We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peabody Memphis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #5 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We recently held my daughter's wedding ceremony and reception at The Peabody. The banquet and event planning staff were professional and responsive to our needs. The food and drinks for the cocktail hour and the reception dinner were very good as were the wedding and groom's cakes made on site. Service was excellent. We received a very favorable block rate on guest rooms for attendees and a complimentary honeymoon suite for the couple. We held the rehearsal dinner at a nearby restaurant, so the central location and full suite of ammenities at The Peabody made it feel like a "destination wedding" in terms of managing the wedding logistics. Nothing but positive feedback from the wedding guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Steven S,

We are honored that you chose to host your daughter’s wedding ceremony and reception at The Peabody. We are pleased to find out that our service level and full suite amenities left your guests with a memorable experience and a “destination wedding” feel. We hope you visit The Peabody again soon to relive your fond memories.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,702
    772
    318
    134
    90
See reviews for
634
1,068
100
602
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

i just returned from one night at the peabody. it was a wonderful experience and i thoroughly enjoyed it. it is truly a grand hotel. too bad they don't build them like that anymore. the ducks were also precious. how cute that they do it each day for guests and tourists. thanks so much for a fun stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank civita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear civita,

Thank you for staying at the “South’s Grand Hotel” during your short trip to Memphis. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you have the ability to extend your stay upon your next visit to The Peabody.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Service was outstanding in every corner of the Hotel, I enjoyed seeing all the smiles and people actually enjoying their jobs! The Lobby bar was fun, not just for the march of the ducks, there was always a good crowd, very lively with a piano playing. The food was great, big portions with a nice presentation.This historic Hotel is in excellent condition. Rooms were spacious, spotless and comfy beds. The ducks are cute and worth watching once in a lifetime. If you are an observer look for the duck details on decorations and amenities... very cute! The roof top has amazing views, the best in Memphis. The memorabilia corner was very interesting, historic objects and documents worth visiting...
We had a great time as a family, not easy when traveling with Grandparents and three teenagers...Worth every penny...Looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annettediba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear annettediba,

It sounds like you enjoyed your stay at the “South’s Grand Hotel,” and were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we have to offer. We are pleased that you were able to have a great time with your multi-generational family during your stay. We hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The service from the time you get out of the car to the time you leave is amazing. Everyone smiles and is eager to help. Duckmaster Anthony was approachable and charming and a great ambassador for the hotel. The wait staff in the breakfast restaurant was amazing and the food was great. The front desk staff, bellmen and valet all were terrific resources.

The rooms are small by modern standards, but immaculately clean and luxuriously appointed. The little things are not overlooked from duck shaped soap to plush Peabody robes for the guests to use during their stay.

We enjoyed the duck parade and feel the family vacation package was a tremendous value.

Location wise, any activity downtown from a ball game to sight seeing is easy on foot using the Peabody as home base.

We had a delightful experience and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandidOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear CandidOpinions,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at The Peabody. We are known for our Southern hospitality, and I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and eager to help during your visit. As you mentioned, The Peabody’s downtown location puts our guests in close proximity to many of Memphis’ most popular attractions. I hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hotel is nice and the service is excellent. The building is beatiful and the morning breakfast restaurant is good. The pool is very nice and has an even nicer hotel attendant. The ducks were fun, although there is almost a circus type quality and fellow on-lookers can be rude. The security people do an excellent job of controlling the mean old ladies fighting off 4 year-olds for a view of the ducks, but the comedy of the whole thing was not lost on me.

I would definitely stay here again, but hope for a better room. We paid $229/weekend night for a very small room and bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidwestFamilyTvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear MidwestFamilyTvl,

Thank you for visiting The Peabody and for taking the time to tell us about your stay. As you mentioned the Duck March can be crowded. We suggest our guests try to arrive 30 minutes prior to the march to ensure a great view. Our Security team does their best to ensure everyone is seated so that everyone can see The Peabody Ducks; thank you for recognizing our efforts in that regard. We hope that you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is beautiful! It was very nice to stay with the ducks rather than just visit the hotel. I was surprised by the extra fees of $11.95/day for use of the pool, Internet, coffee...in addition to paying to park. But, it was still very nice and has cute extra touches like duck shaped soap. You should go up to the roof and see where the ducks live...in luxury. Great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riddle2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear riddle2277,

We are pleased that you “stayed with the ducks” on your most recent visit to Memphis. As you mentioned we do have a Hotel Service Fee, which is common in historic and luxury hotels. Along with the things you mentioned, the fee also includes a shoe shine, daily newspaper, usage of The Peabody Athletic Club, and local calling. Thank you for choosing to stay at the “South’s Grand Hotel.”

Kind Regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Beautiful spacious room, excellent service, tasty room service and a Tigers win. What could make a stay in downtown Memphis any better? Check out The Peabody next time you're in Memphis.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSinMEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear JMSinMEM,

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you visit The Peabody again during your next “staycation.”

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing