We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in walking distance to Beale Street” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown
Ranked #10 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in walking distance to Beale Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very friendly staff. Spaceous room. Complimentary breakfast. Located in walking distance to a lot of restaurants, Beale Street, Mud Island and shopping.
Parking is 10 USD Per day with in and out access.
Our room was located in the first floor, window facing the street - therefore some noise from the traffic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    394
    93
    20
    7
See reviews for
169
374
42
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Remember it's a Comfort Inn. Well worth the value. Clean, friendly, prompt service, quiet, comfortable bed, very convenient to downtown and sights. Continental breakfast included and was quite good. We had King room which was very roomy. Safe and easy parking for $10/day but less expensive parking next door (we didn't check it out). Only thing we didn't like was bathroom which was very small and 70s look but it was very clean.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stopped at the welcome center by the river and the lovely woman at the desk asked if she could help us. We told her we wanted a room for the night, and she called the Comfort Inn and Suites just up the street. We went there and got a wonderful river-view room. The hotel isn't luxurious, but the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, and the hotel is conveniently located for downtown attractions. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room. They were very accommodating to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Th0masDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We though it was a really good place to stay the beds are very comfortable but they did not offer a senior discount when clearly I am one. The breakfast food was very good. The best part was the shower.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

With only one night in Downtown Memphis, we decided to give this brand another try. The hotel is a significant walk from Beale Street but some people opted for carriage rides. We walked by several hotels that were much closer. I paid extra for a "river view" and a larger room. In reality, it's a corner room with 3 doors (front and 2 sides for those who want adjoining sides) that faced south over the pool. You had to put your face on the window and look off to the right to see the river. The screaming (understandable--they are on vacation, too!) kids in the pool was just extra noise I hadn't expected. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The amenities were as expected and breakfast was average. If you want to bring breakfast up to your room, bring the tray from your room. (found that out the hard way) Although one member of the breakfast staff was especially verbal about her pending vacation at the end of her shift, the women were very friendly and asked if I needed anything several times. I would probably stay closer to Beale street next time but overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelsrfunforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We booked our room online, got to the hotel and only one person at the check in desk and she was on the phone with another guest. She did not acknowledge us, continued with her conversation trying to solve a problem but was irritated. Another employee came behind the desk, still not acknowledging us, the lady passed off the call to the other person with a short replay of the conversation, he comment was "what am I suppose to do?" Not looking up, she asked to help us. So to me that's poor customer service. The room was clean, beds comfy, great continental breakfast but while using the hair dryer in our room, it blew a fuse and no electricity for the entire room. It took 30 mins for the electricity to get turned back on after we reported it to the front desk. We were also told by an employee who rode down in the elevator with us, not to use the stairs, there were people who slept in the stairwells. That comment did not make us feel safe! We won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mdmiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

when i first saw the hotel i thought it was going to be just another basic hotel but i was wrong. after parking in the car park(10 dollars a day) which is covered by cameras for your security, we checked in and the friendly staff soon had us on our way to our room which was on the top floor and had great views over the mighty Mississippi. the room itself was very clean and there was nothing we could complain about. breakfast is help yourself with a good selection (included in price of room) The hotel is within walking distance of everything, restaurants and sights. If you get lost there are local guides to help you find your way round. They are easily identified with their unique headgear and their blue suede shoes.

Room Tip: rooms facing river are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kcon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrupp1950, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Michael Krupp
General Manager
Comfort Inn Downtown Memphis
901-526-0583
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown
Address: 100 N Front St, Memphis, TN 38103-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#16 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise w/outdoor rooftop pool, covered parking, fitness centre - Downtown overlooking Mississippi River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Hotel Memphis
Comfort Inn Memphis
Memphis Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing