We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy, run-down, poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Ranked #2 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

THE GOOD:
Location, location, location. In the heart of downtown Memphis, right on Beale Street
Friendly staff.

THE BAD:
I had a King Suite on the 7th floor. VERY noisy hotel. The extremely loud street band music on Beale street penetrates every room in this old building, which means no sleep until after midnight, every night.
The toilet is designed for children. Very tiny and low to the floor. I'm a normal sized male, yet if my back end sits normally on the pot my front end hangs out the front. Very inconvenient and uncomfortable. Inexcusable facilities for a hotel of this price range.
The air conditioning system is very noisy as well.
Internet cable had broken tab, was non-functional.
Towels and bed sheets have old musky and musty odor of poorly done laundry.
Toilet paper is the cheapest sandpaper available. An insult to your derriere.
Parking is $17/day. At other Hamptons it is free.

Overall, at $255/night ($312 with taxes and all fees) the hotel is so overpriced that I moved to the Peabody Hotel a couple of blocks away. The Peabody is a far superior hotel at a similar price.

FINAL WORD:
Best avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: Front desk staff confirmed NO room in the hotel is immune to the noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BandBVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigM175, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Very sorry we did not meet your personal standards for location and facilities. We actually underwent a complete renovation in January of this year, and regarding the noise we do advertise the location as the "Center of the Sports and Entertainment District of Memphis". unfortunately were not a good fit for everyone. Please call the hotel during business hours, have your receipt in hand and confirmation number as well, and ask for the Front Desk Mgr and we will be happy to refund one night room and tax.

Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 2,064 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently spent 4 days here. The hotel is average at best. The hotel seems a bit worn, despite having a somewhat recent renovation. The lighting in the bathroom was terrible. Cleanliness is ok, but if you look too close, you will see it is not all that clean. The fridge leaked from the condensation, so we awoke to a cold puddle on the kitchen floor every morning. The bed was comfy, if not squeaky. The toilet was loud and flushed 3x for every 1x you flushed it.
The overpowering odor of fried foods from Zac's in the lobby is a major turn off. The hampton breakfast is standard and we didnt partake.
The selling feature is the location near Beale, it was great to listen to music every night. BUT, it is LOUD at night, and you should be prepared for this. We were ok with it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigM175, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Sure wish you would have asked to see me before you left unsatisfied, as we would have refunded a major part of your bill on the spot. Please call the hotel today, ask for the Front Desk Mgr with your receipt in hand and she will be happy to process a refund!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we recently had a large group of family meet in Memphis for a wedding. we had all ages to please from middle school age kids to grandparents. the hotel ended up being our go to place to meet, and regroup as the lobby area was perfect for this function. the kids loved the pool. The adults loved the bar attached to the hotel. the rooms were very clean and surprisingly quiet ! we had been warned that some of the rooms may be loud as the hotel is right on Beale. Fortunately we did not have that problem.
The staff also was very helpful arranging for cabs and tours etc. I would highly recommend this hotel for any family reunion.

Room Tip: Request a room on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_foridaBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel was nice enough and the location was great for the business meeting I had the next day; however, the noise from the live bands on Beale Street coupled with a multitude of motorcycles traveling up and down the street made sleeping difficult.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigM175, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Were very sorry the location (the center of the sports and entertainment district of Memphis) was a turn off for you. It does get noisy here at night (live bands outside etc), but it's not for everyone. Bottom line is if your not satisfied, you don't pay. Have your receipt handy and call the hotel (Mon-Fri 8am-6pm) and either our Front Desk Mgr or Her Assistant will be happy to refund you one nights room and tax..That's our guarantee!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was the perfect for our wedding night! The staff is amazing and the room was beautiful! We stayed in a king suite with a balcony that had a fridge in a kitchen. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was always friendly and breakfast was delicious. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel. The room was excellent, clean, bed very comfortable, buffet breakfast was plentiful. Catherine welcomed us when we arrived & we were able to get into our room much earlier than check in time, & we were able to check out 2 hours after the usual checkout time. We would recommend this hotel as it is also in a good location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I visited Memphis over the Memorial Day Weekend. Although I wanted to stay downtown near all the action, I was a little concerned about the noise from Beale St. No need to worry; we didn't hear a thing. I reserved a suite since it was our last 3 nights of a 2-week trip, and we wanted to spread out with room to repack. We weren't disappointed. The suite was large, very clean, bed comfortable, and breakfasts plenty sufficient as expected. The parking next door is a little expensive, but very convenient. The hotel itself is walking distance to some great bar-b-q places, the National Civil Rights Museum (a must see), Rock & Soul Museum (take the free shuttle to Graceland!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,283 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#9 of 138 in Memphis
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Select Memphis - Downtown (Beale Street)
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street

Address: 175 Peabody Place, Memphis, TN 38103-3719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#4 Family Hotel in Memphis
#7 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: £149 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Memphis has to offer at the Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street hotel. We offer a variety of services and amenities with every stay. The Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Beale Street is located in the heart of the action within walking distance of shopping, dining and entertainment. Enjoy a variety of guestroom and suite options, complimentary WiFi and a Free Hot Breakfast each morning. Make the most of your stay in Memphis at the Hampton Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Hotel Memphis
Hampton Inn Memphis
Memphis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing