We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay - close to Beale St.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We visit Memphis several times a year. We always try to stay at this hotel. The location cannot be beat. We always find the staff friendly and willing to answer questions or offer up suggestions. We pay a reasonable parking fee to keep our vehicle safely off the street for our stay. This location allows us to walk to our preferred destinations. Some construction work has been going on and once in a while there is some noise close by.

Room Tip: Try a room on the upper floors with a city view. It is interesting.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet your expectations. I hope your stay was not disrupted by our renovation process, and we appreciate your patience with us. Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We value all of our guests’ feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is directly across the street from The Peabody, close to Beale Street and several restaurants and bars. Unfortunately the weather was cold and slightly snowy when we were there so apparently a lot of places were closed. The room was very nice although the elevator floor was dirty and wet due to the weather. Parking fee is $17 per day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel and enjoyed its location. We are sorry to find out that you found many establishments to be closed due to the weather. Did you ask the front desk staff to help direct you to local hot spots and current events? I feel confident that if you had, they would've helped you find some great options to fill your time while visiting our city. Please return soon (perhaps during the warmer months) so we may help direct you the many great events and occasions that occur in the downtown Memphis area on a regular basis. There is never a shortage of things to do. Thanks so much for staying with us! We value your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location is great but I prefer any other hotel nearby over this one.
The air conditioner in our room made a ticking noise the whole time. The ceiling looked disgusting. The outlet covers were all broken and looked unsafe. There were two big bright lights right above our window on the outside that shined in all night long. They could have been installed somewhere other than right above a room window.
The staff when we checked in was nice but when we checked out they did not ask how our stay was or anything. I was planning on telling them some issues but I guess they didn't care to make the stay better for the next person. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone unless it is last resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review. Obviously by your comments, our hotel did not meet your expectations. I apologize that our front desk staff did not ask you about your stay. I wish you would have expressed your concerns to a member of our hotel management staff. I feel that if what you say you found is true that one of the members of our management team would have taken care of any hotel matters immediately. Again, thank you for your review it’s always enlightening to hear people’s opinions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A fair hotel and typical of what you would expect from the Holiday Inn brand. The downtown location is ideal and in close proximity to everything you would want in that area of town. After I deposit my items in my room I enjoy skipping the elevator and taking the stairs up and down as I come and go and this hotel had a fine central stairway. Biggest downside is my room fronted Union Avenue and the windows barely blocked any of the street noise even nine stories up.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It sounds like you generally enjopyed yor stay with us. As with other downtown Memphis area hotels, it is difficult to control the noise level on the streets, and I apologize if you were disturbed. We keep earplugs for our guests for this reason. I wish you had contacted the front desk about this disturbance. We would've gladly provided you with a set. I hope you had a wonderful time otherwise, and hope you will return to our hotel on your next visit to Memphis! Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived about 9:00 to check in and we were really tired. We are platinum elite so everything was ready as soon as we arrived. All we had to do was give them our credit card. Check in was fast and accurate. We were upgraded to a corner room and we were just pleasantly surprised with this hotel . It is a great location and The Peabody directly across from this hotel is a added bonus. It was nice to lay in bed and listen to the clip clops of the horses that are parked right outside the hotel. I wish we had time to stay here more them one night. I will definately return to this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. I'm delighted that you were satisfied with the service from our staff. I'm so glad we were able to upgrade you to one of our executive rooms. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope you will return in the near future and allow us to serve you here again. Thank you again for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A tale of two extremes...... on arrival at almost midnight, after a long train journey we (3 adults, one a wheelchair user )we struggled with chair, luggage etc into the lobby while being watched by the hotel reception staff. We asked to check into our pre booked accessible room, after a few worried glances and muttering from the receptionist receptionist we were informed by the incredibly rude duty manager, julius Smith, that it wasn't available... no explsnstion, no apology... he then gruffly told the receptionist to "put em in there" In all fairness the room wr were given wad fine, tiny bathroom but clean and just about accessible.
The rest of the stay was fine, with other staff members being helpful and courteous. The russwood grill in the hotel lobby provided a great atmosphere, nice food, and excellent customer service... mr. Smith take note.
On check out our cab to the ststion was late, so they arranged for thr hotels airport shuttle bus to take us, luggage and wheelchair.... a VERY kind gesture.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tphill65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks for bringing your concerns to our attention. These issues will be addressed with the appropriate staff and further education and training will be pursued so all of our associates can better serve our guests. On a lighter note, I am pleased to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable, and I want to thank you for sharing your comments about our restaurant and its staff. It sounds like you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant, the Russwood Park Bar & Grill. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your travel needs on our shuttle. Thank you again for your comments. Next time you visit Memphis, we hope you will consider us again so we can improve on your last impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a one night stay, was told there will be workers renovating the hotel 10am - 5pm this was not the case, we was kept awake early hours by a pick up lorries collecting the rubbish. Ell aviators didn't work so had to carry suit cases upstairs. I'm sure this hotel will be nice when all the work is done but surely the hotel should let guest know before booking? On top I this we had to pay for parking which was basically in a workers yard.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mitch1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that your stay was disrupted by our renovation process. We do our best to ensure that our guests are minimally affected by our construction, and we apologize that you felt inconvenienced by the process. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. It helps us to target areas where we can improve. We hope you will return once our renovations are complete and allow us the opportunity to improve upon your last impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
880 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £119 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing