We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice upscale hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madison Hotel
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice upscale hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

very nice hotel, short walk to Beihl (sp?) Street. Great bed, great shower. Smallish room. Valet only parking. I was on a motorcycle, but they were very accommodating, and allowed me to park behind the hotel which was well-lighted. The only thing that I didn't care for was the $10.95 charge for "recreation"--apparently to use the workout room, pool, whatever. I don't think that should be automatic, just like the food they stock in the room---if you don't use it, you don't get charged the outrageous price for it. Yet, they provide you a voucher for breakfast, and as long as you order the basic pancakes (3, with a bit of fruit on top), it's free. Staff were very professional. This might not be my first choice for a downtown upscale hotel, but I would not be disappointed if this was where Hotwire placed me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mst3kguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your overall stay. As you mentioned the service charge of $10.95 includes a $10 dining credit which can be applied to any meal and it also includes in-room internet access valued at $12 per day plus tax as well as other amenities of the hotel. We appreciate you selecting us as your first choice for downtown upscale properties and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    970
    418
    165
    74
    51
See reviews for
233
812
70
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Enjoyed a one-night staycation in a junior suite at the Madison. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The room was very nice, if not really spacious for a suite. I found the bed very comfortable but it might be too firm for a lot of people. As a Memphian, I love my city but bemoan the shortage of luxury options to refer visitors toward downtown. The Peabody is a lovely place but the rooms aren't as nice as the lobby and restaurants would lead you to believe and I feel it's just flat-out overpriced. Now that I've stayed in both The Madison and The Peabody, I'm not sure I would automatically recommend one over the other to a visitor. The rates are similar. The Peabody's location is ideal for a downtown stay but The Madison is just steps from the trolley line and its rooms are more modern as the hotel is only 10 years old. On the whole, I liked the hotel but didn't love it as much as I thought I would. In a city with three four-star options, it is a legitimate luxury hotel so don't rule it out if you insist on that level. However, I'm not sure it's worth paying the extra amount you would pay at other lower-rated hotels downtown like the Doubletree or Hampton.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jl2117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for your review and your comments. We appreciate your affirmation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

Most everything in town was booked up so we stumbled upon the Madison. Lucky for us. Our room has a view of the river and a large sitting area for less then we would have paid at the Hampton Inn and Suites. This hotel is close to everything downtown with out the noise of Beale Street. The bathroom has both a tub and a walk-in shower. The rooftop terrace is a nice bonus and we had free wifi!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view or a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N210is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you at the rooftop bar on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and nicely furnished. Bed was a bit hard and the tile grout in the shower needed some bleach in spots. This was not our first time to say here and it will not be the last time we stay here. Views from the rooftop are beautiful at night!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alishaslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind remarks regarding our staff and look forward to seeing at the rooftop bar on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and visited graceland, sun studios, beale street and the Civil Rights Museum. Service and attention to detail was excellent. The seal on the window in our room was broekn and was quickly repaired. The bar/restaurant had a great atmosphere and food was fantastic. Breakfast was included and a nice way to start the day. Great location for downtown. Staff were very gracious, true southern hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlr_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our staff here and will certainly pass on your compliments. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Even though our reservation experience didn't go smoothly, my opinion was changed quickly upon checkin. The staff could not have been friendlier, more accommodating, and very helpful in every request that was made. The food was fantastic. The interior of the room was a pleasant surprise and more spacious than most older hotels. I recommend this highly for any event as well as a great place to stay when you are in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dg5471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear that your reservation experience did not meet your expectations but it is exciting to see that our staff was able to recover and you enjoyed your overall experience with us. I trust on your next visit your reservation experience will mirror that of the rest of stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Fawn, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We spent two nights in October while we were attending an event at St Jude's Research Hospital.As a Southerner, I always expect courtesy and good service at a hotel in the South; but the Madison staff exceeded my expectations. Every member of the staff who interacted with us was cheerful, respectful and helpful. Their warms smiles and laughter brightened our days. When we missed our shuttle to the hospital one morning, the door staff immediately called a taxi for us. Our room and bath were attractive and comfortable and the long-stem rose and little box of Belgian chocolates left on our bed at turn-down were a brilliant touch of luxury. Breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and the service there was excellent as well. Bravo for the Madison!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lleemadison, Manager at Madison Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your review, it is especially nice to receive feedback from another southerner! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
The Peabody Memphis
#5 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
River Inn of Harbor Town
#1 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Big Cypress Lodge
#6 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel

Property: Madison Hotel
Address: 79 Madison Ave, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#10 Family Hotel in Memphis
#11 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The jazzy spirit of Memphis is brought to life at the Madison Hotel. This boutique luxury hotel dazzles the senses with its striking interiors. Its contemporary style is best defined by its bold use of colors, geometric patterns, and modern furnishings. Sexy yet comfortable, this stylish luxury hotel is the select address for cosmopolitan travelers. It is known as downtown Memphis’ most celebrated luxury venue and the 1st Small Luxury Four Diamond Hotel – The Madison. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing