We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The genius of this museum is the headphones with music”

Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$41.52*
and up
Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum
Ranked #7 of 153 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chronicling the artists and the music that shaped the legacy of "Memphis Sound," this museum features the Smithsonian's "Rock 'n' Roll: Social Crossroads" exhibition.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The genius of this museum is the headphones with music”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I love this museum! I was just in Memphis and went for my second time. It is a small museum (four or five rooms of exhibits), but each room has a few dozen songs displayed - you just type the number into your portable music player. I spent several hours bopping to the music and looking at the exhibits. To my mind this is THE best music museum in Memphis (and there are several good ones).

It's located on Beale, right next to great restaurants and music clubs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank r h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    542
    180
    30
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rock and soul museum”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Really enjoyed visiting here. Take your time to look around take the audio tour but also read the boards you'll take more in. Its a fantastic place, just don't rush it. Very reasonable fee.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you are visiting Memphis I would highly recommend this place. My husband and I wasn’t going to at first but, we were a little early for the game so we was like what they hay. I basically spent my entire time listening to the music. It help you to understand what's the hype about Beale Street (back in the day not now). Enjoyed the displays, and everything about the place. The film they show before you start your tour is wonderful and get you ready for the museum itself. I really enjoyed it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TinadD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great way to understand Memphis”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Many folks will tell you that Memphis different, but what makes it different? This museum is full of the music history of Memphis and how music shaped the area. The music that you are exposed to through out this experience is very eye opening and makes you reflect on how you too have been influenced by Memphis. I will be taking this museum in again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NVTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
208 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Music buff must see”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you are into music and in Memphis, this is a must see stop, along with the Stax Museum and Sun Studios.

The museum has grown and evolved over the years. Originally in the Gibson Guitar factory across the street, it is now next the Fedex Forum. The displays have gotten better and the music history you'll learn about is rich. We'll worth the stop. Check it out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMfromMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Rock 'n' Soul Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing