We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #55 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Beds were comfortable, breakfast was great with fresh scrambled eggs, sausage, and the usual hotel breakfast offerings. Blackout curtains kept the room nice and dark. The pool and hot tub were an added bonus. We went around six on a saturday night and had the pool to ourselves. Only complaint is that our fridge wouldn't stay very cold.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jessifer258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We needed to stay in Memphis while spending as little as possible, and we got a bargain rate with Sleep Inn. The neighborhood is a demilitarized zone, but the hotel itself was very secure and pleasant, clean and comfortable. The room was in perfect condition, wifi worked without a hitch, and the family was very happy there. The boys were very pleased with the indoor pool and we liked the hot tub after a long drive. There was a security guard in the parking lot in the evening, so we felt secure with leaving the car there, and everything was fine.

Only quibbles: They started tearing down the breakfast 30-45 minutes before we'd been told breakfast would end. On the first day I didn't get any breakfast at all; the second day I managed to snag a waffle. The breakfast is the typical free hotel fare, but we really rely on that to feed the teenagers before heading off for the day. Keeping the breakfast open later would help a lot.

Also: When I booked the discount rate, I gave my Choice Privileges number and they took it. When I checked out, they told me I could not receive points for the stay because I had the discount rate. Well, I could have gotten a smaller room at the same rate and gotten my points, and I would have done so if they'd told me in advance. Next time I will book through the website; I spend 30+ nights per year in hotel rooms and collecting points is what makes my work possible.

In all, however, an excellent find. Although its location in north Memphis is pretty far away from most of the places we go, it's worth a little extra driving to stay in a nice, comfortable place that doesn't cost upward of $100 a night.

Room Tip: Double queen room has enough space for a twin air mattress or rollaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I recently had an overnight stay in this Sleep Inn. I was there with a choir of 62 teenagers. We were on tour. The staff was very helpful and quick to get us checked in. The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The free breakfast was typical of what you would expect. The coffee was great! I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed 6/19-20/2014--was nice stay. Clean, comfortable and friendly staff. Wasn't too sure about the area, but turned out to be ok. Good location for going to downtown, Graceland, big Wolfchase mall and a fun place for kids and dinner called Incredible Pizza.( games, go carts, lazer, mini golf and more). A little better than continental brkfast.
Malcolm was esp. Helpful when the dryer didn't work. He let me dry my clothes in their hotel dryer and refunded my money. The second night, the shower started to leak and they were apologetic and willing to change our room, but we're were leaving , so not necessary. However they gave extra points toward our Choice rewards for the inconveniences. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: 1st floor , no smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel was clean, and the front desk staff was really professional. I stayed on a really busy weekend so breakfast was a little clogged up and they ask you to not take any breakfast food to your room, which is strange. The little girl working the desk, i think her names was Jessica or jenny she was so helpful, she helped find us restaurants and get a tour of the city! The pool was fun to relax in with my family!!

Room Tip: ask for 1st or 2nd floor, 3rd floor is smoking partially
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetangelkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hprks5_10, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Harry Singh
gm
Sleep Inn
901-312-7777

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our 2 night stay and the kids loved the indoor pool!! Room was clean and the staff was very friendly! Only issue was our first night the fire alarm went off when someone burned popcorn but always great practice to see how kids will respond in a emergency! No complaints here!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Angelena12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hprks5_10, Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Harry Singh
gm
Sleep Inn
901-312-7777

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Review of Sleep Inn
2855 Old Austin Peay Hwy
Memphis TN 38128

Stayed at the Sleep Inn in Memphis, this was a mistake on my part as i was wanting to stay at downtown of Memphis. Read website wrong. Anyways. This was a good hotel to stay at. Check in was fast and friendly. Building was very clean and attractive. Good pool and a nice breakfast in the morning. Lots of free parking and property did seem safe. Room was very big and clean. Super fast WIFI, internet was great. Bed was nice queen size and clean and very clean, lots of pillows and overall a nice experience. Good microwave and fridge in room. Nice desk and AC worked very well. Very nice place, plenty of parking. The room was clean, neat, and quiet with all the amenities. The flat screen TV is mounted on the wall. This gives the room a larger appearance. Plenty of channels. From the check-in and stay to the morning breakfast. Absolutely a gem. OK you want some complaints. There is no bath tub, only a stand up shower. very impressed with this hotel. It was very clean, had a nice and very comfortable bed, and a nice shower. There is a bathroom door that separates the toilet and shower from the sink and vanity.They offer a free breakfast each morning in the lobby area, they have free coffee and cookies available all day, and they give their guests a free Wall Street Journal each morning. A great value. Would stay here again. Travel as a solo. Good for people on a stay for overnight while in transit. Only problem was the location. There are no places to eat within walking distance. Just a small gas station with convenience store stuff. That about it. It is far from city of Memphis but good for a budget stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car or form of transportation. Just bring extra food with you, no restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hprks5_10, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Harry SIngh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
8.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Memphis East
4.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Memphis Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Memphis - Wolfchase Galleria
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#80 of 139 in Memphis
51 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Suites I-240 East-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 2855 Old Austin Peay Hwy, Memphis, TN 38128-5604
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have a great stay at the Sleep Inn hotel in Memphis, TN near downtown Memphis, Graceland and University of Memphis. Our convenient location near Interstates 40 and 240 makes this Memphis affordable hotel your ideal lodging choice. Explore nearby points of interest as: Beale Street Historic District, Memphis Rock ‘n’ Soul Museum, Pink Palace Family of Museums, National Civil Rights Museum, and Memphis Brooks Museum of Art. We are also near Bass Pro Shops at the Pyramid, Rhodes College, Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium, FedEx Forum, Memphis Zoo, Memphis Cook Convention Center and the AutoZone Park Stadium. While you are searching for pet-friendly hotels near Memphis International Airport, look no further than this affordable hotel in Memphis. You can work out in our exercise room, swim in our indoor heated pool and take advantage of copy and fax services. As our valued guest at this Memphis hotel, you can enjoy such amenities as: Free hot breakfast, Free WiFi, Fitness center, Indoor heated pool and whirlpool, and Free weekday newspaper. We invite you to relax in your guest room, which features a coffee maker, iron, ironing board, desk, hair dryer, refrigerator, microwave and a flat-screen TV. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service, wonderful amenities and great rates at the Sleep Inn hotel in Memphis. Book now – we look forward to hosting you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn - Memphis / Old Austin Peay Hwy Hotel Memphis
Memphis Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing