We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Ranked #31 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great location and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I actually left a completely paid for hotel room and found refuse here for the night. I purchased a room at the Crown Royal via Priceline online. You select a star rating, a location and a price; then, they automatically book your room. BAD IDEA.
Holiday Inn rarely disappoints. I wondered in off the street. The clerk warmly greeted us. The room was nice, CLEAN, and comfortable. The bathroom were tiny.
The only negative was the poor quality of the gym equipment.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Najjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you chose to stay at our hotel. I am so glad that we were able to accommodate you. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope we are able to welcome you back to our location in the future. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    404
    255
    102
    46
See reviews for
183
418
48
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

From start to finish, everything was done just right during my stay. The room was large and clean, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was spotless. Location cannot be beat, near the shops and restaurants of Main St. and the funky clubs and bars of Beale St. The best part was the staff though. Everybody, from the valet and front desk, to the housekeepers and room service waiters were warm, welcoming and utterly professional. I shall return. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhin0nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We love to hear when we exceed our guests' expectations! It sounds like you enjoyed our hotel and your stay in the city of Memphis. I am delighted to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We love it when we hear that we have met our goals of providing clean and comfortable accommodations and excellent customer service. Thank you again for your comments. We hope we are able to welcome you back to our location in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Pros: Pool was very clean. The room and bathroom were both very clean. The mattress was firm. Staff were very friendly. Valet was very quick. Rendezvous BBQ was located down the alley beside the hotel (Mmmm)

Cons:The hotel is older and is under renovations. Bathroom sink had a slight leak. $20.00 additional per night for parking.

Room Tip: I would ask for the firmer pillows next time (Did not know that we had a choice!) Rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farmerra615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our accommodations to be clean and comfortable. I apologize for the leak you dealt with in your bathroom. I hope it did not cause you too much inconvenience during your stay. Did you alert our staff to this issue? I would love to make sure that our future guests are not also disrupted by this issue. Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our hotel. We hope you will return to our location in the future so that we may serve you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We drove up from New Orleans and our Garmin SatNav took us straight to the hotel. The hotel provides Valet Parking and although a shade more expensive than public parking was worth every penny.
We had a bit of trouble getting into our rooms - problems with the key cards. This was quickly fixed and to make amends, we were given a complimentary breakfast the next morning. Could not fault the service..
The hotel is very located for Beale Street - a few minutes walk - and Gracelands was an easy 10 minutes in the car.
Our room looked a bit tired, but refurbishment is underway so I guess that will be corrected in the fullness of time. It was clean and tidy, air con worked fine, good view over the pool. Nothing to complain about really. The hotel was everything we wanted and it did not cost very much - so value for money was excellent. Never used a Holiday Inn before - but I will again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with us and with others. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and in the city of Memphis. I am delighted to hear that our property has encouraged you to stay at the Holiday Inn family of hotels in the future! I'm thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations, and I hope we will have the opportunity to serve you here again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had the chance to stay at the Holiday Inn Select Memphis downtown during a recent business trip. I found the hotel to be extremely clean, the staff very friendly and the location right in the center of the downtown activities. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms well appointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoLaterveer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations! It sounds like you enjoyed our rooms and great location. Thank you for sharing your comments about our staff. Your comments will be shared with our management staff. I am so glad that you stayed with us, and I invite you to allow us to be of service to you again in the future should you return to the Memphis area. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and though they made great apologies for the hotel refurbishment it did not create any problems at all. Our room was clean, tidy and well equipped. As a priority member the staff acknowledged this on my arrival with a snack bag, nice touch. The pool was spotless with plenty of sun beds and towels. The staff were what made it though, they were polite, courteous, profession and friendly. The night receptionist went out her way to get a charger for my friends phone, which saved a lot of stress. The location is fantastic, 2 streets away from the main drag. Really recommend this if your heading to memphis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and with others. I am so glad to hear that our staff made you feel at home and were able to help you find a charger for your phone. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and to the IHG family, and we hope we are able to welcome you back to our location in the future so that we may serve you here again. Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown Memphis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint James, Missouri
Level Contributor
260 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lots of restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Carriages queue up across the street, so they're readily available to you. Valet parking is the only option (unless you park off-site). Staff was welcoming and helpful on our visit. Rooms seemed smaller than typical, and the elevators are really slow. Property is well-maintained and clean. The main reason to stay here and not at another area hotel is the price/location combo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian411Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSHIDowntown, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street), responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and our hotel to be clean! We are so glad you chose our location and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)

Property: Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
Address: 160 Union Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of this hotel!The Holiday Inn Select Hotel-Memphis is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Memphis, directly across the street from the famous Peabody Hotel and within walking distance of Beale Street, The NBA FedEx Arena, Peabody Place (Shops, Restaurants, and Starbucks Coffee) Mud Island, the Cook Convention Center, the Pyramid, Orpheum Theater, Autozone Ball Park 'Home of the Memphis Redbirds,' the Rock-n-Soul Museum, the Gibson Guitar Plant and many popular downtown restaurants and shops. Adjacent to the Rendezvous Restaurant. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street) Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Beale Street
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing