We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 23 June 2014

While in town to visit Graceland, we chose to stay downtown to be close to a lot of attractions. There are horse drawn carriages right outside the front doors which offer quaint rides with brief history of some high points downtown. We were located right across the street from the historic Peabody Hotel. The staff were amazing, so welcoming and always engaging in conversation. Donna was a sweetheart in the restaurant for our continental breakfasts which were not free but very reasonable for what they offered. There is valet parking which we utilized and they even let us stay parked after check out to take in a bus tour. We felt very safe here and the rooms, although slightly dated were clean. The air conditioning seemed to go from zero to Arctic in moments and required some fine tuned adjustments on our behalf but would definitely stay there next time again.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk for directions to Graceland. They have preprinted directions on small cards which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert & Mauree... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and with others. It sounds like you a very enjoyable stay with us, and we couldn't be more pleased. The carriage tours are a fabulous way to travel through downtown as they give the traveler a chance to really see the city from a different and slower perspective. Thank you for your comments about our staff being friendly and helpful. I will be sure to share your sentiments with Donna. She will be delighted to hear that you mentioned her! Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. It is our goal to provide a safe place with clean, comfortable rooms and excellent customer service, and we are so pleased to hear that we provided those things for you. Please allow us the opportunity to serve you here again in the future should you return to our city. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Perfectly acceptable hotel but the lifts were a problem but in the process of being upgraded. The location was its strong point being about 5 mins walk from Beale St. Breakfast was OK although I thought the staff a bit unfriendly. Opposite the Peabody Hotel for the duck show!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear as street noise was a problem on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandyAndyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our convenient downtown location. I apologize if you felt inconvenienced by our elevators. We are in the process of upgrading them, and appreciate your patience with us as we make improvments to our hotel. It saddens me to hear that you felt our staff was unfriendly. This matter will be discussed with our hotel management to ensure that our staff treats our guests in an inviting and friendly manner. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We value your opinion, and appreciate the time you took to let us know how your stay with us went. Please return in the future and allow us the opportunity to improve upon your last impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I travel for business often, and I thought it would be interesting to stay downtown rather than near the airport.

I chose this a Holiday Inn due to the reasonable price, 3-star rating and proximity to Beale.
If I wanted to visit Beale again, I'd stay here again as well. It turns out that there are also sports venues nearby.

Yes, one of the elevators still takes you on a joy ride to stop at every floor. But I found each and every one of my staff contacts to be courteous and effective. When you want your car, submit your ticket in advance; no problem. And, the breakfast starts at 6 am - sweet!

But seriously.... Have you seen Beale Street? It's fun to experience, but I wouldn't set my expectations so high that I'd bother to complain about the charm/character of this hotel.

Save your complaints for the ABC...
I'd bet that both of my drinks at popular outside music venues had the premium bottle contents switched out to well brands.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HyannisSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our convenient downtown location. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit in downtown Memphis! I'm sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with our elevators, but delighted to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating. Thank you so much for sharing your expereince with us and with others. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stay here each trip to Beale Street. You can not beat the location!!! The rooms are spacious and the bed comfy. Room temperature was easily controlled and there were no noise issues.

I will say that, as Platinum Elite members with IHG, there was no mention of our status or any of the normal perks. Not that this is overly important, but definitely not up to par within IHG properties.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtxriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your visits to Memphis. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and your wonderful comments about your experience and our amenities. Please accept my apologies for our front office staff not recognizing you as a Platinum Elite guest with IHG. Your business is important to us, and I appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we can reinforce this procedure with our front office staff. Again, thank you for being an IHG Platinum Elite Member. Please let me know if I can personally assist you with any future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Location is great - right in the meat of Memphis and at a fair price. That is all of the good.
Slow, uncaring staff.
Elevators are circa 1950 - prepare to leave or arrive 10 minutes around your schedule.
Hotel is dated. Very dated.
Rooms were not dirty but certainly not clean. Pipes leaked in bathroom. Toilet could use a power wash.
Walls are paper thin. Circa 1970's furniture.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your hotel experience. We appreciate your business and apologize if you were not satisfied. Did you bring your concerns to the attention of a manager? If so, I feel confident your concerns would have been addressed promptly. Thank you again for staying with us. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate hotel staff and management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had the buffet breakfast, cheap and basic, ok if you just want the basics to eat, oats, fruit, toast and coffee. Staff have an attitude problem about serving customers and don't like you asking for anything.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Memphis. I apologize that you were displeased with the service you received in our restaurant during breakfast and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your comments will be shared with our food and beverage director for reinforcement with our staff regarding customer service. Again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

In terms of location, if you are looking for a reasonably-priced place within walking distance of the action on Beale, consider this property. Beale is about three blocks away, AutoZone Ballpark is across the street, and the tram system is close. The staff all were incredibly friendly (Southern hospitality isn't a catch-phrase), from the check-in to the breakfast servers to the valet staff.

If only the same could be said for the facilities. The best description I can give is "tired", although the hotel is supposedly undergoing a renovation. The room was okay, and beds were comfortable, but the hall decor is in bad need of replacement. Most of all, the elevators are frequently malfunctioning, making a stay on the 12th floor an exercise in patience and frustration.

One piece of advice. If you stay here and walk to Beale, walk up Second Street, not Third. Third is the back of the Peabody Hotel, where the garbage bins are kept. Summer heat made it a wee bit fragrant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis. We appreciate you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you liked our convenient location in downtown Memphis. I apologize for the inconvenience your experienced regarding our elevators. We are working on some more updates to our property, and I hope you will return once our renovations are complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £85 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing