We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gets the job done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed 17 June 2014

the econo lodge has quite a few bad reviews, in our case we have no complaints as they provided everything that is needed for a sucessful hotel stay, including towels, hot water, tv, clean (but aging) rooms/beds, in room coffee, but no microwave or refridgerator. all employees were curtiest, helpful and friendly. they allowed us to store our luggage both the morning we arrived and the afternoon we left free of charge. they called for a taxi when we needed transport to the airport.

the elevators were slow and could use some airfreshner and more AC, also it seems there is a ghost in the area as the elevator more often then not stops at the second floor despite their never being anyone waiting.

this is an economy hotel. if you arrive knowing that your stay should be fine if you expect a higher grade of hotel- then you will be dissapointed. keep in mind this hotel is all but 1/2 price or more to all other options in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brindle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

The only thing going for this hotel is the location! Although the room was clean and bed comfy. No fridge, iron etc in room. The rest of the hotel was pretty seedy and dirty. If your on a budget and only want one night the location is great and its free parking. A short walk to Beale street and missisippi. We walked to Martin Luther King Museum but took wrong road and ended up in back streets where a kind guy stopped us and got us back on track (said we were heading into area where we would be robbed) It was really run down. Walked to Sun Studios where we got a free shuttle to Gracelands which was well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citygogetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

It is in a good location.

Everything is a little worse for wear, the room and dining room are dark, so everything looks even worse.

Our towels were taken away and not replaced one day, when we called housekeeping, the towels were delivered quickly. However, one of the towels was filthy.

The bed was comfortable, the shower was good.

Ok place if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodbLubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights in January 2014. The room was HUGE, clean and comfortable. Sure, the decor is dated, the lift rattles a bit, the security from the lift into the hallways is zero. But if you are looking for cheap accommodation, a comfy bed, a hot shower, breakfast...and a leisurely stroll for a couple of blocks to Beale Street, the Rock n Roll Museum, the sports stadiums, the trolley cars etc...then this is a great option. My husband and I never felt unsafe for a minute. Our room door seemed to lock very securely.
I have heard people mention TVs being on etc....and this DID happen to us. We were in the room and the TV came on suddenly. We laughed. Pretty sure that the person next door used the remote for THEIR TV and it turned ours on. The walls aren't that thick. So don't believe that the staff are responsible. It's the appliances. They're not out to get you.
Basic breakfast. Plenty to get you on the road for the day. I noticed that NOBODY spoke to the staff in the breakfast room. Not a smile. Not a glance. She was very helpful if you asked, and smiled back when I made a point of thanking her.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fentastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and 20 month old child stopped at the Memphis Econo Lodge. It was around 9pm when I went to check in. First, the parking attendant was less than helpful even directing where we should park to check in. The front desk agent was nice and gave us a room for the advertised price. We parked in the parking garage, got in the dirty rickety elevator to go up to our room. The elevator lets you enter from the garage and dumps you off on the guest floor, with no need to scan your room card, so safety wasn't a concern. The hallways were dark and reeked of smoke. When we finally got to our room, we could hear a TV on in the room. We knocked and when no one answered, we used the key card. The door knob wasnt even secured on the door, so again, no concern for safety. Inside the room we were mortified. There were NO linens on the beds, and the mattresses were pushed over the box springs. The bathroom had NO toiletries. We were honestly scared we interrupted criminal activity. There was no way that this was a housekeeping error. I would NEVER sleep here. Everything was so dark and the room was so horrible. We took one look around the room, and couldn't get back to the car fast enough. The clerk refunded our money, and we drove as far away as possible. PLEASE for your own safety, find somewhere else to stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times. The hotel is a little worn but it was clean and quiet. Location and price was excellent. Parking was good and secure. Very easy to get your car. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocknOlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We had booked two nights, but left after one night. The room was filthy. The tub in the bathroom looked like it had never been cleaned and one of the towels supplied had a huge hole in it.

I never expect accommodation to be perfect, however, I do expect it to be clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 138 in Memphis
891 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
939 reviews
Exchange Guest Suites
#80 of 138 in Memphis
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Address: 22 North 3rd Street, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: £60 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Downtown Memphis Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing