We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Giant cockroach!!!”

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland
Ranked #111 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Western New York, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Giant cockroach!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family and I stayed here as a late night/last resort option. We needed 3 rooms, just to get a few hours sleep on our 2 day drive home from Texas. The price was fine (about $50) and I would have even considered the room fine if it hadn't been for the enormous cockroach! I'm from the north, so maybe I'm over reacting, but I was completely disgusted with the fact of a giant cockroach being in the room. When I called the front desk to report it, a gentleman came right away with a towel to catch it (which he did) and a can of Lysol. He said that due to the hard rain they had just had, the cockroaches were coming inside for shelter. We put a towel under the door and slept with the lights on to discourage any other "visitors".

Room Tip: Maybe try a room on a upper floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyOceanView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    10
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel as it was close to Graceland and the room was reasonably priced with a coupon at $45 including tax but there was a continental breakfast included. However I don't consider a small plastic bottle of Sunny D "ornage juice" and a swwe doughnut a breakfast! There was no cereal, no toast, nothing proper to eat at all. This is unacceptable as a breakfast and very disappointing as we often pick hotels in order to have a breakfast in the morning to see us through.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTORIA, BC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Room was sort of clean. Breakfast was day old doughnuts, coffee and juice. Were going to stay one night but decided to stay two before we even checked in. Wished we hadn't done that. Cars with guys started arriving around 6 pm and came and went all night long. Didn't feel safe at all. We complained to management who said we have security. Didn't believe that. There are many other motels around that we would stay at before ever staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MAMAG3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaggy M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear mammag3380,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. I am concerned about the issues you encountered during your stay. Safety is our main concern. We do try our best to accommodate each and every guest. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.


Regards,
Jaggy-GM
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We were stranded due to bad weather, ended up here. I would rather sleep in the airport on the floor. Scary dirty everywhere. They had a guard dog out front. no place to eat around hotel. Staff was scary and not nice at all. Way over priced. The vans they used to shuttle had stuff growing in them, seriously. I want my money back as this is an awful place and im suprised the franchise lets their name be on it. One room down from ours was under quarantinie due to a recent meth bust. STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wallybanger1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaggy M, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear wallybanger1963,

Thank you for posting a review regarding our hotel. The issues you mentioned during your stay have been addressed. Safety and cleaniness are our main focus. We do try our best to accommodate each and every guest. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.



Regards,
Jaggy-GM
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites-Memphis, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunn
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2007

Our room was fine, but the lights seemed too dim. Maybe some lightbulbs were burned out. The breakfast was good. This motel's location is a two-edged sword. On the one hand, it's very close to the airport and Graceland. On the other hand, the neighborhood around this motel isn't the greatest.

  • Liked — proximity to Graceland.
  • Disliked — not so friendly staff.
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCS9193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2006

The location is good for Graceland and all things Elvis but it doesn't seem to be in the nicest of areas. Further down the road the area deteriorates. Around 4 am we were all woken up by what seemed low flying aircraft, they must've either been taking off or landing at Memphis Airport. It was a bit disruptive. The room seemed OK. Breakfast was a bit sparce, only doughnuts and coffee nothing for our daughter to drink. Didn't use the pool so can't comment. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Liked — Location - near to Graceland
  • Disliked — Noisy and questionnable location
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Statetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vleuten, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2005

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night and unless my wife slept well here I had some problems. Around 4AM the airplanes of Memphis Airport started to leave the airport and there way out of Memphis is just near this hotel.
The staff accepted our coupon so we stayed for 46.33 (tax included) in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
Country Hearth Inn & Suites
#84 of 136 in Memphis
50 reviews
5.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Memphis / Airport
0.8 mi away
Memorylane Inn & Suites
Memorylane Inn & Suites
#77 of 136 in Memphis
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Memphis Airport
Courtyard Memphis Airport
#28 of 136 in Memphis
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Memphis Airport
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Grand Memphis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland
Address: 1360 Springbrook Ave, Memphis, TN 38116-1820 (Formerly Travelodge Memphis)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
80 room 2 story exterior corridor motel. Outdoor pool (seasonal). I-55 exit 5A. 1.5 miles to both Memphis Airport and Graceland. FEMA = TN 0076. FREE shuttle service to Memphis Airport, Graceland and truck terminals. Pet friendly (charge). Gas and diesel nearby. Restaurants nearby. Next door to Smith and Nephew Co. Short drive to downtown Memphis and Beale Street. FREE parking for cars, trucks and buses. Short drive to Tunica MS casinos. FREE wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Memphis / Graceland
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Memphis / Graceland Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing