We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst in customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Ranked #3 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Nambour, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The worst in customer service”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

To start the Hotel is not in the best part of town but is in a very quiet area and the stay was peaceful. We had a 2 night stay and no one tidied our room up after the first night and after a complaint this was done at 5:30 pm. It took 45 minutes to check out in the morning. Breakfast was tasty and the Hotel was clean, very lacking in staff numbers. Never again could not recommend

Room Tip: Only worth a one night stay if you are not in a rush on check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteraussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,192
    534
    146
    30
    18
See reviews for
456
750
52
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
azle, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

very nice hotel for price close to beale street. the people at the front desk were very helpful and it was very close to all places to see on beale street. they seemed genuinely interested in excellent customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It's a great location, now it's right behind Beale Street. So if you're a light sleeper than this is not the place for you. You can hear the music play until 2am. This was a quick stop for us just one night. We had never been to Memphis and we wanted to be in walking distance of Beale street. What a treat, we didn't know just a few blocks we were at the Lorraine Hotel where Martin Luther King was killed. Check it out. It's $15.00 pp but it's worth it. You can go and just look at the hotel for free but the museum has been renovated and its worth it.

Room Tip: I don't believe what room you choose you will hear the music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is around the corner from popular Beale Street and was surprisingly quiet. Our room was immaculate and the bed was super comfy. The free breakfast was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cacobun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here multiple times. It a great location for a visit to Beale Street, Main Street our the South Main art District. Rooms are well kept and the place is very clean, but expect late night noise in the hallway. After all, you're a short block from Beale Street, theFedEx Forum is two blocks and the ball field is one block, in the other direction.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here while riding cross country with friends, on motorcycles. The hotel is pricier than most Hamptons, but you are a block from all the action on Beale St. My only complaints would be that while it lists having a "hot tub", that amenity has no jets. It is just a small pool of warm water with seats. After riding all day, we were all looking forward to relaxing in the Jacuzzi. Also, as we had been on the road for over a week then, and you can't carry much on a motorcycle, I needed to do laundry. The laundry room had one washer and dryer, which was quite inadequate for such a large facility. I had 2 loads to do and it took me 3.5 hours. One had to be run twice as there was still soap all over the clothes and then the dryer did not work well. I was down to having only 2 or 3 items at a time in the dryer in order to get them to dry. We had a King balcony suite and while it was a bit more, it was well worth it. In fact, we will be returning to Memphis in Sept. on another cross country ride and we are all booked at this facility again, and I again booked the balcony suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C'Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I chose this hotel based on other reviews and the fact that we wanted a hotel within walking distance of Beale Street. It was perfect! The room was fantastic. Very clean and well appointed. I booked a regular King bed room for what I thought was $209. Upon check-in we were upgraded to a King Suite which was awesome. However, when looking at the bill at checkout we were charged $219. Not sure what's up with that but didn't have the time or energy to pursue chasing down $10. We stayed on the 4th floor and didn't hear a thing. The bed, pillows, and bedding were nice and comfy. Breakfast was fine with plenty of options and well attended. It was a packed house and the dining area/lobby was full. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. FANTASTIC customer service. The hotel common areas were clean and in very good condition. Has this hotel been remodeled recently? Everything about it looks very new and modern. Total cost for a Thursday evening, including the $17 for parking, was $253. More than we normally pay but you pay for location, location, location and this hotel has THE BEST location for a close and safe stay on Beale Street. I was very pleased with this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and slept like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midwestern_Values
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#9 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.5 mi away
River Inn of Harbor Town
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Address: 175 Peabody Place, Memphis, TN 38103-3719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Family Hotel in Memphis
#7 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Memphis has to offer at the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street hotel. We offer a variety of services and amenities with every stay. The Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street is located in the heart of the action within walking distance of shopping, dining and entertainment. Enjoy a variety of guestroom and suite options, complimentary WiFi and a Free Hot Breakfast each morning. Make the most of your stay in Memphis at the Hampton Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Hampton Inn Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing