We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Historical Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #6 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed here for a work function and ended up having to extend my stay 5 days due to Hurricane Sandy. The hotel was very accommodating and was able to provide rooms for me and my co-workers even though they were in a close to sold-out scenario.

The hotel was very grand and gave the feeling of historic elegance. The duck walk was an added piece to the charm of the overall hotel and the nightly piano players were also entertaining. I highly recommend visiting the duck palace on the roof. Even though the palace isn’t much to see the views from the roof deck are worth the elevator ride. Speaking of elevator ride, we really got a kick out of the floor announcements when riding in the elevator - especially when the 'main lobby' was announced - just another piece of the Peabody's charm.

The room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom provided tight quarters with minimum counter space but that really isn’t a complaint. The location of the hotel was perfect with it being located only a short walk to Beale St. and other attractions - which we partook in almost all of since we were stranded in Memphis for an additional 5 days. The quality of the food in the hotel was high caliber and I never left a meal unsatisfied. There were also tons of restaurants within walking distance so you had plenty of authentic variety to choose from. If you are looking for a charming, historic hotel that is centrally located to all the tourist attractions I would highly recommend the Peabody.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear D S,

Thank you for staying at The Peabody. I am sorry for the circumstances of your extended stay, but I am pleased that we were able to provide rooms for you an your co-workers and you were able to enjoy Memphis a little longer. I appreciate the pictures you included with your review, and hope that you have the opportunity to visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,473 - 2,479 of 3,357 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

the very recently renovated room was lovely, however the shock we had the next morning when entering the bathroom was simply disgusting ..... the washbasin was full of rubbish, we'll spare you the nastiest details, that we could only assume had surfaced from the drainage system during the night. Anxious not to delay making the most of our limited time in Memphis we cleaned it ourselves, however, that was a mistake, when we got back in the evening we found a similar, albeit marginally less disgusting basin. This time we did complain and had to chase repeatedly for the engineer to arrive. He was unable to clear the drains on his own and had to call for the assistance of a colleague and a pressure pump. They both agreed it was a serious blockage, possibly caused by the recent renovation work, however, were able to eventually clear it. The Peabody regards itself as a premiere hotel and charges rates to reflect this, however, the inability to adequately acknowledge failings in standards and address them appropriately is very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hongkongtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear hongkongtravelled,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, and assure you that this is highly unusual and not typical of a Peabody stay. Upon your next visit, I’d urge you to please alert us at the first sight of complications in your guest room. As you found out, our staff is happy to assist in any way possible, including changing rooms. I again apologize for the complications you encountered and hope that you have the opportunity to visit Memphis again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We found a brlliant deal on line and the Peabody hotel wee so welcoming to us and our three children. They ensured we got a family room and the facilities were top class. The duck walk each day added to our trip. The hote wasslocated near TGI Fridays and a breakfast bar so food wise were soted. Any trips we wishe to do the hotel helped sort buses etc...

Room Tip: Research for great deals on line, askthe hotel toaccomodate your needs, forexmple we wish that the 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Sue Anne O,

Thank you for visiting the “South’s Grand Hotel.” I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in The Peabody for 3 nights last week and we couldn't find a single flaw! The Hotel was wonderful,Rooms very spacious, bright and comfortable! The staff couldn't be more pleasant if the tried and The Duck experience was wonderful! The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the shops and nightlife. I would most definitely stay at the hotel again. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Hotel is perfectly located in the tourist area. everythiing is in walking distance except graceland.
The old world charm is nice and the lobby bar is very comfortable.
Drinks are about $11.00 for a glass of wine!
Rooms are small and old world or run down depends on your outlook.
No room has a view. they will ask you if you want a higher room ofr 85.oo more but all you can see is the mississippi river from 12 blocks away the rest is roof tops.
Not a pretty area but lots of history.

Room Tip: Any room will look out to buildings and more building. use this hotel as you central hub. kepp the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marktravelslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear marktravelslots,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peabody. As you mentioned the “South’s Grand Hotel” is centrally located in downtown Memphis, and is a short walk to many of the city’s most famous attractions. Most of our guest rooms have views of Downtown Memphis, however our rooftop provides one of the best views on the Mississippi River in the city. I hope that you visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Where do I start? From the moment we pulled up to the valet to the moment we left - everything was perfect:
Location - it's perfect. Everything you could possibly need for a short stay or business trip is under one roof, but if you want to 'tour' Memphis, the hotel is perfectly situated.
Valet - fast, courteous service
Check-in/Front Desk - friendly, efficient and accommodating. We had booked our room online moments before pulling in, so I wasn't surprised at all when she told me our reservation had come through. Despite how busy the hotel was (spring break at 5:30, right after the duck parade), she got us a room and comp’d the valet because of the 'inconvenience.'
Concierge - assisted us regarding the horse-drawn carriage rides (btw - they line up right in front of the hotel) and introduced the kids to the Duck Master.
Bar - Wonderful! They offer a fun selection of Tennessee Whiskey cocktails, as well as a full selection of the usual items. Warning: I ordered one of the TN Whiskey drinks w/ a top-shelf bourbon instead and my drink was $18! I'm used to boutique hotels, but that's the most I've paid for an old-fashioned. Still, paid for it and enjoyed every drop while doing some great people-watching.
Restaurant-We had our young kids w/ us, so we opted for a theme restaurant (regrettably) rather than Chez Philip, but we had breakfast at the Capriccio Grill and really enjoyed it. Some of us had the buffet, while others ordered from the menu and we were all pleased. Again, the service provided was top-notch.
Room - Perfect! Spotless rooms w/ comfortable beds and quality linens, modern bathrooms, and a wonderful TV w/ good selection of channels.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and it was quiet; I'd avoid rooms where the noice from the bar and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldcanary1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus_Blair1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear goldcanary1975,

Thank you for your detailed review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and received exceptional service throughout your visit. I hope that you stay at The Peabody again and have an opportunity to dine in Chez Philippe soon.


Thanks again,
Angus Blair
Director of Rooms
901-529-3616
angus.blair@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I woke up at 6am to the sound of hammers above me. I stayed here as a child and wanted to let my children have the experience, but sleep is very valuable to me. I would not have chosen this hotel if I had been informed of the renovations.
I enjoyed the hotel other than the morning renovations.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus_Blair1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Dear Britli,

I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. The Peabody is currently undergoing room restorations, but it is décor-oriented focusing on paint and furnishings, rather than construction, so any noise should be minimal. To further reduce disturbances to our guests during the project, we are making the changes one floor at a time and taking the floor below the work area out of service during the process. I am pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope you visit The Peabody again.

Kind regards,
Angus Blair
Director of Rooms
901-529-3616
angus.blair@peabodymemphis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#11 of 138 in Memphis
2,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 138 in Memphis
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
423 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Guest House at Graceland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £168 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing