephone scam and this unsettled us. We reported the incident to the receptionist on duty shortly after it occurred but although they were apologetic no one seemed to verify if the caller was external and so accessed our room via the front desk or more worryingly if they were inside the hotel. We have now looked into this incident more ourselves and find out that the issue has been reported in the media and is well known.

We moved rooms the next day to a quiet room on the ground floor and had a relaxing and safe stay from then. We would recommend that the hotel address this issue to ensure that they tighten up on their security and staff training.

The hotel is well appointed and we had both a king suite and a standard king room. These were both comfortable with great beds and we loved the wide stand in showers.

We did enjoy our stay at this hotel and would recommend the hotel but we are now unfortunately more wary travellers.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the car park on a high floor and it was noisy from both vehicle traffic and foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kippine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We have addressed the telephone issue as a part of our ongoing training and security with not only the Front Desk staff, but with the entire hotel staff as well. I am glad we were able to move you into another room and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Memphis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynolds, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Did anyone stay here who attended the Memphis Gospel Quartet Show in June? We will be attending the show in June, 2014 and are considering staying here instead of The Sheraton. My only concerning, after reading these good reviews, is how far is it to the Convention Center where the Gospel Quartet Show is held? If you stayed here and attend please let me hear your comments. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are walking distance of about 4 blocks from the Convention Center as well as on the Trolley Line, which picks up in front of the hotel, and will drop you off at the Convention Center. Fare is $1 per person each way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campobello, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband passed away in March and my daughter and I really needed to get away. The city of Memphis and the Sleep Inn at Court Square were just what we needed. We were in town for 3 nights. All of the attractions were easy to access, especially with the help of Shannon on the front desk who had directions to everything we wanted to see at her fingertips. This was really one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. If another trip is planned for Memphis, we will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Either side is good. Parks on both sides. We had a corner room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmsleepinnmemphis, General Manager at Sleep Inn at Court Square, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words and comments! The entire staff appreciate your comments and are glad that they were able to help you enjoy your time in Memphis with your daughter. We hope to have you stay with us again, the next time your in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn at Court Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn at Court Square

Property: Sleep Inn at Court Square
Address: 40 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#13 Family Hotel in Memphis
#18 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn at Court Square 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn at Court Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn At Court Square Hotel Memphis
Sleep Inn Court Square
Sleep Inn Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing