We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful home and staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodruff-Fontaine House

Woodruff-Fontaine House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.00*
and up
Woodruff-Fontaine House Museum Admission
Ranked #40 of 152 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An elegant, 16-room mansion built in 1870 and featuring period furnishings and mannequins displaying the fashions of the era.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful home and staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our family loves old homes, not just the architecture, the antiques, and the fascinating glimpse into another time and way of life but the stories of the people and of the cities. We have been in everything from log cabins and colonials to Victorians and antebellum homes and never tire of a good tour and this one was.
We were fortunate enough to come on a slow day and got our own personal tour guide. She was very knowledgeable and friendly and more than willing to answer our questions and talk with us. I enjoyed hearing more about the Woodruff and Fontaine families, of the yellow fever epidemic that was such a problem for the city, and of the mourning rituals of the day. I thought I knew most all of them and still learned something new today. They also have an impressive collection of textiles and antique clothing, something of interest to my daughter and myself. They have done a wonderful job preserving this place and its many stories.
Anyone who believes a home tour is only about looking at the house itself does not have their ears open as they follow their guide. There is so much more to a home tour than gawking at architecture and antiques, though I admit I enjoy doing so, there are things to be learned about how people have changed and how they haven't. How their stories have shaped our stories and led us to where we are today.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank bookwormwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sycamore, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting history!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This house has a very colorful history and was a great stop on our tour of Memphis! The tour was thorough, though I would have liked more time to look at the stuff!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SlothyBritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
553 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Whilst 2 of the other historic houses in Memphis, Magevney & Mallory-Neely are presently closed because of budget cuts, this is probably the best of the 3.

Entry is from the rear where the kitchen has been turned into a small administration area. After being shown features of the kitchen, unusually attached for a Victorian house our guide took us on a detailed tour of every room in the house.
This is a surprisingly large house even by today's standards; in the 19th century it must have been a mansion.

Unfortunately our guide was distracted by a small child who was part of our group and kept wandering off from his parents.

I noted one previous review that it was under-staffed, but certainly not on the day we went. Tours are every half hour and there were 2 running when we arrived and ours started right on time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnpsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you love history and architecture, this is a must. Southern charm and hospitality permeate every corner of this beautiful old building/homestead. When we visited, there was a seasonal wedding dress display - what a wonderful idea! It transports you back in time. Well worth the very small tour price!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
385 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Terrific Victorian Mansion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you love architecture and history you would definitely be in the right place to visit a great example of the life for the more affluent Memphis family during the turn of the century. Been there many times and especially love the Christmas displays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mstrydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Woodruff-Fontaine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing