We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place”
Review of Bardog Tavern

Bardog Tavern
Ranked #104 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Bentonville, AR
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Refreshingly awesome food, beer, service and atmosphere. Plus they have Ghost River (red) on tap. Refreshingly safe here and good food and people. So many restaurants around this area are sketchy...this place was a needed retreat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank justfine7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    78
    22
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Drinks downstairs!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A local friend suggested this place and it was fantastic. We had already had dinner, so I missed out on the food, but I hear it's amazing. We had drinks downstairs and the atmosphere was super cool. The bartender gave us great recommendations on cocktails and beer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunniK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Local Favorite”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were staying at the Residence Inn just down Monroe from the Bardog Tavern and we actually found ourselves in here twice in 2 days. On our first occasion we grabbed some beers while waiting to meet friends at The Rendezvous. The following night we visited Silky Sullivan's on Beale, the Peabody Rooftop Party and closed the night out with dinner at Bardog.

Great food and the kitchen is open late (around 2 a.m.). We dined with some friends from Memphis and between the four of us our fare included chicken quesadillas, calamari, a chicken club and a veggie burrito. We were all more than satisfied.

Keep in mind Bardog is a smoker-friendly establishment (yes, there is still one). I'm told a nonsmoking section can be found on the lower level, but I did not venture down into such clean air and risk some sort of bronchial infection. In order to comply with local ordinances this means Bardog is 21 years and up.

If you hate smoke, smokers, tobacco companies, and all means of smoking accoutrements, you'll want to avoid this tavern. On the other hand, if you don't mind the habit, come to Bardog. You'll be happy you did. Great bartenders, extensive menu, and reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LowcountryLoafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“City Treasure”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Late on Sunday afternoon it was hard to find a restaurant that was open and we were starving. Thanks to Trip Advisor we found this gem. Not my usual sort of place but I'd go back again in a heartbeat. The food was surprisingly good - I had a club sandwich that the menu had listed as coming with chicken, ham, bacon, maybe even an egg on top for good measure. They were fine with customizing it so I got exactly what I wanted and it was delicious. Our waiter was friendly and efficient and the beer was served in a large, chilled glass mug. Sunday afternoon saved.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haynes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great local!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Great local spot! Downstairs is non smoking which is nice. The food is great! Poo poo app has a nice mix of items. Atmosphere was cool and fun. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mbrow783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bardog Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Bardog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing