We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great location and nice hotel. We checked in, unloaded the car and walked downtown. Before leaving we told them the toilet wasn't flushing. While at dinner, the clerk called to advise the toilet wasn't working and we'd need to move. She was wonderful in finding another room with Q beds. Rooms are large. We were on first floor - there was some road noise by 7AM or so but nothing too bad. Train tracks are nearby too but I only heard the train whistle 1x in 3 days. Beds & pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast is FANTASTIC - southern style! Every staff person I came in touch with was very friendly. This hotel sits right across from Mud Island Park. Although it wasn't open yet (the park), it would have been wonderful to walk across the street to this site. There are trails within an easy walk - down Riverside Dr. Within a 10 minute walk, we were on Beale St. It's a great place to stay and we would definitely stay again if in Memphis.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your patience with the plumbing problem in your room. We are glad you were comfortable in your new room.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We used a coupon from the visitor's center for $104 for the rooms we booked, which was a decent price for downtown. Booked 2 rooms for family of 6. Free connected parking was nice. Super quiet rooms, even though we were on the first floor and on street level. One block walk to trolley, which got us to Beale Street in less than 10 minutes.

Only slight complaint is that the staff ignored us. As a mom, walking in with 4 kids, it would have been nice for someone to greet us with a smile and offer to help with luggage. Basically the front desk didn't even make eye contact with us. Same issue with breakfast, only family with kids amongst business people and no one even said hello.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripletmomohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.
i have paid special attention to our staff regarding greeting our guests and feel confident that any lapses have been remedied, and our true southern hospitality is always expressed.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have stayed at this hotel/motel previously and returned because of its locality, clean rooms and helpful staff. Very short walk to trolley and downtown Memphis. It is older and there could be a greater variety of breakfast foods, but it is value for money. Very happy with my stay....again.

Room Tip: Clean. Microwave and coffee maker. Corner rooms offer excellent views and are bigger than other room...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It is true that this is an obviously older hotel but I won't mark it down for that because it is also true that this is one of the cleanest hotels in which I've ever stayed and that's an impressive feat. My room had a view of the river which was a real plus but the room itself was great, anyway. Roomy, well laid out, comfortable, and spotless.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Many downtown attractions are in walking distance or easily accessible by the streetcar (only a dollar a ride or you can get an all day pass for about $3.50 that works on both the streetcar and city buses) and even if you don't get a river view, it's only an easy couple blocks away.

The morning breakfast was the typical Comfort Inn breakfast - this one was well maintained, so nothing was ever empty or cold.

I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to the area and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinneablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. You covered all areas of the hotel and the attractions
downtown so well.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The rooms were nice and the staff was great. From the checkin to the breakfast staff to the cleaning staff, they were all friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and attractively decorated. The beds comfortable. On negative I'd say is the soundproofing could be better. I heard the elevator, outside trains and occasional noise from other rooms. But that really didn't bother us. The rates were decent and the hotel is a reasonable 15 minute walk to Beale Street. I want to thank Tasha (hope I got her name right). After we checked out I realized I probably left my good watch in the room. She quickly got a supervisor to check the room and they found it. Thank you all very much for an excellent stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richiebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to sumit a review with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. I personally passed along your kind words about Tasha, our Front office Manager. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It can't be denied - the hotel is quite old, and needs work to modernise it. But... the charm and service level here is very high and more than compensates for this.

The location is perfect, and offers some of the best views of the sunsets over the Mississippi.

The breakfast was good and as it's just a short walk from Beale St, is great for evening meals and drinks.

I'd recommend the hotel if you're just using it as a base to explore Memphis, if you're looking for a hotel you're intending to spend some time in, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Comfort Inn. The room were large but could use a little updating. The staff was friendly and made recommendations for restaurants. It is within walking distance of Beale Street, and the Peabody Hotel (can’t miss the ducks!). The garage was in the basement and secure. Parking was $10 which is fairly cheap for a downtown location.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be a bit larger all rooms are large. Rooms overlooking the river can hear the...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwinMom1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
880 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 138 in Memphis
1,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £100 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing