We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #95 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I found the Econo Lodge,very comfortable,friendly helpful staff,great bar,with music on tap.I spent two weeks here for the International Blues Challenge 2014 ,i would stay again without hesitation.Thanks to all the staff,you made my first trip to Memphis a very enjoyable one.

Room Tip: 10th floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluestraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

I find Trip Advisor reviewers quite picky on hotels, so please consider the price and star rating when looking at hotels. This Econo Lodge is by far the cheapest hotel in the downtown area. It is clean and comfortable. It is everything you need in a hotel. If money is no object to you, then yes, the $300 up the street is certainly going to be much nicer. But for me, this hotel offered me the opportunity to enjoy the music and booze downtown without having to drive and without having to work overtime for the next year to afford my hotel stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank musician770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This place is good if you're on a budget, but if you have a little extra I'd go somewhere else. We had a hire car and needed somewhere to park it so it worked out well. I've stayed at a lot of budget motels but this was especially poor. The negatives are how run down it is, the first thing that I noticed walking into the room was the musty smell, it would be so nice if you could open the windows but they're locked. The hallways smell like cigarettes and are stuffy too. The TV turned itself on and off at random times. House keeping start knocking at 9am and came twice that morning even though we had the do not disturb hanger on the door. Positives are its location, it's walking distance to Beale St and it's cheap. We stayed for 3 nights then opted for in a private room from Air BnB which was a much nicer experience for the same price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fattbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Coming from the Midwest and having travelled extensively for a national volunteer organization we aren't real picky about where we stay. We like it clean, safe, and quiet when travelling. The biggest problem we had with this motel is the lack of lighting in the parking ramp. It wasn't just on one level but on all the levels (except the entrance). Not too much help from the evening desk clerk or parking attendant. The day staff were quite nice and helpful. The room itself was typical but the bathroom tub was peeling and unsafe. It got a little loud once-in-a-while and I asked them to be quiet and it worked.

Room Tip: I'd try for the Comfort Inn over a few blocks (we've stayed there before but it was full thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights over New Years. We picked the hotel based on it’s location and the budget friendly price. Although the hotel is near Beale Streets, it’s on a pretty rough street above a grim multi story car park that. Safety was an issue for me, as anyone off the street could get in the elevator and gain access to the guest floors. This really isn’t acceptable, even for a budget hotel.
The room was perfectly clean, but very old and shabby. The towels were small and rough, and the bedding needed replacing. The bathroom was poor. Our view was over the (closed) outdoor pool and as the windows had not nets, we had to keep the curtains drawn the whole time. This added to the whole dank feeling of the place.
On our first morning the electrics in our room kept tripping repeatedly. The maintenance man showed us how to fix this (by fiddling with switches in the fuse box in the corridor) and after that it was a case of ‘fix it yourself’. Not sure about the health and safety aspects of this! Staff were ok- disinterested at best. It took 3 trips to reception (9 floors down) before I was finally provided with the hairdryer I had requested upon check in. Again, substandard service even for a budget hotel.
Breakfast was perfectly adequate. Bagels, muffins, hot biscuits and oatmeal etc. Breakfast was served in a strange communal room that was less than pleasant but, again, what do you expect for the price.

All in all, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This Econo Lodge is showing its age - sheets are too small for the bed, the pool is dirty, the room service is sometimes not happening. After a day on the town, we've come back to a room with no towels and bed unmade. Also - there are NO accessible electrical outlets except for one over the bathroom sink. No exaggeration! If you have phones and devices you need to charge, be sure to bring along a serious and very long extension cord. (The TV is plugged in behind a huge and heavy armoire.) Also, the light switch at the room's entrance does not work. We need to turn on lamps individually in the room. We stayed here for three nights only because of the proximity to Beale Street - easy and safe walking distnace, about 4 blocks, which is great. Also, the hotel does have convenient off-street parking for a small charge. Breakfast is decent and price is right. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Remember the extension cord!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaFolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If you're looking for a budget friendly hotel, reasonably close to Beale Street...the Econolodge might be for you! Terrific staff and customer service, however that's where the plus points end. Regrettably, the rooms were old and very tired looking. The unattractive appearance made us question the cleanliness. Despite the immediate concerns (of our room) we stuck it out for the 3 night duration. Should we return to Memphis, we likely would not stay again based on it's current condition. We would definitely look at a different location until rooms, carpeting and bedding were renovated or replaced. It's a shame as this location has tons of potential.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtsmom1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#10 of 139 in Memphis
913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
14.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#4 of 139 in Memphis
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103-2694
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 139 Hotels in Memphis
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing