We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was much better”
Review of Guest Inn

Guest Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest Inn
Ranked #118 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 17 July 2007

I have noticed a vast improvement in this hotel since the hotel has undergone new ownership and is now under new management. The new renovations that have been made so far are a very big improvement just from when i drove in the hotel the landscaping was one of the first things that i noticed and the staff are a wonderful and respectful bunch of people that seem like they understand what us as a person would like. I think that this hotel is on its way to become a very wonderful and peaceful place to stay.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank jasonbelthazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2006

Lamps in my room didn't work. Black mould on my shower curtain. Dirty rugs, walls, sink, bathtub. No TV remote control, and the motel took two days to find one. Locks on some rooms won't work. I had to ask for pillowcases (as did other guests). The lights in the laundry room were out for days on end. Missing fire extinguisher. No functioning ice machine--none when I came, none when I left, and reports of its having been out for a good long time. The hotel will, however, suit guests interested in entomology or in professional provisioners of affection by the hour. More than one guest, in my presence at the front desk, asked for a refund owing to room conditions--refused, with reference to a crude sign posted: "Guest Inns does not give refunds for ANY reason." There are, clearly, reasons. Daily "room service" over my much regretted five-day stay was the poorest I have seen in 35 years of travelling. No one with children should stay here. Front desk staff were accommodating as they knew how to be, but clearly embarrassed to be working for Olshai, Inc., the company wich runs this property. That company appears to represent itself and its franchisor with an attitude pervasively expressing what we DO NOT do, rather than what we do for guests. So astonishingly tightwad is this establishment that one may be asked, says a sign at the coffee-and-doughnuts "continental breakfast," to curb one's coffee intake; normally a three-cup man, myself, I found that half a cup of the hideous substance completely sated me. Ask for a couple of plastic cups for your room,you might be told, as I was, "These cost money, you know." I have never encountered an establishment more "unclear on the concept" of running a motel. It is unclear to me why Guest Inns would permit its signage to hang on this property. Guest Inns should investigate their franchisee straight away. This WOULD be quite a good motel, were it run with an eye to customer service. But that eye is presently quite blind. There are other decent inexpensive motels in the Memphis area. Go there. Pass by the Guest Inn on Summer Avenue without a thought.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank JimmytheFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Knoxville, TN
11
Reviewed 11 May 2006

It wasn't the fact that there was no microwave, coffee, hairdryer, ice (had to buy from Waffle House next door), clock, refrigerator, etc. that bothered me so much. It was just the general cleanliness, undrinkable water, old dirty bedding, and the 4 roaches that I had to kill that bothered me the most. And then the fact that they have an "absolutely no refund" policy. This motel should close its doors until the standards of the place can be improved.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Girard, PA
1
Reviewed 20 April 2006

Found smashed bugs on the walls, holes in the pillow cases, dirty beds, dirty bathroom and dirty carpet. Went to get a refund, but they have a no refund policy. Now I see why. We recommended cleaning the room with the money they took from us. We went down the road to the next exit and found a nice Motel

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2004

After a grueling four hour flight to Memphis, I arrived at the Guest Inn at 11:30 p.m. only to find that they had given away my guaranteed reservation. Of course, there was a major convention in town, and there was not a room to be found. After treating me as if I had done something wrong (even though I had a printed confirmation number in hand), the clerk behind the desk tried to find one last room. I should never have taken it--especially after she said that she didn't like putting single women traveling alone on that side of the building. As the clerk handed me the key she said, "Whatever you hear, whatever happens outside your door, do not answer it!" I kid you not! With those words ringing in my ear, and a deep case of buyer's regret--I ended up in a room that was filthy, did not have a proper running toilet, and I was entertained by the truckers, bikers and prostitutes arguing outside in the parking lot all night. What really disturbed me was that I heard a child crying and arguing with adults. I slept with one eye open and a cell phone in my hand. This is no place for for families. Stay away!

14  Thank Townfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
9.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,329 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
10.6 mi away
The Guest House at Graceland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
9.5 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn

Address: 5225 Summer Ave., Memphis, TN 38122
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pet friendly hotel with a prime location off of Summer Avenue, HWY 240 and I-40 exit 12A. Rooms come equipped with a flat screen TV with Laundry facilities on site. Located within walking distance of the Immigration Office and drive-in theater. Great nightly and weekly rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing