We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for Beale St.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Beale St.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

The hotel was very nice. Room and bed were very comfortable, and the location can't be beat. It was a very short, safe walk to Beale Street.

Tip: Try to NOT arrive anywhere around 4:00. Tour buses jam the lobby and check-in will be delayed. Of course, you can just chill and have a drink at the bar while you watch the spectacle (like we did).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Doug M,

Thank you for your kind review, and for leaving check-in tips for future Peabody Guests. We hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,732
    784
    323
    135
    90
See reviews for
647
1,085
102
615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

You must go to the lobby bar around 4 pm to get a good seat to watch the ducks and they make their journey up the elevator at 5 pm. It is a wonderful experience, the caretaker of the ducks is wonderful, and it is a must see while visiting Memphis....

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 2dogloverstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear 2dogloverstl,

Thank you for providing advice for future travelers concerning the Peabody Duck March. As you mentioned, our Duck March is a very popular attraction and we like to recommend that our guests arrive at least 30 minutes prior to the march to ensure a great view!

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Treat yourself to an experience by staying at The Peabody. We took the Amtrak down and decided to treat ourselves. We arrived for check-in at 7am - luckily our room was available. We had a regular standard room - nothing spectacular. The beds were comfy and the room itself was clean and spacious. The bathroom was tiny, but who cares. The rooms seemed well insulated - didn't hear any hallway noise. The lobby is grand and has plenty of comfortable chairs and sofas for relaxing and people watching. Keep in mind that the Duck March is at 11am and 5pm daily - so the place gets PACKED. But it clears up pretty quickly. The ducks swim in the lobby fountain pool everyday from 11am to 5pm. They're quite cute and very well-behaved. We didn't eat at the restaurant and only had breakfast from the little cafe. Free coffee every morning (no coffee/tea machines or mini bars in the rooms!). The location can't be beat - 2 blocks from Beale Street and the Trolley line. All in all - a good experience. I would recommend at least one night if you're going to Memphis.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samsara353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Samsara353,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at the “South’s Grand Hotel.” The Peabody’s central location puts our guests just blocks away from many of Memphis’ most famous attractions. It sounds like you took advantage of our location and proximity to the Amtrak station during your stay. I hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spent 3 nights at The Peabody and so disappointed. Never slept a full night due to SO much noise from Wedding party guests and frat parties. Hotel has no control who roams the corridors as only a few concierge floors with key security . It is party central! Agree with last review that lobby is handsome but full of people from every other hotel in Memphis to see ducks and no priority for paying hotel guests. Room not ready when we arrived at 3pm as it is 4pm check in which is pretty late and crowds arrive for duck parade at 5pm so chaos in lobby. Not a relaxing hotel. Bathrooms tiny and room furniture pretty tatty.Car parking expensive. Do not waste your money ,stay at Holiday Inn across the street .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear nicky46,

Thank you for telling us about your visit to The Peabody. I apologize for the complications you encountered during your stay. On future visits you may request an early check-in, and we will work to make your room available at your time of arrival. Please contact me directly upon your next visit and I will personally ensure your stay is a more pleasant experience.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Horeb
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My huband and I checked into The Peabody, Memphis, expecting great things. The lobby is beautiful, the fowl parade just ducky, but the overall impression, not so great.

Our room was not ready upon check-in. I had trouble communicating with the front-line staff due to a language barrier. Staff tried to upgrade our room to the bridal suite, for $250.00 more a night-no thank you. They offered two doubles instead of our already secured king bed, but that is not what we had requested. Valet parking was pricey.

When we arrived in our room, outlets did not work. The floor was noisy into the early morning with revelers from Beale Street. I thought The Peabody would have security to deal with this issue but no such luck.

Service personnel needed more training. Lounge attendants were not prompt, and didn't care whether they took our order or not. We got our drinks at the bar, twice, before someone stopped to inquire.

Restaurant staff did not disclose how their breakfast offerings worked. A highlight was our visit to a side cafe with hot coffee and scruptious desserts prepared by The Peabody's the pastry chefs.

For the price of the hotel, I would need to think twice before booking there again.

Room Tip: To guarantee a quality experience, I would ask for the concierge floor. Request a room away from Uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Cheryl007,

I apologize for your experiences during your stay at The Peabody. Unfortunately, we did not have your requested room type available upon your arrival, in which case our Front Desk staff offered a significant upgrade for a greatly reduced price in order to get you relaxing in a guestroom as quickly as possible. I again apologize for the various complications you encountered and assure you that this isn’t a typical Peabody experience. If your travels bring you back to Memphis, I hope you to stay at The Peabody again and give us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stopped in to see the legendary Peabody ducks and found the hotel itself to be a place to explore. Rarely is architecture from the Guilded Age so carefully preserved. The lobby and Mezzanine Terrace are open to the public. There is also a special Heritage Room on the Mezzanine level with exhibits about the hotel's past. The Lansky clothing shops are definitely worth checking out, too. The restuarants are a bit pricey, but delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Sarah A,

Thank you for stopping by The Peabody during your visit to Memphis. I am pleased that even though you weren’t staying overnight you felt welcomed, joining us for the Duck March, and experienced our restaurants. I hope that on your return visit to Memphis you stay at the “South’s Grand Hotel.”

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed with family for a wedding and we really loved this hotel. It's an old historic hotel so while there are some older amenities e.g. Small bathroom, older bathtub etc... There is still lots to like. Our single queen room was small but enough room for us and our baby (and all her stuff). The family we traveled with got a room with 2 double beds and it would have been a little better. Room was nicely furnished with a pretty comfortable soft bed along with comfy pillows. Our room was on the side facing the ballpark so it was a bit loud in the early part of the evening with the events that were going on outside. It didn't bother us and our daughter is a pretty sound sleeper.

The staff cleaning the rooms were very helpful. They saw that we had a baby and gave us plenty of Extra towels without even needing to ask for them. I asked about a sewing kit to fix a button and they immediately called and had one brought to my room. Great service.

Check in was a little hectic. My advice would be to avoid checking in when the Peabody ducks are being escorted in our out of the fountain (11 am and 5 pm). We were also checking in on a Friday afternoon at 5 so it was even busier than a normal duck viewing. The hotel lobby was packed, lots of noise, other people checking in, etc... It was hectic and took a while.

Overall great hotel to stay at. Check out the duck palace and views from the roof too.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zandago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Zandago,

Thank you for staying at The Peabody during your visit to Memphis for a wedding. I am pleased that you found your room to be spacious enough for your entire family. I appreciate the advice you left for future visitors concerning check-in times. As you mentioned, weekend Duck Marches are very highly attended, but our Front Desk does their best to make sure check-in proceeds smoothly and efficiently at all times. I hope you and your family visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing