We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice find in downtown Memphis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Avondale Estates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice find in downtown Memphis”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

When I arrived at my parents' retirement apartment in midtown Memphis, the guest room at the building was not available as planned that night. After sleeping on an air mattress on my parent's floor one night, I used Trip Advisor to find an affordable hotel within 5 miles and identified Comfort Inn as a top candidate based on Trip Advisor reviews.

I made the right choice - I got a wonderful room - King No Smoking on a high floor with a view of the Bridge and Mississippi River. With AAA discount especially, the room Is a great value! Spacious, super quiet, clean - basement garage parking for only $8 a day with an elevator right to the room floors. Bonus for me - the downtown YMCA and Starbucks ate within one mile. Breakfast is included too.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    400
    93
    21
    7
See reviews for
170
378
42
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Allegany, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I would not hesitate to stay at the Comfort Inn in downtown Memphis as the staff were the most accommodating of any we have spent time at. When we needed directions, or advice on what attractions to see, they were always there to help. Thanks again for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the river or Pyramid are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We reserved a king bed, in a large room with a city view, for Feb. 20th-23rd, and were not disappointed in the least! With our AAA discount, the complimentary hot breakfast, and relatively inexpensive underground parking, the Comfort Inn Downtown was a real bargain!

Our room was spacious, the large king bed was comfortable (although a bit high for my short legs), the towels were nice and soft, and even though we didn't really use them much, the in-room mini-fridge and microwave were a welcome addition. The location is great--right across from Mud Island Park, so the Mississippi River is really close by. We were about 6 blocks from Beale Street and the Peabody Hotel, and just a block away from two different trolley lines, so the area is easily navigated either by foot or by cheap transportation on the trolleys. The interstate is nearby, so it's easy to get to, but it's also far enough away to be quiet--the only noise I noticed was from the trains that came through late at night.

They have coffee, tea, and ice water available at no extra charge in the lobby 24 hours a day, as well as yummy cookies in the afternoons, so we saved money there, as well as on the parking, since most garages charged at least $2 more than the $8 per day that we paid. The staff was courteous, friendly and informative, advising us exactly where to park, and where to catch the trolleys. The only reason that I didn't rate the hotel as excellent is that it's a bit old, and showing its age in some areas, such as the shower and the parking garage, but it was "very good plus".

TIPS--Be sure to use the in-room safe--ours was in the large walk-in closet, and even though they charge $1 a day to use it, that's for insurance, and well worth the cost, as we noticed that the room doors were often propped open when the housecleaning staff was in the hall, so the rooms aren't as secure as they might be.
Breakfast hours are from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM, and they start clearing out promptly at 9:00, so don't be late! The selection was surprisingly varied, with biscuits and gravy every day, along with either sausage links or bacon (alternate days), scrambled eggs, bagels, bread (which could be toasted), pastries, hard boiled eggs, yogurt cups, and make-your-own waffles. Be sure to grab some fresh fruit and yogurt for snacking later in the day, since there's plenty of room in the mini-fridge.
If we were to return to Memphis any time soon, we would definitely stay at the Comfort Inn Downtown again!

Room Tip: The tower rooms seemed to have the best layout, are larger and with less foot traffic in the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Reserved a double queen with river view. The hotel staff was friendly. Although they provided breakfast in the morning, we missed it so can't really comment on the quality or taste. The hotel view from the room was fantastic. Very comfortable room. the queen beds were somewhat small. We had a coffee maker and small refrigerator in the room so this was nice to place drinks or small eatables. We were on a corner and the 10th floor so the noise level was very quiet. Would definately stay here again.

The parking was $8 a day. If you parked at Beale street, it was $10 for limited hours. So we would park at at the hotel, take the trolley for $1 on way each which was right around the corner, then take a cab back late at night for about $6.00, Much cheaper than parking at beale and driving back just a few blocks.

Hotel very easy to get to from highway and across from visitor's center. Only concern is to make sure you lock anything up of value in the room safe. We left to tour the town and noticed all room doors (vacant and vacated) were propped open for housekeeping to clean, but housekeeping was not seen - only their cart.

Room Tip: make sure to book a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluidechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel and amenities were nice. Room was clean. Quiet area of downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumerville, AR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The staff was great! The special request was there waiting for us when we arrived. The staff was super! Beautiful river view. An excellent stay!

Room Tip: Request river view and any special requests you may have. They are quick to accommodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanFortney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed in The Comfort Inn in March 2011. it is a very comfortable Hotel,The staff were more than helpful when we asked to change rooms, we were straight out of one and into the other with no fuss at all. The breakfast was plentiful with fresh pancakes every morning plus tea and coffee was served in the reception lounge throughout the day.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view of the Mississippi Bridge! Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing