We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand old hotel, still”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peabody Memphis
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A grand old hotel, still”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Peabody has a few warts, but it is more than worth the price. I think the trick is just to enjoy yourself and not expect a businessman-style hotel.

The ducks are charming (although I wish the hotel staff wouldn't give an identical spiel at the 11 AM trooping-in and the 5 PM trooping-out). The lobby is a wonderful place to hang out (although it's packed at the duck trooping times). There are two restaurants and a coffee shop. The rooftop terrace is worth a trip on its own.

The beds are comfortable. The linens are top notch. The regular ("superior") rooms are not large but are very well appointed and comfortable. People have pointed out that the bathrooms are small, but did they notice the beautiful marble?

Right now and until the end of the year they have an incredible deal - $144 a night including parking, the communication fee, and some other stuff. It's nearly half price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,814
    825
    337
    139
    94
See reviews for
695
1,138
102
636
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My daughter and her family stayed at The Peabody after spending Thanksgiving with family in Tennessee. They lost their 16 year old son in a horrific accident earlier this year, and Graham with the Conscierge's staff, and other hotel employees, really went above and beyond to make their stay memorable and comfortable.

My 12 year old granddaughter got to participate in the tree lighting ceremony, and she will never forget that!

I highly recommend The Peabody for any travelers who want a special experience, whether it is for a night, a weekend, or longer.

The rooms are always clean and comfortable, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasRedHatDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I've stayed here more times than I can recall; however, this review is for two recent stays. The hotel continues to excel in every way, and I've gotten to where I don't even look anywhere else when I'm making my travel arrangements. The hotel is clean and features charming and grand common areas that harken to another era. The lobby bar is always buzzing, even when the ducks aren't swimming in the fountain in the middle. The food at the hotel is great, but with so many world-class options around, I'd recommend venturing out. That said, if you stay in, there are a lot of good food selections.

The hotel is pet friendly, which is a huge plus. But the pet policy should be improved. I was not crazy about the large fee they charge for pets. It would be much better if they charged a deposit, so that if you have a pretty even-keeled and nondestructive dog like I do, I wouldn't have to pay a lot of extra money just to have a dog sit in the room next to me minding his own business. One other knit is that the dog relief area is pretty small, but I doubt there's a lot that can be done about that given the downtown location of the hotel. They probably could do something about the bird that "attacks" dogs in the grass area, but it's honestly pretty fun to watch that little guy flip out every time a dog comes onto his "turf."

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Rambling Razorback,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to The Peabody. I am pleased that you enjoyed your most recent visits and appreciate your recommendations for our pet policy. We look forward to your next stay at the “South’s Grand Hotel.”

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Old Hollywood meets old Memphis! We recently spent 2 nights at the Peabody in the Romeo & Juliet suite, a 2-story suite that looked like a set in a 1940's movie. It was very glamorous, although as other reviews have noted, the bathroom was a big disappointment; tiny and old.

We enjoyed complimentary wine and snacks in the club lounge, but found dinner and breakfast at the Capriccio restaurant to be very mediocre.

A must for first-timers, the duck parade draws a crowd to the lobby and can be a bit overwhelming if you are trying to enter or exit.

Overall, I would say that The Peabody is an interesting, throw-back hotel that is worth at least one visit by Memphis travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dartmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Dartmom,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to the “South’s Grand Hotel.” I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Peabody and your accommodations in our Romeo & Juliet suite. As you mentioned, The Peabody Club Floor includes a welcome cocktail, along with snacks and beverages throughout your stay. I hope that you have the chance to visit The Peabody again soon.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Beach
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We often pass through Memphis but never stop over. This trip we stayed at the Peabody Hotel as we have always heard of the Ducks. The Peabody goes far beyond the Ducks. It is a grand hotel that begs you to stay longer. We were there for two nights. The only drawback was the second night the hotel was filled with fun loving football fans on the way to Mississippi so the lobby was always crowded. Putting that aside, the Peabody is more than a stay, it is a hotel experience. It makes you feel special. I am always pleased when traveling to meet a staff that is friendly. The Peabody has those all over the place and friendly is preceded by "very"! We plan a return trip and this time will hang around a little longer and enjoy more of downtown Memphis.

Room Tip: Ask for room with the largest bathroom available. Some are smaller as the hotel is older. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Boucher1, Manager at The Peabody Memphis, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear William M,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your recent trip called for a stop in Memphis and you chose to stay at The Peabody. It is often said that the Grand Lobby is the “living room of Memphis” and a “place to see and be seen,” and on weekend nights this is especially true. We look forward to your return trip to The Peabody, and hope that you travels allow for a longer stay in Memphis next time.

Thanks again,
Scott Boucher
Director of Rooms
901-529-4131
scott.boucher@peabodymemphis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, SC
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We spent two nights at the Peabody and wished we could have stayed longer. This is a fabulous hotel. We were in the Romeo and Juliet suite on the club level. What a great room! Room service was excellent. All the employees were friendly and helpful from check in until check out. It's true that the bathroom was small, but everything else about the hotel makes up for this little flaw. Loved those night lights under the night stands - they should sell those in the gift shop!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveoak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Had a marvellous time at this charming and delightful grand hotel which oozes style. It flowed with genuine old Southern style with many unique and individual touches including the free duck shaped soap in the bathroom, parading duck ceremony in the lobby to the amazing bakery and cafe tucked in the corner. Lovely staff too and a great location. Our room was gorgeous and very roomy, tastefully decorated. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 137 in Memphis
1,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 137 in Memphis
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.9 mi away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#2 of 137 in Memphis
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peabody Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peabody Memphis

Property: The Peabody Memphis
Address: 149 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Memphis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#6 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peabody Memphis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, luxury hotel located in downtown Memphis, TN, known for its famous marching mallards, The Peabody Ducks. Located just two blocks from the world-famous Beale Street entertainment district, Peabody Place, Memphis Museum of Rock & Soul, FedEx Forum and Autozone Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peabody Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Memphis Hotel Memphis
Peabody Hotel Memphis
Memphis Peabody Hotel
Hotel Memphis Peabody Tn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing