We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“America's 2nd most famous house.”
Review of Graceland

Graceland
Book In Advance
More Info
US$110.00*
and up
Elvis Presley's Graceland Self-Guided Tour With Transportation
Ranked #3 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Graceland in Memphis, Tennessee, is the home of Elvis Presley, the King of Rock 'n' Roll. Elvis Presley's Graceland is open daily with tours of Graceland Mansion, Elvis’ custom jets and our new entertainment and exhibit complex, Elvis Presley’s Memphis. The new complex includes a new automobile museum, Presley Motors, and Elvis: The Entertainer Career Museum, the world’s largest and most comprehensive Elvis museum in the world, as well as many more exhibits, restaurants and shops. The tour of Graceland Mansion features an interactive, iPad tour with additional enhancements including photos, video and more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
455 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“America's 2nd most famous house.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I had been as child but wanted to come back to revisit. I must say I came away with a greater respect for Elvis as a person, as well as, an entertainer. The tour is pricey ($37.00 per person and $10.00 for parking) but by the end I felt it was worth it. There are several different museums in addition to Graceland. I enjoyed the Elvis car museum because it showed some early "fancy" cars from the 50's, 60's, and 70's.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,057
    3,479
    1,223
    286
    116
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LaSalle, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bucket list--check!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Graceland is worth visiting. It isn't a huge mansion, but it is a large comfortable house. It's historic value is in the story of Elvis.
Is it a tourist trap? Absolutely.
Is it in a "bad neighborhood"? Sorta!! It doesnt strike me as a place to go at night...But that isn't the museums fault. Neighborhoods change. I've been on many historic house tours where the neighborhood declines around the house.
Is it full of gaudy 1970's decor? Yes! But isn't THAT is what you're hoping to see? it's just like Elvis left it. It should be preserved as it is.
I found the pre-recorded tour to be adequate and we'll interpreted. However, the head sets could be cleaner. (Mine smelled of perfume-ick!)
I've seen reviews that the staff are rude. And some of them most certainly ARE. They seem like bored rude teens/twenty-somethings who had no interest in doing any actual work--thats sad! And it does affect the overall impression of Graceland. However, I did encounter two who were exceptionally nice and very service oriented, they were a bit older and maybe had a better work ethic. This made up for the rude girls at the front door of the house. The three girls working the front door, dining room and living room stood and talked to each other and were extremely rude to guests when asked questions.
The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. I also think the displays in the out buildings near the house were well done. It's amazing to see all of the gold records and awards. I was particularly surprised to learn of Elvis ' s charity work. His concerts funded hospitals, schools and even the memorial for the US Arizona in Pearl Harbor! This changed my perception of him as a a person. He wasn't just a rock star is gaudy bedazzled clothes, He was a humanitarian. That knowledge alone made it worth the trip.

Helpful?
3 Thank TheBackyardTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved Graceland”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Graceland made us feel as though we knew Elvis. The tour was not rushed and we could go at our own pace. So incredible to see his and his family's graves. However, I was not impressed with the way every time you either entered or exited an exhibit you had to go through a gift shop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, SA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What can I say - GOBSMACKED”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Put this on your bucket list, you HAVE to do it. Take a look inside the private world of the Presley's....There is a free shuttle that will take you to Graceland, you can catch it from outside the Rock & Soul Museum or outside Sun Studios...Certainly was the most amazing experience and a great way to close our holiday in the States.....

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon_Boyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Elvis has left the building”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Even if you are not an Elvis Fan, Graceland is a lot of fun to go to and of course a lot of music history. Most people have heard that "Elvis is the King of Rock and Roll" and going on the tour you see all the awards he won in his lifetime and it's amazing. The tour was amazing, the guides were fun to talk to. To this day he remains an Iconic figure in the history of Rock and Roll. Do the tour, you won't regret it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_Van_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Graceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing