We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Chose to stay at this hotel on business trips to the area to build up my SPG points and status. Kept coming back because it is a pleasant hotel for short stays. I had been concerned about road noise interrupting sleep but that hasn't turned out to be an issue. The rooms are clean enough with modern furnishings. Most importantly, the free internet doesn't get overly bogged down in the evening.

They do have a hot breakfast in the lobby with options for a low carb start to your day. Nice place and a very nice staff.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank TonyO_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortney O, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Hi TonyO_ATL!
Guests like you who travel to the area regularly for business are our bread and butter, so the fact that you have enjoyed our hotel to come back again and again is a big deal to us! It’s especially great to get feedback from our frequent guests about the road noise or lack of it. I hope you are earning your way to the upper echelons of Starwood Preferred Guest status and racking up the points. I’m sure you will be happy to hear that our internet will be getting even faster soon, as we will be upgrading our bandwith. And you will have even more opportunity to increase your points during your stays with the Make a Green Choice program, which lets you earn an extra 250 points per night! Thanks again, Tony, for taking the time to write. We look forward to seeing you in January!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Used SPG Cash & Points to get a great rate.One of the very few hotels that lets you use such low points. Everything was just right! The room was huge!, clean , modern and quiet!! I had a king size and man did I feel like royal...lol. The free wi-fi was great, no issues with that! I highly recommend! If I am ever in that area again, I would absolutely stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortney O, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Lucea27, I am so glad you are so enthusiastic about your time with us, particularly as one of our Starwood Preferred Guests! It’s great you found everything to be “just right” because that is what Four Points strives to be. Cleanliness, quiet, and making as much as we can easy on you, right down to the free wi-fi, are very important to us. We work hard in the hopes that everyone who checks into our hotel has the same great experience you had. I’m sure it goes without saying that if you are ever in the area again, we would love to have you back! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Entrance is clean with a modern look. Rooms are ship shape, little touches like free water in the fridge are nice. There's a nice restaurant in the parking lot. Otherwise you need a car to traverse to other locations. The hotel is surrounded by four lane highways.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vmo2OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortney O, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Thanks, Vmo2OM! We’re all glad you appreciated the pride we take in our property and the energy we put into keeping it looking its best. The Free Stuff in the rooms and the in the lobby are another part of the Four Points experience that we hope will bring you back. We are also very proud to have the River Oaks as our dining partner as they do an excellent job with lunch, dinner, and in-room dining. And you’re right; we agree that travelling by car is the best way for guests to get around the Memphis area. Thanks again, Vmo2OM, for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

We got to the hotel and the lady that checked us in acted like we were an inconvenience to check us in. When we got to our room on the second floor we found out that the curtains would not close. They stopped with a 3 foot gap in the middle. When I took a shower there was no plastic curtain in the shower so water went all over the floor. Another bothersome thing was that when the man in the room next to ours used the rest room we heard all of his business. The final straw of annoyance is the fact that there are highways on two sides of the hotel so we were up late hearing the horns and screeching tires outside.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuvok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortney O, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

It seems as though our initial interaction with you turned you off and set you up to be disappointed throughout your stay. For this, I am truly sorry. All our associates are trained to understand that what happens when you first walk through our doors can be the most important part of the stay. It is hard to recover when the first impression we give is a poor one. Even though we encourage all our guests to let us know how things are going during their stays so that we can make them as comfortable as possible, I am sure you felt that interacting with our staff again would have been unpleasant or unfruitful.

Again, I am terribly sorry. I would like to take the time to address the other aspects of your stay, however. I won’t make excuses for your experience. But I would like to educate any potential guests who may read your post about what I think our staff could have resolved easily for you if we had established a better relationship during your check-in.

First, each of our showers features a single shower curtain. It is vinyl and is intended to remain inside the tub even though, for the purpose of presentation, it is positioned outside the tub when you arrive.

Next, the outside curtains on the windows are decorative, and, as they are floor length, do not close to allow room for the A/C unit. The interior curtains, the ones closest to the windows, are sheers and do close all the way. There is a third set of curtains between these two which are not always immediately visible because the outside curtains are so large. These are the blackout drapes, which also close completely and can be drawn with the attached pull bars.

Lastly, we appreciate that there are times when the neighboring environment can be louder than we’d like. In those cases, we are more than happy to assist any way we can, including relocating a guest to a room he or she might find more suitable if necessary.

I do apologize for the less than stellar experience and trouble. Requests for assistance with the items in your room, while not exactly common, are not out of the ordinary, either. It saddens me that, because of the start we got off to, we lost the opportunity to make your stay with us all it could have been.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

For 2 consecutive days I did not get hot water in the morning and the rooms were smoky and made my stay quite uncomfortable. I travel regularly to memphis and this incident made me switch hotels to a different brand.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bala_tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentHanna, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Bala_tk, I’m so sorry to hear about your experience with us! Hot water is so basic, and we really hate that anyone had to go without it for even a short time. I hope you did report this while you were with us, as we really do welcome and encourage feedback here at the hotel level. In many cases that feedback is the only thing that allows us to make corrections when inevitable problems arise. Earlier in November we had a new water heater installed at the hotel, and it did have an intermittently occurring defect. However it was only because of the feedback and patience of our guests that we were able track down the timing of the problem and provide the data our service provider needed to resolve it in a timely fashion. We are happy to report that we have had no trouble since then! We’d like to say thank you to all our guests who helped out by letting us know the specific times they were having trouble and stuck with us through the repair. We couldn’t have done it without you. (And believe me, we tried. Sitting a basement for three hours each morning watching an instrument panel is no fun!) Again, Bala, please accept our sincere apologies. I hope you will give us another try in the future, as we would love to have you back. Contact us directly should you decide you’d like to return, and we can be sure your room has been recently “ozoned.” This is a standard procedure we use to effectively eliminate residual smoke smell from previous guests who have violated our no smoking policy. But we will double check your room so you don't have the same poor experience twice. In any case, thanks for submitting your review, and happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Hotel is clean and comfortable and the fitness room is surprisingly good. Location is good too, although the roads surrounding the hotel are a little awkward to navigate. the other minus is that the beds in our room were double, not queen, but the wi-fi works great. I had stayed here three years ago before it was a Sheraton Four Points and was disappointed that they charge for the breakfast now ($5 for continental and $10for hot breakfast). My advice would be to skip their breakfast and head to the Panera across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank swhchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentHanna, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with us, Swhchurch! We’re also always glad to have one of our guests from our days as Park Place Hotel return to stay with us. Having been with us both before and after, it means a lot that you still feel we are worth your time and money, even if we do charge for breakfast now. We do hope that all of our guests feel the way you do – that our clean comfortable rooms, full sized fitness center, great free wi-fi, and good location in East Memphis make up for the slightly awkward positioning of the hotel on Poplar Ave. Thanks again for the review. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed here for one night and was very impressed for the amount we paid. The room was large, clean and quiet. The hotel was in very good condition compared to others we've stayed in nearby. There is plenty of parking and a shopping centre close by with Target, restaurants etc. Breakfast was $10 (or $7 for continental option), nothing special but perfectly adequate. Would very happily stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pukeko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentHanna, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Thanks, Pukeko1! We're delighted you'd choose to stay with us again. Our staff does take pride in keeping our property clean and in good repair. And, even though we are located at the junction of two of the city's main arteries (Poplar Ave and Interstate 240), we do think with the abundance of shopping and eating establishments in the immediate area that our location is hard to beat. I am sorry, though, that our breakfast experience while you were here failed to impress. Our Signature Full American Breakfast with cooked to order omelets, muffin tops, and breakfast pies is usually a winner. And we tend to get great compliments about our breakfast wait-staff. We will definitely try harder next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Memphis East/Park Avenue
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#26 of 138 in Memphis
1,091 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East

Address: 5877 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949 (Formerly Park Place Hotel Memphis)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £75 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East hotel is near the business corridor, Beale Street, and Graceland. This Memphis hotel offers a complimentary airport shuttle and free wifi with guest's hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Memphis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Memphis East
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis East Hotel Memphis
Park Place Memphis
Memphis Park Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing