We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome guide!”
Review of Sun Studio

Sun Studio
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.00*
and up
Sun Studio Guided Tour
More Info
US$94.00*
and up
Self-Guided Memphis Music Tour With Transportation
More Info
US$101.50*
and up
Memphis Music Attraction Discount Pass
Ranked #2 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Sun Studio - The place where an 18 year old Elvis Presley recorded his first song. It’s well-known in the music industry as "The Birthplace of Rock 'N' Roll" and the most famous recording studio in the world. Opened by rock pioneer Sam Phillips in 1950, this national Historic Landmark is where superstar musicians like Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis, B.B. King, Howlin' Wolf, Johnny Cash, Roy Orbison and countless others started their recording careers. Today, Sun Studio still serves as a recording studio in the evenings while hosting public tours during the daytime hours.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome guide!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I came to sun studio as a tag along to my musical enthusiast husband expecting nothing special. I had even more fun than expected thanks to the energetic and witty tour guide, Lahna!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tempdeltagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,796
    1,441
    289
    56
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We thought this would just be a touristy tour not worth much, but quite the opposite. This was fantatsic. To stand in the very room that Elvis, Johnny Cash and many others recorded in, and to know that it is still in use nowadays, was just brilliant. I wish I remembered our tour guide's name, he was brilliant!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank m3ugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The House that Rock Built”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was a must on our trip to Memphis and so glad we took the time. We had just seen the Million Dollar Quartet so enjoyed putting all the facts and info into perspective. Nina was our guide with lots of history and trivia and a great personality. The only downer of the studio tour was the break down of the shuttle and no information conveyed to help. There was a group of 7 waiting at Graceland for the shuttle to Sun, Rock and Soul Museum and Stax. After the shuttle was 30 minutes late one of the group went inside to inquire and was told the shuttle was broken and nobody knew any more than that. While this did not deter us from hailing a cab and heading to the studio we now had to wait about an hour to get into a tour.
This was a free shuttle so nothing spent nothing lost. Definitely did not prevent us from enjoying a great tour and breathing in all the music filled air we could inhale.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elvis”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fabulous being in the same place as elvis, you could feel the atmosphere there , downside. It was a bit far from hotel ,had to go by cab , but we'll worth it

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“loved it.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

historic and well guided. this is a rare gem that time forgot and was rediscovered completely preserved years later. the artifacts are authentic and the narrated stories are fascinating. my favorite attraction in memphis.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kdicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sun Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing