We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
Ranked #24 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 24 November 2013

By far the worst Doubletree I've stayed in. The HVAC thermostat mounted on the wall wasn't connected to the unit. When I finally realized I needed to use the controls on the unit to turn it on. It smelled as if someone had urinated in it. No handle on the shower water faucet either. Bad stay..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank kevinbB3431VK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtis H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We’re very sorry we were unable to provide you with the high quality of amenities and room appointment you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues you encountered with your heating unit and we’ve reported the problem to our maintenance team. We’ll be sure to address the issues with the room amenities and hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area in the future.

Thank you,

Kurt Harrop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Based on my three day experience here I would never stay at this hotel again. Check-in staff were not warm and friendly by any means, and exhibited poor customer service skills. You could visibly see the irritation/frustration on the person checking in. The concierge guest lounge was the only pleasant experience.

They are resurfacing parking lots here and the construction crew started before 6:00 a.m. Needless to say terrible night sleep before having to travel another four hours to next destination.

I am a diamond member so I frequent Hilton hotels often throughout the week and this experience has been by far the worst of the year. Normally DoubleTree's are my favorite of all. With the rate of $179 for a dinged up room and poor customer service and lack of courtesy to guests (i.e. allowing construction before the sun comes up), I would not recommend this particular hotel to anyone else.

Room Tip: I cannot at this time tell you which is a good room due to the construction. They are rather quiet r...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tellinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtis H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

hank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and value and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate the quality hospitality you have come to expect as a valued HHonors member.

Thank you,

Kurt Harrop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Rooms and hotel in general could use some updating with furnishing, fixtures and corridors; but overall is a good value for the rates. The staff is very efficient. Breakfast is served at 6am for anyone needing to get an early start.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robert B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I booked this Hotel for the AIRPORT SHUTTLE, the NAME, the Great Rate. BUT we only got the RATE. The Staff was RUDE; the Airport Shuttle did NOT OPERATE the Saturday morning as we had been told, "NO PROBLEM for a 5AM shuttle." Well, folks we had to drive ourselves to the Airport! BECAUSE the Desk Clerk also said, "it isn't SAFE here for a car." SO! We chose not to get the CAB, and we drove to MEMPHIS Airport. So, the website; the Staff, no one seemed to be on the same page! NO SHUTTLE! Very Sad, since I CALLED to verify the Shuttle for a ride to the airport at 5AM ON A Saturday morning. OH and it is located next to a BAR, so a Friday Night at 11pm, was quiet noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtis H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the confusion and miscommunication about our shuttle service. We’ll be sure to address the issues with our service and amenities moving forward and hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance to provide the complete quality stay you expect and deserve if you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,

Kurt Harrop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Night desk staff quite rude to our group, unapologetic and gruff. Room below average in upkeep. Mattress needs replacing. Area around door needs painting in our room. We stayed at this hotel for park and ride option to airport. Had been told this was available when spoke by phone with them for our early 5 AM departure. Was told at check in that did not start until 6 AM, which was when our plane actually departed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Justin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtis H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were disappointed in our guestroom appointment and transportation services. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience, and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,

Kurt Harrop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Normally stay at the Embassy Suites or Hilton when I travel to Memphis. Both were sold out. Unfortunately, this property seems to be using the fact that they are remodel to avoid cleaning all together. Flithy, lobby was dirty. My room had chunks of wallpaper missing. Black mold on the grout in the bathroom. I got in late for an early morning meeting at my corp HQ, otherwise I would have left. Thought about sleeping in my rental car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtis H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort you experienced due to our current renovations. We strive to maintain the quality accommodations you deserve through our changes and we will use your input as we work towards this goal. We hope you will return to see all the exciting changes we are making once our updates are complete so we may show you the quality hospitality and accommodations you have come to expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,

Kurt Harrop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Room service was excellent. Bed was extremely comfy. Bathroom wallpaper needed replacing or cleaning, looked very unsanitary. Customer service was excellent. All personnel, from the front desk to room service, were very personable and accommodating. All smiles, warm and friendly environment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#25 of 138 in Memphis
1,018 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#22 of 138 in Memphis
738 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
9.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis

Address: 5069 Sanderlin Ave, Memphis, TN 38117-4331
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £97 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis 3*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Memphis is in the heart of the East Memphis business district and Clark Tower complex, next to The Racquet Club. Easy access to I-40 and I-240, just minutes from Memphis International Airport, offering free airport transportation. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Graceland, Beale Street, National Civil Rights Museum, University of Memphis, Oak Court Mall and the Memphis Zoo with its rare giant pandas are all within minutes of this suburban Memphis hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Doubletree
Doubletree Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing